Subject Guides: Social Work Research Support: Evidence-Based Practice: Systematic Review

Evidence-Based Practice: Systematic Review

Use PICO as tool to analyze the parts of your question

P	I	C	O
People/ Patient/ Problem	Intervention/ Exposure	Comparison	Outcomes
What are the important characteristics of the patients &/or problem?	What you plan to do for the patient or problem?	What, if anything, is the alternative to the intervention?	What is the outcome that you would like to measure?
People who exercise	warm up before exercise	no warm up	injury prevention

PICO is a good framework to help clarify your systematic review question.

Beyond PICO: the SPIDER tool for qualitative evidence synthesis.

How do you do a Systematic Review

1. Gather together your team.

2. Develop your protocol.

3. Data collection, locate, screen and collect studies

4. Abstract data and appraise risk of bias in the individual studies.

5. Synthesize findings, interpret and assess overall body of evidence.

6. Write report

7. Update

Finding evidence

CINAHL

Cochrane Library

MEDLINE (Pubmed)

Web resources

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine

The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine develops, promotes and disseminates better evidence for healthcare.

Metasearch EBP engine

TRIP

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.

Systematic Reviews Summaries the Evidence

Evidence-Based health care

Evidence-Based medicine

Evidence-Based public health

Evidence-Based policy

Level of Evidence

Systematic Reviews
Randomized Controlled Trials
Cohort Studies
Case Control Studies
Case, Series, Case Reports
Editorial, Export Opinion

Source: “EBM Pyramid.” Digital Image. Eli M. Oboler Library, 27 May 2016.

Systematic Review Aricle (Find tools in the article e.g. critical appraisal tool)

The effects of parental monitoring and communication on adolescent substance use and risky sexual activity: A systematic review
AIM: The aim of the systematic study was to determine the effect of parenting practices on adolescent risk behaviours such as substance use and sexual risk behaviour. METHOD: Quantitative research studies were systematically collected from various databases such as Academic Search Complete, MEDLINE (Pubmed), JSTOR, Project Muse and SAGE for the duration of 2003-2013 which was within the 10 year period of relevant literature to the date of study. RESULTS: Findings established that parental monitoring and communication prevented drug initiation, delayed alcohol initiation, and sexual debut, increased alcohol refusal efficacy, and decreased delinquent behaviour and risk taking behaviours in high risk adolescents. CONCLUSION: This review shows that parental practices play significant protective and promotive roles in managing adolescent risk behaviours.

How to frame your question

1. Frame your research question (PICO/ PECO)

2. Develop search strategy.

3. Develop protocol

4. Run search strategy in at least two databases.

5. Retrieve and de-duplicate citations

6. Develop system for screening titles/ abstracts and full text.

7. Screen titles or/ abstracts

8. Retrieve and screen full text.

Reading

Online Books Freely available

1. Finding what works in Health Care: standards for systematic reviews by Institute of Medicine

2. Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by Julian Higgins and Sally Green

Social Work Research Support