+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System, and Theology books are mainly located on level 8 of the main library on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
SUBJECT CATEGORY |
DDC NO. |
|---|---|
| Religion | 200 |
| Philosophy and theory of religion | 210 |
| The Bible | 220 |
| Christianity | 230 |
| Christian moral and devotional theology | 240 |
| Christian pastoral practice and religious orders | 250 |
|
Christian organisation, social work, worship |
260 |
| History of Christianity | 270 |
| Christian denominations and sects | 280 |
| Other religions | 290 |
We have recently added a few new book titles to our collection. Make sure to check this page regularly to discover fresh and exciting titles that have been added. Stay updated with the latest additions to our collection!
An Introduction to Theology in Africa and the Kpelelogical Foundations of Christian Theology by
In this book, African Christian theology is introduced as a Kpelelogical reflection about life in the context of Africa, which exists in the context of the cosmos. Kpelelogy is the ontological mode of being grasped by the agape of God in Christ by grace through faith in the power of the Holy Spirit. By this mode, African theology is introduced by way of a definition, a principle of paradox, and a description, as well as a critical view of the works of African theologians. It examines the issues of method, criteria, and sources of doing theology in Africa and introduces the method of Kpelelogy as an African theological method. This is explored further as a holistic theological method that is conscious of its being in existence, and its life in history, that is driven by faith in the triune God in a pneumatic experience that has been termed in this book as the Kpelelogical ontological mode. The book is ecumenical in view of its engagement with Christian tradition. It presents a Kpelelogical theology that is concretely African and universally Christian in the Okpelejen Wulormor--the cosmic Jesus Christ who is and was, but beyond the munus triplex (Priest, King and Prophet, threefold office of Jesus Christ) that is to come. Hence it is a theology which embraces elements of Reformed, Lutheran, Methodist, Pentecostal, Charismatic, Roman Catholic, and Eastern Orthodox theological insights in the African context.
T&T Clark Handbook of Pneumatology by
This handbook provides an interdisciplinary and diverse reference work to the Holy Spirit. Daniel Castelo and Kenneth M. Loyer gathered together a wide range of voices that are religiously, geographically, and ethnically diverse, bringing theology into conversation with biblical studies, ethics and morality, and global Christian studies.The T&T Clark Handbook of Pneumatology examines the Holy Spirit in a variety of sources, such as the Synoptic Gospels, the Catholic Epistles, the Old Testament, and the Hebrew Scriptures. It also includes chapters on key concepts in the field, such as mediation and sacramentality, ecology, and creation. This broad scope enables readers to appreciate how nuanced the field of Pneumatology is, and how it can be relevant for other Christian discourses.
Digital Humanities and Libraries and Archives in Religious Studies by
How are digital humanists drawing on libraries and archives to advance research and learning in the field of religious studies and theology? How can librarians and archivists make their collections accessible to digital humanists? The goal of this volume is to provide an overview of how religious and theological libraries and archives are supporting the nascent field of digital humanities in religious studies. The volume showcases the perspectives of faculty, librarians, archivists, and allied cultural heritage professionals who are drawing on primary and secondary sources in innovative ways to create digital humanities projects in theology and religious studies. Topics include curating collections as data, conducting stylometric analyses of religious texts, and teaching digital humanities at theological libraries. The shift to digital humanities promises closer collaborations between scholars, archivists, and librarians. The chapters in this volume constitute essential reading for those interested in the future of theological librarianship and of digital scholarship in the fields of religious studies and theology.
Reformed Public Theology by
The Reformed tradition in the twenty-first century is increasingly diverse, dynamic, and deeply engaged in a wide variety of global and public issues, from the arts and business to immigration and race to poetry and politics. This book brings together the insights of a diverse group of leading Reformed thinkers--including Nicholas Wolterstorff, Makoto Fujimura, Bruce Ashford, John Witvliet, Ruben Rosario Rodriguez, and James K. A. Smith--to offer a contemporary vision of the depth and diversity of the Reformed faith and its global public impact.
The following are prescribed textbooks for your subject. However, please note that it is essential to refer to your course outline or consult with your lecturer to ensure accuracy regarding the exact prescribed texts for your specific course or level of study.
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is the most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline. Under the guidance of Editor-in-Chief Hilary Callan - former director of the Royal Anthropological Institute (2000-2010) - and fourteen internationally-respected voices acting as Associate Editors, the Encyclopedia features contributions from a team of over 800 international scholars making this a work of unparalleled depth and breadth of knowledge. Over 1,000 entries, ranging from concise summaries to longer writings, present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world's most influential founding anthropologists. Organized alphabetically and written for both the specialist and the general reader, the Encyclopedia is a landmark reference resource for students and scholars engaged within the broad and dynamic field of anthropology, and those studying and working within the related disciplines of psychology, medicine, religious studies, and sociology. This work is also available as an online resource at www.encyclopediaofanthropology.com.
New Dictionary of Theology by
An Eternity 1988 Book of the Year!Since its publication, the New Dictionary of Theology has rapidly established itself as a standard, authoritative reference work in systematic and historical theology. More than 630 articles cover a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements:from creation to the millenniumfrom Abelard to Zwinglifrom Third World liberation theology to South African Dutch Reformed theologyFirmly anchored in the evangelical tradition, the NDOT is nevertheless wide-ranging in its scope. Over 200 contributors, experts in their individual fields, offer both Western and international perspective. Concise and comprehensive, biblically grounded and historically informed, even-handed and free from unduly technical language, this dictionary has been praised by general readers, pastors and scholars.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
