Skip to main content

Open Access and libraries: Databases

This guide is aimed at to brief students on what Open access is, its role in libraries.The guide will future go on to outline the benefits of open access to students and more specifically Libraries (Public) .

Listing of open access databases

 

Open Access Databases

The African Journal Archive consist of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa’s research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature.

The Africa Portal is an online knowledge resource offering researchers and opinion leaders a forum to share their insights on Africa and publish their work on pressing areas of concern to policymakers and the public. It aims to fill the gap in accessibility to research and information on policy issues on the continent.

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access Books that meet academic standards

DOAJ: The directory contains information about Open access journals, i.e. quality controlled scientific and scholarly electronic journals that are freely available on the web

Ingenta service had merg+ed with Uncover and Catchword Ltd to give access to even more authoritative research material on one site and an easy to use service. Users can search over 26 000 publications and almost 12 million articles to 4 500 full-text electronic publications on the combined Uncover, Ingenta and Catchword databases.

JSTOR is a trusted archive of important schorlarly journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed and illustrated. The journals archive in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Knimbus OPEN is the largest platform for Open Access content offering Full Text Access to:

  • 13,000+ peer reviewed journals
  • 3,000+ e-books, and
  • 4.0 Lakh thesis & course documents

Kindly find the list of data sources accessible through Knimbus OPEN and other activation details in ‘Setup Information’ attached herewith. Please create your Knimbus account at:http://knimbus.com/user/join.do to discover and share knowledge in a smarter way."

LexisNexis® is a leading global provider of content-enabled workflow solutions to professionals in law firms, corporations, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic institutions and risk and compliance assessment.

NewspaperDirect is an online newspaper platform with over 2,200 publications, from 95 countries in 43 languages. This includes over 45 local South African publications and allows users to view and interact with all publications whilst online.

The NRF database is put together by a government national agency responsible for promoting and supporting basic and applied research as well as innovation. The NRF upholds excellence in its investments in knowledge, people, products and infrastructure.

South African Bureau of Standards (SABS) "One of the most important objects of Standards South Africa (a Division of the SABS) is to issue national standards, where the term "standard" is used generically to refer to a specification, code of practice or standard method. A specification may be a description of a product or commodity, or a description of the manner of manufacture, in which case the components, material or substance, characteristics and other relevant aspects are typically included".

SATN Database of Technologies and Services SATN in partnership with TIA and GTZ would like to present a database containing expertise,technologies and services available at Universities of Technology.The database would provide all with information to access technologies and instruments to do their research and allow industry the opportunity to be aware of specific expertise available at these institutions.