+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Research articles are mainly published in Research Journals, which are available in print or online. You can find and access suggested online Physical Science journals on the Key Journals tab, above on the right.
It is better to search across many journals using Journal Databases, some are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above on the extreme right. You can also find and access online Physical Science research articles using the Databases by Discipline option on the library's website.
You can take a look at the video below to find out how to search for research articles and books using uKwazi.
Web of Science (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge) indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
arXiv.org is an e-print service which presents papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines (Advanced search, linked to UWC collections).
ScienceDirect Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 125,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
Over 300 open access journals were included when DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was first launched in 2003. With more than 16 500 open access journals encompassing all disciplines of science, technology, medicine, social science and arts and humanities, this independent database is now one of the largest on the market today. The addition of open access journals from any country or language is open to everybody.
IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
OpenStax Math Textbooks is a platform for Open textbooks for introductory statistics, calculus, algebra, pre-algebra, and trigonometry. Open textbooks by Rice University. Faculty can download supplementary materials.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
