+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Research articles are mainly published in Research Journals, which are available in print or online. You can find and access suggested online Medical BioScience journals on the Key Journals tab, above on the right.
It is better to search across many journals using Journal Databases, some are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above on the extreme right. You can also find and access online Medical BioScience research articles using the Databases by Discipline option on the library's website.
You can take a look at the video below to find out how to search for research articles and books using uKwazi.
Articles appearing in Gender & Society analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal primarily publishes empirical articles, which are both theoretically engaged and methodologically rigorous, including qualitative, quantitative, and comparative-historical methodologies.
The Journal of Men’s Studies publishes the best research—both theoretical and empirical—in the emergent men’s studies field, recognizing the varied influences of class, culture, race, and sexual orientation on defining men’s experiences. The journal’s cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural character disseminates material by men’s studies scholars from various perspectives (political, social, cultural, and historical) as well as various disciplines (anthropology, sociology, history, psychology, literature, theology).
The European Journal of Women’s Studies
The European Journal of Women's Studies is a major international forum for publishing original research, theoretically sophisticated, and empirically grounded in the field of gender studies, with a focus on the complex theoretical and empirical relationship between women and the particular, and diverse, national and transnational contexts of Europe.
As well as publishing top-quality scholarly articles, the journal includes overviews on the state of Women's Studies in different European countries, short topical and polemical pieces, book and film reviews, interviews, and conference reports.
Men and Masculinities publish critical masculinities scholarship from around the world. With a goal to make cutting-edge research available to readers, instructors, researchers, and policymakers, the journal also acts as a collective of international and interdisciplinary scholars who engage current debates in gender and sexuality studies as a broader field of inquiry.
Feminism and Psychology offers an intellectually and politically charged archive of historic and contemporary lines of analysis within feminism and psychology, across continents. Feminism & Psychology fosters the development of feminist theory and practice in psychology and represents the concerns of women in a wide range of contexts across the academic/applied `divide'.
Feminist Theory is an international interdisciplinary journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism. Feminist Theory is genuinely interdisciplinary and reflects the diversity of feminism, incorporating perspectives from across the broad spectrum of the humanities and social sciences and the full range of feminist political and theoretical stances.
Feminist Review is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal contributing to new agendas for feminism. The journal invites critical reflection on the relationship between materiality and representation, theory and practice, subjectivity and communities, contemporary and historical formations
Databases often contain multiple records and for the best results you need to know how best to search them. The library offers training sessions on database use, and provides guides. You are also welcome to ask the Faculty Librarian to assist you
Emerald eJournals Premier (on the Emerald Insight platform) is the most comprehensive, cross-disciplinary journal database, featuring the latest peer-reviewed, international research in both established and emerging areas of interest. Designed as the most unified content offering, eJournals Premier combines Management Database and Specialist Collections, providing the full breadth of Emerald’s high quality publishing from leading researchers around the world.
JSTOR is an online journal archive providing access to back issues of core scholarly journals in arts, humanities, business, social sciences, ecology, botany, language and literature. More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item.
Africa Commons: History and Culture is a comprehensive database for searching and discovering African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
Cambridge Journals Online provides full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Subject areas include African Studies, Agriculture, Anthropology, Biomedical Sciences, Business and Economics, History, Language and Linguistics, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Earth Sciences, Molecular Biology, Law, Politics and many others.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.
Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
- Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
- Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
- See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
- Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives. While many of the databases contain open access material there are specific open access data bases and repositories that you can access directly.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey N
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
