+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and Textbooks. Many of these books are eBooks that you can access from anywhere you have an internet connection.
You can find all of the books in the library, or online, by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Civil Society Elites
by
This open access book introduces a groundbreaking concept - civil society elites - and serves as an essential resource for scholars, researchers and students interested in the complexities of power and influence within contemporary civil societies. Through a series of unique empirical studies, the authors offer a comprehensive examination of the individuals occupying the upper echelons of influential civil society organisations and movements. By delving into the factors that propel individuals into key positions and examining the connections between civil society leaders within and across sectors, the book offers insight into the mechanisms that shape access to powerful positions in civil societies. As a reflection of current debates on elites and populism, the book furthermore explores the expression and conceptualisation of counter-elite positions and criticism of civil society elites. With its original approach, the book serves as a catalyst for further research into inequalities, power structures and elites within civil societies.
Civil Strife Against Local Governance
by
Hardly a day goes by without South Africans going on a rampage over the provision of basic municipal services such as water, electricity, sanitation and other municipal obligations. This book connects the critical issue of community protests to the equally precarious issue of political trust in local governance in South Africa by using comparative analysis of grassroots activism in predominantly black communities and predominantly white communities.
Human Trafficking in South Africa
by
South Africa has the unfortunate distinction of being one of the top-ten worldwide routes for trafficking in persons, or TIP, a massive phenomenon fueled by poverty, forced migration, government corruption, and digital communications that decrease the distance between victim and perpetrator. In his deep study of human trafficking in South Africa, Philip Frankel explores the nature of TIP, considers its manifestations in sex, child, labor, and organ trafficking, assesses its social impact, and evaluates the various counter-trafficking programs that have emerged in the region in recent years. CONTENTS: Human Trafficking: An Overview. Sex Trafficking. Child Trafficking. Labor Trafficking. Counter-Trafficking. The Regional Framework. Conclusion: Beyond COVID.
Macho Men in South African Gyms
by
This book explores the experiences of self-identified heterosexual and gay men in contemporary South African gym contexts, particularly as it relates to how the intersection of spornosexual and inclusive masculinities inform their views and enactment of their masculine and sexual identities. Chapters engage with findings from an in-depth qualitative sociological exploration on issues surrounding these masculinities among men living in South Africa who engage in gym work. The author demonstrates that men, when given the opportunity to reflect on their own and the masculinity of others, acknowledge how they promote softer, kinder, disciplined, playful, and sexually agentic masculinities through their look and touch.
Practical research : planning and design
by
Nature and tools of research -- The problem : the heart of the research process -- Review of the related literature -- Planning your research project -- Writing the research proposal -- Descriptive research -- Experimental, quasi-experimental, and ex post facto designs -- Qualitative research methods -- Mixed-method designs -- Action research and participatory designs -- Analyzing quantitative data -- Analyzing qualitative and mixed-methods data -- Planning and preparing a final research report -- Appendix A. Using a spreadsheet : Microsoft Excel -- Appendix B. Using SPSS.
Social policy in the African context
by
Handbook of the sociology of gender
by
This handbook provides a comprehensive view of the field of the sociology of gender. It presents the most important theories about gender and methods used to study gender, as well as extensive coverage of the latest research on gender in the most important areas of social life, including gendered bodies, sexuality, carework, paid labor, social movements, incarceration, migration, gendered violence, and others. Building from previous publications this handbook includes a vast array of chapters from leading researchers in the sociological study of gender. It synthesizes the diverse field of gender scholarship into a cohesive theoretical framework, gender structure theory, in order to position the specific contributions of each author/chapter as part of a complex and multidimensional gender structure. Through this organization of the handbook, readers do not only gain tremendous insight from each chapter, but they also attain a broader understanding of the way multiple gendered processes are interrelated and mutually constitutive. While the specific focus of the handbook is on gender, the chapters included in the volume also give significant attention to the interrelation of race, class, and other systems of stratification as they intersect and implicate gendered processes
Readings in Sexualities from Africa
by
Images and stories about African sexuality abound in today's globalized media. Frequently old stereotypes and popular opinion inform these stories, and sex in the media is predominately approached as a problem in need of solutions and intervention. The authors gathered here refuse an easy characterization of African sexuality and instead seek to understand the various erotic realities, sexual practices, and gendered changes taking place across the continent. They present a nuanced and comprehensive overview of the field of sex and sexuality in Africa to serve as a guide though the quickly expanding literature. This collection offers a set of texts that use sexuality as a prism for studying how communities coalesce against the canvas of larger political and economic contexts and how personal lives evolve therein. Scholars working in Africa, the U.S., and Europe reflect on issues of representation, health and bio-politics, same-sex relationships and identity, transactional economies of sex, religion and tradition, and the importance of pleasure and agency. This multidimensional reader provides a comprehensive view of sexuality from an African perspective.
Troubling Education
by
Few books have addressed research for teachers to turn to as a resource for classroom practice but here Kumashiro draws on interviews with gay activists as a starting point for discussion of models of reading and challenging oppression.
The Scholar Denied
by
In this groundbreaking book, Aldon D. Morris's ambition is truly monumental: to help rewrite the history of sociology and to acknowledge the primacy of W. E. B. Du Bois's work in the founding of the discipline. Calling into question the prevailing narrative of how sociology developed, Morris, a major scholar of social movements, probes the way in which the history of the discipline has traditionally given credit to Robert E. Park at the University of Chicago, who worked with the conservative black leader Booker T. Washington to render Du Bois invisible. Morris uncovers the seminal theoretical work of Du Bois in developing a "scientific" sociology through a variety of methodologies and examines how the leading scholars of the day disparaged and ignored Du Bois's work. The Scholar Denied is based on extensive, rigorous primary source research; the book is the result of a decade of research, writing, and revision. In exposing the economic and political factors that marginalized the contributions of Du Bois and enabled Park and his colleagues to be recognized as the "fathers" of the discipline, Morris delivers a wholly new narrative of American intellectual and social history that places one of America's key intellectuals, W. E. B. Du Bois, at its center. The Scholar Denied is a must-read for anyone interested in American history, racial inequality, and the academy. In challenging our understanding of the past, the book promises to engender debate and discussion.
Theory for the Working Sociologist
by
Theory for the Working Sociologist makes social theory easy to understand by revealing sociology's hidden playbook. Fabio Rojas argues that sociologists use four different theoretical "moves" when they try to explain the social world: how groups defend their status, how people strategically pursue their goals, how values and institutions support each other, and how people create their social reality. Rojas uses famous sociological studies to illustrate these four types of theory and show how students and researchers may apply them to their interests. The guiding light of the book is the concept of the "social mechanism," which clearly and succinctly links causes and effects in social life. Drawing on dozens of empirical studies that define modern sociology and focusing on the nuts and bolts of social explanation, Rojas reveals how areas of study within the field of sociology that at first glance seem dissimilar are, in fact, linked by shared theoretical underpinnings. In doing so, he elucidates classical and contemporary theory, and connects both to essential sociological findings made throughout the history of the field. Aimed at undergraduate students, graduate students, journalists, and interested general readers who want a more formal way to understand social life, Theory for the Working Sociologist presents the underlying themes of sociological thought using contemporary research and plain language.
Indigenous and Decolonizing Studies in Education
by
Indigenous and decolonizing perspectives on education have long persisted alongside colonial models of education, yet too often have been subsumed within the fields of multiculturalism, critical race theory, and progressive education. Timely and compelling, Indigenous and Decolonizing Studies in Education features research, theory, and dynamic foundational readings for educators and educational researchers who are looking for possibilities beyond the limits of liberal democratic schooling. Featuring original chapters by authors at the forefront of theorizing, practice, research, and activism, this volume helps define and imagine the exciting interstices between Indigenous and decolonizing studies and education. Each chapter forwards Indigenous principles - such as Land as literacy and water as life - that are grounded in place-specific efforts of creating Indigenous universities and schools, community organizing and social movements, trans and Two Spirit practices, refusals of state policies, and land-based and water-based pedagogies.
Marxism and decolonization in the 21st century : living theories and true ideas
by
Marxism and Decolonization in the 21st Century is a ground-breaking work that highlights the resurgence and insurgence of Marxism and decolonization, and the ways in which decolonization and decoloniality are grounded in the contributions of Black Marxism, the radical black tradition, and anti-colonial liberation traditions. Featuring leading and young scholars and activists, this book is a practical scholarly intervention that shows how democratic Marxism and decoloniality might converge to provoke planetary decolonization in the 21st century. At the center of this process, enabled by both increasing human entanglements and the resilience of racism, the volume's contributors analyze converging forces of anti-imperialism, anti-colonialism, anti-patriarchy, anti-sexism, indigenous people's movements, eco-feminist formations, and intellectual movements levelled against Eurocentrism. This book will be of great interest to students, scholars, and intellectuals interested in Marxism, decolonization, and transnational activism
Female fear factory
by
Patriarchy does not respect national boundaries. It is unabashedly promiscuous in its influences and tethers. Yet, it does use nationalism very productively. An empty street at night. A crowded bus. A lecture hall. All sites of female fear, instilled in women and those who have been constructed female, from an early age. Drawing on examples from around the world - from Uganda, Nigeria, South Africa to Saudi Arabia, the Americas and Europe, Gqola traces the construction and machinations of the female fear factory by exposing its lies, myths, and seductions. She shows how seemingly disparate effects, like driving bans, street harassment, and coercive professors, are the product of the ever-turning machinery of the female fear factory, and its use of fear as a tool of patriarchal subjugation and punishment. Female Fear Factory is a sobering account of patriarchal violence in the world, and a hopeful vision for the work of unapologetic feminist imaginative strategies across the globe
Decolonizing Sociology
by
Sociology, as a discipline, was born at the height of global colonialism and imperialism. Over a century later, it is yet to shake off its commitment to colonial ways of thinking. This book explores why, and how, sociology needs to be decolonized. It analyses how sociology was integral in reproducing the colonial order, as dominant sociologists constructed theories either assuming or proving the supposed barbarity and backwardness of colonized people. Ali Meghji reveals how colonialism continues to shape the discipline today, dominating both social theory and the practice of sociology, how exporting the Eurocentric sociological canon erased social theories from the Global South, and how sociologists continue to ignore the relevance of coloniality in their work. This guide will be necessary reading for any student or proponent of sociology. In opening up the work of other decolonial advocates and under-represented thinkers to readers, Meghji offers key suggestions for what teachers and students can do to decolonize sociology. With curriculum reform, innovative teaching and a critical awareness of these issues, it is possible to make sociology more equitable on a global scale.
A Dictionary of Sociology
by
Wide-ranging and authoritative, this sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind. Compiled by a team of experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it contains over 2,500 entries. With terms taken from sociology and the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science, it provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology from adaptation to zero toleranceas well as biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm. The jargon-free entries blend clear descriptions with in-depth analysis, and include many real-life examples, making even the most complicated topics easy to understand. This new edition has been revised to bring the dictionary completely up-to-date. Now boasting many entry-level web links, accessible via the regularly updated Dictionary of Sociology companion website, this volume offers more relevant and useful information than ever before, making it an invaluable introduction and a key reference work for students, teachers, and professionals in sociology and related fields.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
by
Click 'Additional Materials' for downloadable samplesThe Encyclopedia of Social Theory is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Theories covered include * Critical Theory . Enlightenment . Ethnomethodology . Exchange Theory . Feminism . Marxist Theory . Multiculturalism . Phenomenology . Postmodernism . Rational Choice . Structural Fundamentalism Led by internationally renowned scholar George Ritzer, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of more than 200 international scholars covering the developments, achievements, and prospects of social theory from its inception in the 18th century to the present. Understanding that social theory can both explain and alter the social world, this two-volume set serves as not only a foundation for learning, but also an inspiration for creative and reflexive engagement with the rich range of ideas it contains. Key Themes. American Social Theory . British Social Theory . Comparative and Historical Theory . Cultural Theory . Economic Sociology . Feminist Theory . French Social Theory . German Social Theory . Macrosociological Theories . Marxist and Neo-Marxist Approaches . Method and Metatheory . Network and Exchange Theories . Other/Multiple National Traditions . Politics and Government . Postmodern Theory . Psychoanalytic Theory . Schools and Theoretical Approaches . Symbolic Interaction and Microsociology . Theorists . Topics and Concepts in Social Theory Key Features . More than 300 entries from fourteen countries . Master Bibliography . Reader's Guide . Extensive biographical coverage of major theorists . Extensive cross-referencing
21st Century Sociology: a Reference Handbook
by
"With this valuable handbook the editors have successfully synthesized a field that has expanded considerably in recent years." --M.L. Stark, CHOICEBecause the field of sociological inquiry is multi-faceted in perspective, and does subsume a variety of specialty interests, the literature in this discipline has developed and proliferated in a near exponential fashion. Sociology, today, has become so specialty driven in its research and theory agenda that the result is an enormous and complex body of sociological knowledge that is often considered to be unwieldy. 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry. Key Features Provides a timely and comprehensive assessment of the 100+ specialty fields of sociology with contributions by leading authorities in their area of expertise from the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Singapore Examines four distinct phases of development in the history of sociological inquiry--a period of theoretical development, the emphasis on methodological development and refinement, the phase of specialization, and a period that has taken representatives of the discipline into previously unexplored areas Addresses the various traditional subfields of sociology, such as political sociology, educational sociology, rural sociology, criminology, occupational sociology, and minority relations Explores important new, evolving subfields, such as environmental sociology, sociology of sports and leisure, military sociology, medical sociology, the sociology of food and eating, and the sociology of emotions 21st Century Sociology presents the most comprehensive overview of modern sociology making it a must have resource for any academic library.
Compact Oxford English Dictionary for Students
by
The Compact Oxford English Dictionary for Students is a brand-new title specifically designed to meet the needs of today's students. With over 144,000 words, phrases, and definitions, it offers comprehensive coverage of current English and is perfect for student reference and everyday studyneeds. A simple defining style, and a clear colour layout, ensure the dictionary text is accessible and easy to use.Throughout the dictionary text there are notes giving advice on the use of good English, and highlighting the differences between commonly confused words such as empathy and sympathy, and affect and effect, as well as thousands of example phrases showing words in context.The dictionary has been market-tested with both teachers and students. Of particular relevance is the centre supplement, which gives lots of practical information - how to research and take notes, how to write essays, dissertations, reports, and summaries, advice on note-taking and referencing, andpreparing CVs and job applications - to help students do better in their studies. It also provides help with English grammar, spelling, and punctuation, to help students get it right every time.As well as the printed book, there is an Online Resource Centre, accessed via weblinks given in the book, which gives additional information and study skills support.This portable and affordable dictionary is an essential reference tool for all college and university students who need practical advice and tips to tackle their studies, and those who want to write effectively and with confidence.
Seeing Politics Differently
by
Seeing Politics Differently introduces students to political sociology - the study of how power is distributed within society. Arguing that politics is about much more than the debates and decisions of government, this concise text reveals how political struggles are inextricably tied toeveryday life. Through thoughtful discussions of key perspectives and approaches, the authors demonstrate the importance of questioning who holds power in our society, where that power comes from, and how individuals and groups can bring about change.
Sociology (X Kit undergraduate sociology)
by
The library 
runs training and orientation sessions on a variety of library topics, including how to use uKwazi. These are usually advertised or you can check when the next session is and book yourself, using this link:
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
