+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently, we have been purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks, and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System, and Theology books are mainly located on level 8 of the main library on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
| General linguistics and related topics | 400 |
| Philosophy and theory; international languages | 410 |
| Language learning, language teaching | 420 |
| Historical and comparative linguistics; standard language usage | 430 |
| Germanic languages; German | 430 |
| Romance languages; French | 440 |
| Italian, Romanian, and related languages | 450 |
| Spanish and Portuguese languages | 460 |
| Latin and Italic languages | 470 |
| Classical and modern Greek languages | 480 |
| Other languages | 490 |
These are books for Linguistics students which are allocated on level 8 or 5 - Short Loan. If you need more, please search your Smart Search Catalogue.
How Many books are you allowed to borrow?
Responsible Design in Applied Linguistics: Theory and Practice by
No mere history of applied linguistics, this volume presents a framework for interpreting the development of applied linguistics as a discipline. It offers a systematic account of how applied linguistics has developed, articulating the philosophical premises that have informed both its emergence and its subsequent growth. It asks questions that are seldom asked: Where does the discipline derive from? Where is it heading? What directions has it already taken? Which direction should it embrace in future? What is the relative worth of all of the variation in design and methods that have been developed by applied linguists? In defining applied linguistics as a discipline of design, it takes us beyond the diffuse and sometimes contradictory conventional definitions of the field. The framework of design principles it proposes not only helps to explain the historical development of applied linguistics, but also provides a potential justification for solutions to language problems. It presents us with nothing less than an emerging theory of applied linguistics.
Disability, Discourse and Technology by
Exclusion is the main predicament faced by people with disabilities across contexts and cultures, yet it is one of the least academically studied concepts. This book offers an applied linguistics perspective on critical and timely issues in disability research, filling in a number of gaps in discourse analysis and disability studies.
Exploring Language and Linguistics by
Exploring Language and Linguistics considers the key concepts of linguistics and the application of these concepts to real-world settings. The first eight chapters cover the standard topics of introduction to linguistics courses, while subsequent chapters introduce students to applied topics such as media discourse, literary linguistics and psycholinguistics. Each chapter has been written by a subject expert and experienced teacher, ensuring that the text is both up-to-date and clearly presented. Numerous learning features provide extensive student support: exercises allow students to review their understanding of key topics; summaries encourage students to reflect on the main points of each chapter; figures, photos, tables and charts clarify complex topics; and annotated suggestions for further reading point students to resources for self-study. A companion website, with 170 self-test questions, suggested group exercises, audio files and links to additional web resources, completes the learning package.
Language Evolution by
How can we unravel the evolution of language, given that there is no direct evidence about it? Rudolf Botha addresses this intriguing question in his fascinating new book. Inferences can be drawn about language evolution from a range of other phenomena, serving as windows into this prehistoric process. These include shell-beads, fossil skulls and ancestral brains, modern pidgin and creole languages, homesign systems and emergent sign languages, modern motherese, language use of modern hunter-gatherers, first language acquisition, similarities between language and music, and comparative animal behaviour. The first systematic analysis of the Windows Approach, it will be of interest to students and researchers in many disciplines, including anthropology, archaeology, linguistics, palaeontology and primatology, as well as anyone interested in how language evolved.
Morphological Metatheory by
The field of morphology is particularly heterogeneous. Investigators differ on key points at every level of theory. These divisions are not minor issues about technical implementation, but rather are foundational issues that mold the underlying anatomy of any theory. The field has developed very rapidly both theoretically and methodologically, giving rise to many competing theories and varied hypotheses. Many drastically different and often contradictory models and foundational hypotheses have been proposed. Theories diverge with respect to everything from foundational architectural assumptions to the specific combinatorial mechanisms used to derive complex words. Today these distinct models of word-formation largely exist in parallel, mostly without proponents confronting or discussing these differences in any major forum. After forty years of fast-paced growth in the field, morphologists are in need of a moment to take a breath and survey the drastically different points of view within the field. This volume provides such a moment.
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
Linguistics by
This book surveys the discipline of linguistics, the study of human language. An outline of the ways in which language has been defined, described, and explored is provided, and readers are guided towards further exploration.
The Linguistics Encyclopedia by
This alphabetically-arranged Encyclopediais of value to anyone with an academic or professional interest in linguistics or language studies. The 80 main articles cover 150 sub-areas of the discipline, discussing their development, methodology, terminology, theoretical issues and controversies. The range is wide: syntax, morphology, phonology, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, historical linguistics, writing systems, language acquisition and speech therapy. Each article will be of use to both students needing basic grounding in a given topic, and to teachers or professionals seeking to know more about an area outside their own specialization. A comprehensive Indexand Bibliographymake The Linguistics Encyclopediathe prime reference book for anyone who wishes to understand the nature and workings of language.
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by
Completely revised and updated in its fifth edition, A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics is the standard single-volume reference for its field. Incorporates new words or senses that have developed in linguistics during the past 5 years, based on recommendations from a team of experts. Includes increased coverage of terms arising from recent theoretical formalizations. Contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols at the end of the book. Remains the standard single-volume reference for the field of linguistics and phonetics. Fifth edition now includes more than 5,000 terms.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by
This second edition of The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language presents a mass of new information and introduces the subject of language to a fresh generation of students and general readers. The first edition of the book is probably the most successful general study of language ever published. This second edition extends the range of coverage to include advances in areas like machine translation, speech interaction with machines, and language teaching. There is new material on acoustics, physiological concepts of language, and World English, and a complete update of the language distribution maps, language-speaking statistics, a table of the world's languages, and further reading. All geopolitical material has been revised to take account of boundary changes. The book has been redesigned and is presented for the first time in full colour, with new pictures and maps added.
Researching Language by
A multi-disciplinary study which discusses the possibilities of developing the research process so that it benefits the subjects as well as the researcher. It includes introductory essays, case studies and discusses general themes and issues.
International Critical Pedagogy Reader by 
The Final-over-Final Condition by 
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
