+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Research articles are mainly published in Research Journals, which are available in print or online. You can find and access suggested online Social Work journals on the Key Journals tab, above on the right.
It is better to search across many journals using Journal Databases, some are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above on the extreme right. You can also find and access online Social Work research articles using the Databases by Discipline option on the library's website.
EbscoHost Web allows you to access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Some of the databases available via the EBSCOhost platform are multi-disciplinary, like "Academic Search Premier", for example.
Available via Sabinet, this database provides full-text access to journals published in Africa encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service Sabinet African Journals offers a user-friendly platform and encourages research efficacy. All international journal standards and statistics are adhered. The collection is the most comprehensive collection of its kind in the world.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
- Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
- Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
- See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
- Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
