Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za

ukwazi 2   

Research Support Guide for Law Postgraduate Students and Academic Staff

Research support assistance and useful library resources for Postgraduate students and Academic Staff

Temporary Online Teaching and Learning

The rapidly-evolving COVID-19 situation is disrupting campus life. We're all transitioning to online education. It may feel daunting to learn and teach in new ways. We at the UWC Library are here to help you. Take a deep breath and remember to:

  • Be kind to yourself and each other. None of us has been in this situation before, but we’ll get through it together.
  • Students, let your professors know what help you might need right now, and not just for learning online. 

We will continue to update this guide as more information becomes available. 

We are also here for our students, including those who may not be accustomed to taking classes online.

Students, you can:

  • Use the Libraries’ online resources and services
  • Ask the Library about online learning or library resources
  • Contact us through the live chat box on our website

https://za.pinterest.com/pin/454019206154609328/

From 9-5 Monday to Friday a librarian is ready to respond to your queries from the Library homepage.

You will get a better service if you follow these tips:

** Please provide your UWC email address – our focus is on UWC community

** State your problem or query – be clear about this

** Please have patience while the Librarian investigates – leave your UWC email address so we can reach you with answers later


OTHER OPTIONS

** Check if your question is already answered at the Frequently Asked Questions website

**  Email your faculty librarian directly – contacts here

** After hours you can email library@uwc.ac.za

WHY AND HOW WE CITE TUTORIAL

This self-paced tutorial combines guidance, illustrations and videos to explain why, what and how should one cite.

Navigate to specific topics directly.  Also, try the interactive quizzes for Unit 1 and Unit 2.

Test what you know about citation and referencing!

Comments?  Contact us : library@uwc.ac.za

Click on the image to begin.

 

STARTING POINTS FOR USING THE LIBRARY

  • Get answers online – Frequently Asked Questions are under the HELP menu option
  • The Basics – just the essential information you’ll need (Download)
  • The Details – booklet on all Library services and resources
  • Subject guides – a pathfinder to important resources for your subjects (link to https://lib.uwc.ac.za/index.php/students/subject-guides/)

Ask a Librarian – Get real-time assistance via Chat (from 08:30 until midnight, Monday to Friday) or post your question into the service.  The Ask a Librarian chat service opens up everytime you visit the Library website.

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions – Want to get answers fast? Or, do you just want to learn more about the library and the services we offer. Go to our FAQ page, type your question and voila! Its that simple.

FIND WHAT YOU NEED RIGHT HERE

 

Learn and find out more about the library, our functions and services in the following resources.

 

UWC iKamva

 

How to Access iKamva

iKamva makes use of the Novell Username and Password for authenticating student and staff login.

  • Staff Access: Novell Details
  • Student Access: Username: Student number (1234567) Password: Date of Birth (19970521) OR ID number when first issued, but it can be changed on request by Servicedesk

** Please contact ICS service desk on (021 959 2000) or Email: servicedesk@uwc.ac.za to request a username and/or password change.

 

If you can't login to iKamva

Logging in to iKamva with your Novell Username and Password will grant you access to your online courses. Should your login details fail to authenticate during the login process, it could be one of the following:

  • Incorrect Username or Password (Retype your details and try again)
  • Forgotten your Username or Password (contact ICS service desk at servicedesk@uwc.ac.za OR 959 2000)
  • Novell account expired. Contact ICS service desk to re-activated your account.

What if I do not have internet access?

First, please let your professor know you are dealing with a problem related to internet access

Second, you may want to look into one of these offers:

Vodacom, MTN & Telkom Mobile has marked iKamva platform as zero-rated

The CIECT team has tested zero-rated policies in relation to the iKamva platform. Below is a table depicting data requirements for specific Service Providers (17 April 2020).

NB: CIECT observed that the following service providers have marked the iKamva platform as zero-rated.

NB: Please read the detailed notes below the table, which provides information regarding ways of avoiding data costs.

Notes: 

1. The student and lecturer - still requires a stable internet connection to access iKamva.

2. To-date, Vodacom, Telkom and MTN are zero-rated. Students will not be charged when they engage within the iKamva platform. 

NB: However, please note if you link/embed YouTube videos and other external websites from your iKamva module, students will require data (incur data costs).

NB: How can I embed a Youtube video within iKamva and avoid data costs?

 

Login

Navigate & View content

Download content

Upload content

Create an assessment

Complete & submit assessment

View Turnitin Report

Accessing YouTube embedded content

Vodacom

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

Requires data

Requires data

MTN

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

Requires data

Requires data

Telkom

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

No data required

Requires data

Requires data

If lecturers download a Youtube video OR create your own video; Upload it to 'Course Resources' in iKamva; and insert (embed) video in the Lessons eTool - Students will not incur data costs (if they use Telkom and MTN).

NBVodacom will be excluding rich media such as videos, skype, streaming, YouTube, etc. from zero rating as they have indicated are "heavy on the network".

NB: In order to meet the zero-rated guidelines for Vodacom, a lecturer can create a PowerPoint Presentations (PPT) - with embedded videos; upload into ‘Course Resources’ within iKamva for students to download. Students will not incur costs when they download the PPT file.

4. The ICS Department will send out notification regarding Zero-rated policies and specific Service Providers (once they are able to confirm and test with Cell C).

What technology is needed to complete an online course?

A dependable computer and a reliable network connection are very important to your success in completing an online activity or course. Let your professor know if you are dealing with a problem with either of these.‚Äč

  • Please chat with us or send us a message if you need more advice and we will do our best to help.

How will I get important information from my instructor?

  • Your course will likely be on iKamva. It is very important that you review your iKamva notification settings and enable notifications from your instructors.  Also, please check your UWC email account regularly. 

Library Resources for Online Learning

As our campus rapidly adjusts to teaching and learning remotely, we know it can feel overwhelming. UWC Library is here to help you be creative and flexible in finding good quality information.

Most of our services and resources can be accessed from anywhere, using our website. No matter where you are, you still have access to research support and a wide variety of materials.

 

Connect from Off - Campus

Almost all of the Libraries’ online journals and databases are available from off-campus by logging in with your student number and IDnr


NEW: Temporary Free academic resources online

 

UWC Libraries’ uKwazi Search

Use uKwazi Search on the Libraries’ home page to find our e-books, books, articles, videos, music, and more. 


Databases

Find an alphabetical listing of all databases. Look for the “Database” drop-down menu then either select the A-Z Databases or Databases by Discipline.

 

E-books

We provide access to e-books across many different subject areas.

Research Help

Research Guides

UWC Librarians have created research guides that focus on specific subjects. Use these guides to find the best books, e-books, research databases, journals, website, and other resources for your research.

 

Ask the Library
Have a question about finding our using resources? Please use Ask the Library. And check the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) update

We are able to process requests for articles and book chapters from other institutions for some materials held in electronic format. ILL is no longer able to request books from other institutions or scan items from the UWC Libraries’ collection. ILL request form you will find in here.

Juta Law updates  

Juta provides free access to Covid-19 updates: Juta and Company is providing free access to COVID-19 Legislation updates, categorised in an understandable manner so that you are kept up to date on changes as they are made by government, courts and other entities.

Sabinet Online 

Free access to COVID-19 legislative updates: Here is where you will find various Gazettes related to the Disaster Management Act 57 of 2002 which outline government’s approach to handling this situation from a variety of different fronts.

Open Book Publishers 

Freely-available eBooks and e-textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Open Textbook Library 

700+ open textbooks

Project Muse 

Open access e-journals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.

Internet Archive: Ebooks and Texts Archive 

Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children’s books, historical texts, and academic books.

National Emergency Library 

This a collection of free e-books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. Currently there are over 1.4 million digital e-books in this collection.

Free Online South African National Legislation

Sabinet’s Legal Products: UWC has trial access to Sabinet’s legal products until the end of May 2020. The relevant products are as follows:

  • Government Gazettes (1994 to 2020)
  • Municipal By-laws
  • National Legislation (NetLaw)
  • Provincial Gazettes
  • Provincial Legislation (Provincial NetLaw)
  • Retrospective Government Gazettes (1910 to 1993)
  • Retrospective Provincial Gazettes
  • Sabinet Bargaining Council Agreements
  • Sabinet Labour Judgments

Wits University Press has partnered with JSTOR and Proquest, suppliers of digital content to libraries, to provide all subscribing libraries with unlimited access to their digital collection of almost 200 books up to 1 July 2020. This trial is accessible via https://www-jstor-org.ezproxy.uwc.ac.za/publisher/witsup

Springer Nature has made 500 e-textbooks available for free, via SpringerLink, to support higher education (until the end of July 2020). Read more here: https://bit.ly/3emaaXc
Access the titles list here: https://bit.ly/34AVzCI

ScienceDirect e-books: Elsevier has made 257 e-textbooks freely accessible to ScienceDirect subscribers. The list is accessible at https://bit.ly/2X2s62W These titles will be accessible until 31 May 2020, via uKwazi and the ScienceDirect platform, to support students and academics working remotely.

IGI Global eBooks | UWC Library currently has trial access to 5900 e-books on the IGI Global platform until 15 June 2020. Eleven core subject areas are covered, including Business and Management; Computer Science; Education; Environmental, Agricultural and Physical Sciences; Government and Law; Library Science; Medical Healthcare and Life Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities.

Cambridge University Press (CUP) eBooks: UWC Library has secured free access to 700+ high quality online textbooks in 21 subject fields until 31 May 2020. Access is unlimited and DRM-free

 
  • THRHR
     
 
  • Journal for Juridical Science
     
 
 
 
 

 

Vanderbilt Law Review

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

University of the Western Cape,

Robert Sobukwe Road,

Bellville,

7535

Tel: 021 959 2946