+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Short Loan Books and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi.
Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Dietetic books are mainly located on Level 11 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
| Dietetics | 613.2 |
| Food for infants | 613.22 |
| Sugar-free diet | 613.28332 |
| Low-fat diet | 613.2843 |
| Food and drink | 641 |
| Food technology | 664 |
Statistics in Nutrition and Dietetics by
Statistics in Nutrition and Dietetics is a clear and accessible volume introducing the basic concepts of the scientific method, statistical analysis, and research in the context of the increasingly evidence-based field of nutrition and dietetics. Focusing on quantitative analysis and drawing on short, practical exercises and real-world examples, this reader-friendly textbook helps students understand samples, principles of measurement, confidence intervals, the theoretical basis and practical application of statistical tests, and more. Includes numerous examples and exercises that demonstrate how to compute the relevant outcome measures for a variety of tests, both by hand and using SPSS Provides access to online resources, including analysis-ready data sets, flow charts, further readings and a range of instructor materials such as PowerPoint slides and lecture notes Ideal for demystifying statistical analysis for undergraduate and postgraduate students
Management Practice in Dietetics by
A book that moves well beyond the view of dietetics management as primarily in foodservice, Management Practice in Dietetics deals with management in all areas of dietetics, and provides clear, relevant examples of management principles and the ways they can be applied. This book is unique in its approach to include examples for foodservices, clinical nutrition, and community nutrition management. The book demonstrates how leadership in dietetics and nutrition fits into the management structure of organizations. Students will become familiar with management tools such as decision-making, communication, and marketing. They will develop knowledge and skills related to human resources management, and acquire basic skills in finance. The book directly addresses management and customer service competencies that are required for accreditation of academic programs in dietetics and are included in the credentialing examination for registered dietitian nutritionists. Specific topics include developing and motivating employees, employee discipline, material management, workflow and production, budgeting, information management, and sustainability. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide focus and direction for students. Margin definitions and a glossary introduce specialized vocabulary and increase comprehension. End of chapter activities aid retention and give students the opportunity for self-testing and application of the material. Written in an accessible style, Management Practice in Dietetics is designed for accredited dietetics programs.
Nutrition for Sport, Exercise and Performance by
Nutrition before, during and after training or a sporting event can improve the comfort, energy and performance of athletes of all levels, from elite to recreational, as well as providing long-term health benefits. Nutrition for Sport, Exercise and Performance offers a clear, practical and accessible guide to the fundamentals of sport and exercise nutrition. The expert authors begin by explaining key principles, including understanding energy systems, exercise physiology and metabolism. They cover the basics of digestion, absorption and nutrition; examine the key macronutrients and micronutrients essential for performance; and discuss the process of dietary assessment. Part 2 goes on to explore in detail nutrition for pre- and post-training, hydration, the use of supplements and body composition, and provides guidance on developing plans for both individual athletes and teams. The final component examines specific nutrition issues and special needs, including working with elite athletes, strength-and-power athletes, young, older and disabled athletes, endurance sports, GI disturbances and rehabilitation issues. Cultural issues are also explored, including diets for vegan and vegetarian athletes, and religious perspectives and requirements. Featuring contributions from a range of sport and exercise nutrition professionals and including practical diet plans, diagrams and the latest research and evidence throughout, this is a core reference for undergraduates, nutritionists and trainers.
Identifying and Addressing Childhood Food Insecurity in Healthcare and Community Settings by
This salient resource offers clinicians a comprehensive multi-tiered framework for identifying, addressing, and reducing food insecurity among children and their families. Reinforcing the importance of food insecurity as a key social determinant of health, this monograph reviews the epidemiology and presents in-depth guidelines for screening for food insecurity and hunger. Recommendations for screening in a busy clinical setting as well as the strengths and limitations of widely-used instruments are discussed. The monograph also outlines a variety of clinic-level interventions, potential community-based resources, and opportunities for clinical-community partnerships to improve families' food access and security. Further, contributors provide workable plans for large-scale advocacy through greater engagement with professional and community resources as well as policymakers. The monograph concludes with an outline of the critical steps to implement a food insecurity screening process and the key components to train the next generation of provider-advocates. Included in the coverage: Epidemiology and pathophysiology of food insecurity Screening tools and training Scope of interventions to address food insecurity Creation and evaluation of the impact of food insecurity-focused clinical-community partnerships on patients and populations Development of an action plan to fight food insecurity Identifying and Addressing Childhood Food Insecurity in Healthcare and Community Settings will find an engaged audience among physicians and other clinicians who want to address food insecurity in their healthcare and/or community setting. Institutions that are starting to address social determinants of health, including food insecurity, will find guidance on screening tools, processes and evaluation of impact.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
This text provides coverage of all aspects of human nutrition, including clinical applications. It details different national conventions and standards, and explains nutritional policy differences between the developed and developing world.
Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process by
The most respected nutrition text for more than 50 years, Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process delivers comprehensive and up-to-date information from respected educators and practitioners in the field. The latest recommendations include the new MyPlate guide, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010, new and expanded chapters, and a large variety of tables, boxes, and pathophysiology algorithms, all providing need-to-know information with ease. New co-editor Janice L. Raymond joins L. Kathleen Mahan and Sylvia Escott-Stump and nearly 50 leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in writing a nutrition text that's ideal for use in class or everyday practice. Expert contributors include nearly 50 nationally recognized writers, researchers, and practitioners, each writing on their area of specialization. Clear, logical organization details each step of complete nutritional care from assessment to therapy. UNIQUE! Pathophysiology algorithms clarify the illness process and to ensure more effective care. New Directions boxes reflect the latest research in emerging areas in nutrition therapy. Focus On boxes provide additional detail on key chapter concepts. Clinical Insight boxes and Clinical Scenarios with detailed Sample Nutrition Diagnosis statements help ensure the most accurate and effective interventions in practice. Key terms listed at the beginning of each chapter and bolded within the text provide quick access to important nutrition terminology. More than 1,000 self-assessment questions on a companion Evolve website reinforce key textbook content. New recommendations reflect a comprehensive approach to diet and nutrition that incorporates the USDA's MyPlate guide, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010, and the Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide recommendations. Reorganized table of contents reinforces the Nutrition Care Process structure endorsed by the American Dietetic Association (ADA). MNT for Thyroid Disorders chapter details important nutrition considerations for managing thyroid disorders. New calcium and vitamin D Dietary Recommended Intakes (DRIs) improve monitoring of nutrient intake. Expanded Nutrition in Aging chapter includes assessment and nutritional care guidelines for the growing elderly patient population. Growth grids for children detail proper patient nutrition during infancy and early childhood. Extensively revised MNT for Food Allergies chapter highlights the importance of food allergy management in clinical nutrition therapy. Updated appendices enhance assessment accuracy with the latest laboratory findings and normal values.
Understanding Nutrition by
More than one million readers make UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION the best-selling introductory nutrition book on the market today! Now in its 14th Edition, this book maintains the quality and support that discerning readers demand in nutrition applications and science that are ideal at introductory levels. New and updated topics refresh every chapter, along with the emphasis on active learning, assignable content, and integrated resources that help you advance your knowledge and career. Connecting with you through an approachable writing style, UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION, 14th Edition includes twenty chapters on topics such as diet planning, macronutrients, vitamins and minerals, diet and health, fitness, life span nutrition, food safety, and world hunger, among others. Combined with a carefully developed art program and a variety of interactive activities, UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION, 14th Edition continues to set the standard for introductory nutrition texts.
Medical ethics, law and human rights : a South African perspective by
A place for ethics, law and human rights in healthcare -- Ethics and philosophy -- Ethics theories and the principlist approach in bioethics -- African philosophy and medical ethics -- Respect for patient autonomy -- Beneficence -- Non-maleficence -- Justice -- Human rights: the relevance for South African health professionals -- Law and the health professional in South Africa -- Professionalism -- Resolving ethical dilemmas: an approach to decision making -- Ethics in the consulting rooms -- Paediatric ethics -- Ethics in mental healthcare -- HIV/AIDS in South Africa: an exploration of the ethical options -- Reproductive ethics -- Ethics at the end of life -- Organ transplant ethics and law -- Research ethics and scientific integrity -- Global health and global health ethics -- Genetics and ethical complexity -- New and emerging technologies in healthcare in the 21st century.
Condensed food composition tables for South Africa by
Introduction -- Nutrients -- How to use the nutrients tables -- Symbols and abbreviations -- Frequently asked questions and the answers -- Stastics -- Recipe calculations -- Analytical methodology -- Food composition chapters -- Alphabetical list for food items -- References.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
