+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and Textbooks.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
|
Subject |
DDC numbers |
Subject |
DDC numbers |
|
Health Promotion |
362.10968 / 611 |
Dental Care/practice |
617.6 |
|
Oral histology |
611.31 |
Dental Hygiene |
617.601076 |
|
Anatomy |
612 |
Dental assisting |
617.60233 |
|
Oral Biology |
612.31 |
Periodontics |
617.632 |
|
Epidemiology |
614.4 |
Endodontics |
617.6342 |
|
Pharmacotherapy |
615 |
Orthodontics |
617.643 |
|
Pathology |
616.07 |
Paediatric dentistry |
617.645 |
|
Oral Medicine |
617.522 |
Prosthodontics |
617.692 |
|
Maxillofacial |
617.520 |
Anaesthesia |
617.9676 |
Maxillofacial cone beam computed tomography : principles, techniques and clinical applications by 
Orthodontics by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Dentistry** Comprehensive, cutting-edge content addresses contemporary orthodontic practice! Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 7th Edition provides an evidence-based approach to orthodontic diagnosis, treatment planning, and clinical techniques, including esthetics, genetics, temporary anchorage devices, aligners, technology-assisted biomechanics, and much more. New to this edition are seven chapters, covering topics like AI, maxillary expansion in adults, Class II correctors, and autotransplantation. Newly authored chapters on orthognathic surgery and the craniofacial team, the periodontal-orthodontic interface, interdisciplinary treatment, and accelerated tooth movement, among others, address current perspectives. The 7th edition comes with access to an enhanced eBook version, which includes videos and additional visuals to show concepts difficult to explain with words alone. Readers can also find additional, online-only chapters and a fully searchable version of the text. Respected editors Lee Graber, Katherine Vig, and Greg Huang are joined by new editor Pádhraig Fleming, along with expert contributors from around the world. This text provides the most current and comprehensive collection of orthodontic knowledge, making it the go-to book for orthodontic residents and practitioners! Comprehensive coverage provides a one-stop resource for the field of orthodontics, including foundational theory and the latest on the materials and techniques used in today's practice. Experienced, renowned editors lead a team of expert, international contributors to provide the most authoritative clinical practice and supporting science from the best and brightest in the industry. More than 3,400 images include a mixture of radiographs, full-color clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatment, techniques, and outcomes. Detailed, illustrated case studies show the decision-making process, highlighting the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. Extensive references make it easy to look up the latest in orthodontic research and evidence-based information, and all references also appear online. Enhanced ebook, included with every print purchase, features a fully searchable version of the text and bonus online-only chapters, instructional videos, and more. NEW! Seven chapters cover topics such as AI, maxillary expansion in adults, Class II correctors, and autotransplantation. Newly authored chapters on aligners, orthognathic surgery, the periodontal-orthodontic interface, interdisciplinary and computer-assisted treatment, temporary anchorage devices, and accelerated tooth movement, among others, address current perspectives. UPDATED! Relevant literature and evidence-based practices are featured throughout the text. NEW! Additional photos and illustrations visually reinforce key concepts and procedures.
Diagnostic Pathology: Head and Neck by
This expert volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for practitioners at all levels of experience and training. Covering all areas of head and neck pathology, it incorporates the most recent clinical, pathologic, and molecular knowledge in this challenging field to provide a comprehensive overview of all key issues relevant to today's practice. Richly illustrated and easy to use, the third edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Head and Neck is a one-stop reference for accurate, complete pathology reports-ideal as a day-to-day reference or as a reliable teaching resource. Provides a clear framework for a better understanding of the clinical and histopathologic appearances of more than 325 new or evolving entities of the head and neck and endocrine organs Features updates on recent changes in the field and current information from the AJCC Cancer Staging Manual, 8th Edition, and the World Health Organization Classification of Head and Neck Tumours, 5th Edition Covers numerous new diagnostic entities, including intraductal carcinoma, sclerosing polycystic adenoma, microsecretory adenocarcinoma, adamantinoma-like Ewing sarcoma, SMARCB1- and SMARCA4-deficient carcinomas, and HPV-related multiphenotypic sinonasal carcinoma Contains major updates on sinonasal tract, salivary gland, and odontogenic tumors; oropharyngeal squamous cell carcinoma and its correct classification and staging; the recent significant reclassification of neuroendocrine tumors; and changes in terminology and identification for head and neck soft tissue tumors Suggests supporting studies in a realistic clinical context, with tables and immunohistochemical charts that assist with management decisions and prognostic outcome predictions Features more than 3,200 images, including full-color drawings of head and neck anatomy, development pathway drawings, staging protocol illustrations, and genetic pathway graphics; radiologic images, clinical photographs, and gross images; and histology, histochemistry, immunohistochemistry, in situ hybridization, and molecular images; as well as more than 2,600 additional online-only images Employs consistently templated chapters, bulleted content, key facts, and annotated images for quick, expert reference at the point of care Includes the enhanced eBook version, which allows you to search all text, figures, and references on a variety of devices
Head and Neck Pathology by
An essential foundation text for residents and pathologists, the third edition of Head and Neck Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, has been fully revised to include recent advances in the field. Featuring a highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, this practical, affordable resource by Drs. Lester D. R. Thompson and Justin A. Bishop is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Inclusion of a wide range of diagnoses in both head and neck and endocrine organ pathology. A focus on the specific features of selected non-neoplastic and neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical and Pathologic Features summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast access to information. A highly templated format that includes pertinent clinical, imaging, and management/prognostic features; pathologic features; ancillary studies; differential diagnosis; and meaningfully chosen bibliography. Over a thousand full-color photographs illustrate important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized expert pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. New criteria as established by the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Head and Neck Tumours and the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Endocrine Organ Tumours. A new oropharynx section, separated from the oral cavity. Inclusion of unique newly identified molecular information in many tumor entities. Coverage of NUT carcinoma, HPV-associated adenoid cystic-like carcinoma, sinonasal renal cell-like adenocarcinoma, SMARCB1 (INI-1) deficient sinonasal carcinoma, biphenotypic sinonasal sarcoma, neuroendocrine carcinomas, oropharyngeal carcinoma, polycystic disease and sclerosing polycystic adenosis, secretory carcinoma, cribriform adenocarcinoma of the minor salivary glands, variants of myoepithelioma, clear cell carcinoma, and changes in gnathic cysts classification. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Intelligent and Sustainable Smart Dentistry by
With the exponential growth of science and technology, the delivery of dental care has shifted from conventional methods to intelligent techniques. In addition to adapting intelligent techniques, sustainable dental practice is of the utmost importance. Eco-friendly dentistry, sustainable dentistry, or green dentistry are approaches that reduce the environmental impact of dental practice and help safeguard planetary and community well-being. This handbook provides the latest and most comprehensive evidence-based guidance on intelligent and sustainable approaches in dentistry. Handbook of Intelligent and Sustainable Smart Dentistry: Nature and Bio-Inspired Approaches, Processes, Materials, and Manufacturing highlights how Dentistry 4.0 has come to the rescue after COVID-19 and how it has helped in providing needed e-healthcare. This handbook bridges the gap between research and development in the field of smart dentistry for professionals and clinicians. Intelligent materials, equipment, instrumentation, and the latest behavior management techniques and how these techniques provide superior care and treatment to society are explored in detail. The scope of nature-inspired techniques and procession, along with green solutions, are also discussed in this one-of-a-kind handbook. This valuable handbook is a single-stop solution for practitioners, researchers, scholars, students, academicians, and clinicians interested in updating their knowledge on intelligent and sustainable dentistry. The handbook will bestow the readers with not only theoretical knowledge but will equip them with clinical skills as well.
Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology by
Readable, well-illustrated, and concise, Robbins and Kumar's Basic Pathology, 11th Edition, offers today's busy students a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts from trusted names in the field. This updated edition thoroughly covers key pathologic processes and the time-honored tools of gross and microscopic analysis, while also retaining a strong emphasis on clinicopathologic correlations and the impact of molecular pathology on the practice of medicine. Outstanding artwork and schematic drawings, as well as a robust eBook experience with extensive additional features, make complex concepts easier to learn and retain. Includes fully updated clinical topics throughout. Features high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images, as well as new artwork and over 150 new schematic diagrams that help summarize key or complex disease mechanisms. Contains a new Rapid Review section that uses bulleted summary boxes to deliver essential take-home messages and help you focus on the fundamentals. Includes tables of relevant laboratory tests for each chapter that link pathophysiology of disease and diagnostic testing. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Features increased representation of diverse populations throughout the text, including clinical photographs of skin lesions in multiple skin types and a new section on the role of socially defined race in health disparities. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud-as well as access bonus content, including case studies, additional gross and microscopic figures, and more.
Nutrition and Oral Health by
This book explores in depth the relationships between nutrition and oral health. Oral health is an integral part of general health across the life course, and this book examines nutritional and oral health considerations from childhood through to old age, with particular attention focused on the consequences of demographic changes. Current knowledge on the consequences of poor diet for the development and integrity of the oral cavity, tooth loss, and the progression of oral diseases is thoroughly reviewed. Likewise, the importance of maintenance of a disease-free and functional dentition for nutritional well-being at all stages of life is explained. Evidence regarding the impact of oral rehabilitation on nutritional status is evaluated, and strategies for changing dietary behaviour in order to promote oral health are described. Nutrition and Oral Health will be an ideal source of information for all who are seeking a clearly written update on the subject.
Clinical Problem Solving in Dentistry: Orthodontics and Paediatric Dentistry by
This is a third edition of an easy to read resource in orthodontics and paediatric dentistry - ideal for undergraduate dental students and postgraduates preparing for the MJDF and similar exams. Useful 'Clinical Case' format promotes a logical approach to problem solving through history taking, clinical examination and diagnosis Contains approximately 350 photographs, 50 line artworks and 40 tables Provides two different approaches to the Clinical Cases - some topics include scenarios with questions and answers; others include differential diagnosis with a focus on how to plan and manage treatment effectively 'Key-point' boxes systematically emphasise core knowledge, assessment and treatment approaches Useful Mind Maps® provide a focused framework for learning and revision Thoroughly updated text with over 140 new clinical images New orthodontic sections covering classification and definitions, referral guide, implications of some medical problems, together with further information on CBCT and TADs, protraction facemask treatment, management of non-nutritive sucking habits, and retainer types and problems. New authorship to paediatric dentistry section provides comprehensive text revision New paediatric dentistry Clinical Cases address behavioural problems in the child and adolescent, the treatment of children with learning difficulties and physical disability, as well as providing coverage of common medical problems in children and assessment of dental trauma Updated reading lists include Cochrane reviews
Oral and maxillofacial pathology by
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 5th Edition guides you through the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region. More than 1,500 radiographs and full-color clinical photos bring various lesions and conditions to life. Updates in this edition include coverage of the latest advances in oral squamous cell carcinoma treatment, HPV, and molecular pathology, along with revised content throughout. Well-known oral pathology educators Brad Neville, Douglas Damm, Carl Allen, and Angela Chi, bring you up to date on the latest concepts of pathogenesis and disease management in the care of patients with oral disease.
Nutrition for Dental Health: A Guide for the Dental Professional, Enhanced Edition by
eflecting significant changes in the industry and the latest research in the field, this fully updated Third Edition of Rebecca Sroda's Nutrition for Dental Health provides dental hygiene and dental assisting students up-to-date, easy-to-understand coverage of basic nutrition and diet information with an emphasis on the relationship of nutrition and diet to oral health. Now in vibrant full color, this accessible and student-friendly Third Edition features up-to-date, evidence-based content, new practice-focused features, outstanding end-of-chapter and online learning tools, and enhanced instructors resources.
Contents
Chapter 1. Eating 101 -- Chapter 2. Carbohydrates -- Chapter 3. Protein -- Chapter 4. Lipids -- Chapter 5. Vitamins -- Chapter 6. Minerals -- Chapter 7. Water -- Chapter 8. Dietary and Herbal Supplements -- Chapter 9. Diet and Dental Caries -- Chapter 10. Nutrition and Periodontal Disease -- Chapter 11. Choosing Foods for Health and Fitness -- Chapter 12. Reading Labels -- Chapter 13. Nutrient Needs for Development and Maintenance of Oral Structures -- Chapter 14. Dietary Considerations for the Life Cycle -- Chapter 15. Eating Disorders -- Chapter 16. Nutritional Counseling Chapter 17. Nutritional Considerations for Special Population Groups -- Chapter 18. Nutritive Value of Complementary Therapies for Oral Care Appendix Nutrients at a Glance.
Physical Reference Books
Basic Guide to Infection Prevention and Control in Dentistry by
A practical step-by-step guide for all members of the dental team Thoroughly updated, this new edition ensures all members of the dental team are up to speed on the practical aspects of infection prevention and control. It provides step-by-step guidance on the safe running of a dental practice, clear and concise explanations of the key issues and concepts, an overview of the evidence base, and coverage of legal and regulatory issues about which all staff members need to be aware. With more colour photographs and illustrations than the first edition, it also includes appendices full of useful practical and clinical information, and a companion website offering helpful instructional videos and self-assessment questions. Key topics include communicable diseases, occupational health and immunization, sharp safe working, hand hygiene, personal protective equipment, disinfection of dental instruments, surface decontamination, dental unit waterlines, clinical waste management, and pathological specimen handling. An indispensable working resource for the busy dental practice, Basic Guide to Infection Prevention and Control in Dentistry, 2nd Edition is also an excellent primer for dental students.
Harty's Dental Dictionary by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. A new edition of a well-known dental dictionary, suitable for dental students, dental nurses and dental practice secretaries. A comprehensive dictionary of the complete range of dental terminology Line diagrams illustrated selected definitions. Useful appendices cover such things as dental instruments, development and eruption of teeth etc. Totally revised - new definitions added and obsolete ones deleted.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by
The new edition of this essential pocket guide covers the whole of clinical dentistry in a concise format. The authors have distilled the key elements of clinical practice into a readily accessible book, with blank pages provided for readers to add their own notes. This edition has beencompletely updated with a wealth of new information.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by
This contemporary, comprehensive glossary includes more than 9,500 terms related to all areas of dentistry; basic, clinical, and behavioral sciences; office management, and commonly used medical terms. Plus, it also includes a companion CD-ROM with a searchable database and audio pronunciations. A full-color format and more than 300 illustrations. Extensive appendices for quick, easy-to-use access to vital information. Synonyms, where applicable. Colored thumb tabs, so you find definitions more quickly.
Textbook of Preclinical Conservative Dentistry by
Conservative Dentistry is the branch of dentistry which is concerned with the conservation of teeth in the mouth. It involves operative dentistry and endodontics, and includes various kinds of direct and indirect restorations of individual teeth in the mouth. This new edition has been fully revised to provide dental students with the most up to date information in the field. Beginning with an introduction to the topic, the following chapters provide step by step guidance through tooth morphology, decay, and various treatment procedures. New topics have been added to the second edition of this book including morphology of primary teeth, chair position and dental operatory, armamentarium, tooth preparation for primary teeth, adhesive dentistry, and examination spotters. Each chapter concludes with self-assessment questions and features clinical images and line diagrams to assist understanding. Key Points Fully revised, new edition providing latest information in field of conservative dentistry Second edition includes many new topics Self-assessment questions conclude each chapter to assist revision Previous edition (9789350250778) published in 2011
Textbook of Pediatric Dentistry by
This new edition is a complete guide to paediatric dentistry for undergraduate and postgraduate dental students. Divided into nineteen sections, the book begins with an introduction to the specialty, oral examination, teeth identification and numbering, imaging, and growth and development of a child's face, mouth and teeth. The next chapters discuss diet and nutrition, plaque control and fluorides, and dental caries. Dental subspecialties including endodontics, orthodontics, restorative dentistry, periodontics, and surgery, each have their own dedicated sections. The concluding chapters cover oral pathology, forensics, lasers, dental advances, and research. The fourth edition has been fully revised to provide the latest information in the field and features many new topics including zirconia crowns, revascularisation and pulp regeneration, silver diamine fluoride, general anaesthesia, and presurgical nasoalveolar moulding in the management of cleft lip and palate. Key points Complete guide to paediatric dentistry for dental students Fully revised fourth edition with many new topics Highly illustrated with more than 1000 clinical photographs, diagrams and tables Previous edition (9789351522324) published in 2014
Textbook of Operative Dentistry by
Textbook of Operative Dentistry is the latest edition of this richly illustrated resource, covering diagnosis, treatment and prognosis of dental problems which do not require full coverage restoration. This new edition has been completely revised and updated, with 722 full colour images and illustrations and substantial revisions in every chapter, incorporating the latest developments in the field and current research findings. Divided into 24 chapters, this book emphasises a practical approach and clear advice on the selection and use of modern dental materials, and describes how teeth are prepared for indirect restorations such as crowns, bridges and inlays. The initial chapters cover dental terminology, physiology, instruments, patient evaluation, diagnosis and treatment, infection control and pain management, amongst many other topics. Further chapters cover a broad range of operative procedures. The book also emphasises the importance of aesthetics in modern dentistry. Textbook of Operative Dentistry combines proven methods with the latest scientific developments in preventive and restorative dentistry, including nanodentistry, bringing this essential edition fully up to date. Key Points Latest edition of illustrated guide to dental restoration Previous edition published 2012 (9789350259399) Combines proven methods with the latest scientific developments in the field 722 full colour images and illustrations
Clinical Textbook of Dental Hygiene and Therapy by
Fully revised and updated to reflect changes in clinical practice, legislation and regulation, this groundbreaking textbook intertwines the subjects of dental hygiene and dental therapy to provide a comprehensive resource for students of these courses, as well as those studying new degree programmes in oral health science. The Clinical Textbook of Dental Hygiene and Therapy is designed as a dedicated companion text for these disciplines and should enable students to streamline their primary reading. Following course developments and an expansion in the remits of both hygienists and therapists, this book is written not only for students, but also as a revision aid for those already in practice. Interactive questions on a companion website allow the reader to test their knowledge and understanding. The opening section of the book is dedicated to relevant oral sciences: anatomy; histology; embryology; oral medicine and pathology. The clinical section contains fourteen chapters which provide coverage of the core syllabus for dental hygiene and therapy. The final section is dedicated to primary dental care services and law, ethics and professionalism. FEATURES * Provides unique combined coverage of the subjects of dental hygiene and dental therapy * Emphasises the clinical domain and reflects role expansion * Highly illustrated in full colour throughout * Includes expert contributions from dental hygienists, therapists, and dentists * Dedicated companion website at www.wiley.com/go/noble/dentalhygiene
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
