+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Organising academic research papers can be a daunting task during a research project. Various citation management tools and software are available, UWC Library offers training and support for the three listed below. Check with your supervisor if they have a preferred one they want you to use and what reference style you must use.
Reference management software takes away a lot of the tedious work of keeping track of references and sources, but please make sure that it is formatting and inserting your references correctly. All of the options listed here offer cloud storage so you do not need to worry about losing your records. There are many other features that you can make use of.
We have a guide to Reference Management Software to help you install and find training. Use this Link or click on the logos below.
Creative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by Citation Databases
UWC Library subscribes to Citation Databases, in addition to the Journal Databases. These Citation Databases help you to discover research journal articles and researchers, and show their citation information.
You can search the two Citation Databases below.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary publication and citation database covering almost 1.9 billion cited references from over 171 million records. It provides cover-to-cover indexing back to 1900 across the world’s highest-quality and most impactful publications.
UWC Research Repository is a service that stores, distributes and displays digital copies of research output of UWC faculty. Search across the entire collection or browse amongst the research communities associated with your faculties. Researchers register for an account and are given authorisation to deposit files to relevant collections.
When preparing data for sharing, researchers should consider the legal and ethical issues involved in sharing, especially where human subjects and personal subject information is involved (e.g. the POPI Act). These issues are dealt with extensively under Research Ethics Policies of the University.
Researchers can use any repository to store and publish their research data, although UWC’s institutional research data repository, Kikapu, is the preferred platform.
Please use this link for more information on the UWC research data repository.
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. re3data promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry has gone live in autumn 2012 and has been funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).
To help you understand some of our “library Language” the UWC library has created a multilingual online glossary, please check it out.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
