+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
How to Research by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
Introduction to Social Research by
`Valuable advice to the beginning (and the not so experienced) social researcher. It represents a valuable resource for those who are writing research proposals, for those at the start of their research projects, and also for those who are further along the research line′ - Sociological Research Online The social science researcher today needs to understand the logic of both the quantitative and qualitative approaches to empirical research. This book provides comprehensive coverage of both, set within a pragmatic view of research. It is an ideal starting point for all students and researchers in the social sciences, where you can learn about: · developing a model for empirical research · the logic of quantitative research - design, data collection, data analysis · the logic of qualitative research - design, data collection, data analysis · mixing the methods, evaluation and research writing
Designing Social Research by
This accessible text presents a comprehensive and integrated scheme for preparing research designs and proposals.
Case Study Research by
Case Study Research: Principles and Practices provides a general understanding of the case study method as well as specific tools for its successful implementation. These tools are applicable in a variety of fields including anthropology, business and management, communications, economics, education, medicine, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Topics include: a survey of case study approaches; a methodologically tractable definition of 'case study'; strategies for case selection, including random sampling and other algorithmic approaches; quantitative and qualitative modes of case study analysis; and problems of internal and external validity. The second edition of this core textbook is designed to be accessible to readers who are new to the subject and is thoroughly revised and updated, incorporating recent research, numerous up-to-date studies and comprehensive lecture slides.
Research Methods for Law by
Research Methods for Law introduces undergraduate and postgraduate students to available methods of research - legalistic, empirical, comparative and theoretical - drawing on actual research projects as examples. The book is written by a team of contributors with a broad range of teaching and research experience in law, criminal justice and socio-legal studies.Designed to serve as a handbook for research methods courses with its coverage of the principal research traditions, the book will also appeal to students of related disciplines who have an interest in legal issues including those from criminology, sociology, psychology, government, politics and social administration. The rich mix of general lessons, theoretical engagement and practical examples will be of real value to students.
Research Methods for Law by
Drawing on actual research projects, Research Methods for Law discusses how legal research as process impacts on research as product. The author team has a broad range of teaching and research experience in law, criminal justice and socio-legal studies, and give examples from real-life research products to illustrate the theory.
Writing your thesis by
Written in an authoritative and accessible style, this is a must-read for anyone planning, researching and writing a doctoral thesis or dissertation. I will certainly be recommending this book to my research students.'- Professor Goeffrey Elliott, University of Worcester'Paul's book was a lifeline during my doctorate: it is now the first book that I recommend for my research students! His book is easily accessible, full of practical advice, and provides useful study strategies to carefully guide you - this third edition is a valuable asset wherever you are on your doctoral journey.
Successful Research Projects by
Comprehensive and accessible, Successful Research Projects provides a practical, research-based framework to help examine practice, solve problems and plan research effectively. With key practical tips throughout, it draws on examples from across disciplines and across the world ensuring best practice for those completing projects in the fields of science, health care, social sciences, arts and humanities as well as multi-disciplinary projects. This book covers the key questions, challenges and solutions, exploring: Organising time efficiently Working effectively with colleagues Getting the best out of a supervisor and understanding what help is available Demonstrating good practice in academic writing Differences between research projects at undergraduate and postgraduate levels Staying motivatived and balanced in order to excel throughout the process Ways to use research to help career planning Providing the significant theories behind ways of managing projects, identifying important goals and solving problems, Successful Research Projects is the perfect companion for the busy student facing a postgraduate research project. This is the companion guide to the second edition of Successful Research Supervision, a research-based practical framework for academics to examine and develop their effectiveness as supervisors. It helps supervisors to move their students towards the ultimate goal of being able to study independently in a thoughtful, coherent and efficient manner and is a go-to guide for both novice and experienced supervisors seeking to develop their practice.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
