Subject Guides: Social Work Research Support: Databases

Off Campus Login

The library page will automatically detect Off Campus users and will thus prompt for your Novell Username ( student no. or staff no.) and Password ( Date of birth - yymmdd, full id no. or passport no.) when required.

Databases?

What is a database?

A database is an organised collection of books, journals, reviews,

abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has

been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then

licensed for distribution in an online or electronic format.

What is a Database?

Open Access Databases

Prescribed/Recommended Books

Short loan books

Prescribed textbooks books are kept in the short loan section at level 5. Short Loan is a collection of books and photocopies that may be borrowed for a very short time - usually just for few hours or maybe overnight! Click on the PDF icon below to view the list of short loan titles, alternatively search via uKwazi.

How many books may you borrow out with your student card?

Useful Resources

Social Work Databases

Sabinet Reference
This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products, including OAIster, OCLC's FirstSearch Service, SA Media, SA ePublications, foreign and local dissertations- and theses databases, to name but a handful. Read more about it here: http://bit.ly/LpMBu9

Journal article search box from the library homepage can be used for a quick search for journal articles on Social Work. For more systematic searching and more comprehensive results it is recommended to use the library databases. Databases for Social Work are listed below.

Ebscohost Web This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost Web allows you to access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Some of the databases available via the EBSCOhost platform are multi-disciplinary, like "Academic Search Premier", for example.

SpringerLink

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.

The African Journals Archive
BioMed Central
BioMed Central publishes over 200 peer-reviewed open access journals in all areas of medical research and biology.
Cambridge Journals Online
Cochrane Library
JSTOR
LexisNexiz
NEXUS (National Research Foundation) Abstracts

OCLC First Search (with World Cat) This link opens in a new window
A valuable collection of resources for libraries of all types. UWC's access is inclusive of, but not limited to, the following databases within the platform:

ArticleFirst
Current and Completed Research
OAIster
OCLC ArticleFirst database
OCLC PapersFirst database
OCLC ProceedingsFirst database
PapersFirst
SA Theses (including Navtech and UCTD)
SACat
WorldCatWorldCat Dissertations and Theses

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.

Social Work Research Support