+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and [Insert Subject] books are mainly located on [Insert location i.e. level 10 of the main library] on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
SUBJECT CATEGORY |
DDC NO. |
|---|---|
The following are prescribed textbooks for your subject. However, please note that it is essential to refer to your course outline or consult with your lecturer to ensure accuracy regarding the exact prescribed texts for your specific course or level of study.
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
We have recently added a few new book titles to our collection. Make sure to check this page regularly to discover fresh and exciting titles that have been added. Stay updated with the latest additions to our collection!
80 Steps to sustainable success: UPBI Handbook on building a business
by
This book approaches the journey of the entrepreneur as a set of steps. We call them “activity steps”. Entrepreneurship is about action --- doing things. It is about getting engaged---not just dreaming but also doing. Each step the entrepreneur takes moves him or her towards a successful venture. Our focus is on the steps necessary to get the business to “sustainability”. Starting a business is simple and anyone can do it. The challenge is to start a business that is not only profitable, but where the profit is ongoing, or sustainable. Based on decades of working with entrepreneurs from all walks of life and all types of circumstances, we have found the most successful approach is to develop a business one step at a time. We have identified eighty steps to a sustainable business. Some of these are steps to take before you actually launch the business. Others are steps that are critical as you actually start the business and try to get a foothold in the market. And still others relate to moving the business to a point that it produces sustainable profits. Further, some are relatively simple and others are more complex. We believe that “progress begets progress”. As you take steps, it becomes easier to take additional steps. So, the essence of our philosophy is to help you take as many steps as possible, knowing that this will lead you to take a number of additional steps on your own. You need to get engaged. You need to be doing things. The question should be “how many steps am I trying to accomplish in the next thirty days”. Then, based on the progress you make, how many steps am I taking in the following thirty days. This is a pathway to sustainability. Our commitment is to help every person who want to take control of their live and create their own future. As a result, all profits from sales of this book are used to support new venture creation by low-income and disadvantaged entrepreneurs.
Business Analytics
by
This new textbook focuses on how data and analytics can be used to help inform organisational decision-making across the business by complementing human judgement. Taking a highly practical approach, it covers major use cases for analytics across different business areas, including marketing analytics, HR analytics, operational analytics and financial analytics. This concise and readable book grounds discussion in the fundamentals of data, analytics and data visualisation, and in an understanding of the legal and ethical responsibilities that come with working with data. Key features include: * Analytics in Practice vignettes show how data and analytics have been applied in real organisations * Video interviews with industry professionals bring examples to life * A running case study and accompanying dataset allow you to apply what you have learnt Suitable for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying business analytics. Mary Ellen Gordon is Senior Professional Teaching Fellow/Senior Lecturer in the School of Information Systems at the Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.
The business of freelancing : how to thrive as a freelancer
by
The COVID-19 era has shown us that the future of work is here. More projects and fewer budgets mean that selecting the right person for the right project is imperative to success. Companies - from large MNCs to SMEs - have less wiggle room than ever before. We believe creative freelancers will play a pivotal role in helping large corporations, SMEs, or start-up companies to manage their internal resources and enable the use of exceptional project-based talent that would otherwise not be economically feasible to bring on board. Most importantly, during times of uncertain market conditions, they enable businesses to maximise performance across peaks and troughs in demand. This book aims to bring about more awareness of the lesser known profession called 'freelancing' and generate the next wave of 'Future Leaders' with entrepreneurial and self-employed mindsets.
Financial management : principles and applications
by
This title is a Pearson Global Edition. The Editorial team at Pearson has worked closely with educators around the world to include content which is especially relevant to students outside the United States. Undergraduate courses incorporate finance and financial management. Develop and begin to apply financial principles. Students often struggle to see how financial concepts relate to their personal lives and prospective careers. Financial Management: Principles and Applications gives students a big picture perspective of finance and how it is important in their personal and professional lives. Utilizing five key principles, the 14th Global Edition provides an approachable introduction to financial decision-making, weaving in real-world issues to demonstrate the practical applications of critical financial concepts. Pearson MyLab Finance is not included. Students,if MyLab Finance is a recommended/mandatory component of the course, please ask your instructor for the correct ISBN. MyLab Finance should only be purchased when required by an instructor. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. Reach every student by pairing this text with MyLab Finance Pearson MyLab™ is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student.
Financial Management and Corporate Governance
by
This book provides an integrative perspective on financial management and corporate governance deployed in management decisions. It analyzes wide-ranging issues such as valuation, capital investment, capital structure, mergers and acquisitions, shareholder and stakeholder value management, and corporate governance structure. Throughout the analyses, the book provides a coherent view of firms, laws and markets, and offers practical financial modeling techniques to assist in financial decisions.This book also incorporates the latest developments in practice, such as direct listings and SPACs in capital markets, contractual arrangements in mergers and acquisitions, setting of corporate purpose, protection of minority investors in related party transactions, balancing of shareholder and stakeholder value from an ESG perspective, and the growing influence of activist funds, index investors and proxy advisors. It looks at these complex issues in firm management through the dual lens of asymmetric information and conflicts of interest that managers deal with, and gives coherency and clarity to the understanding of these key issues in management.
Handbook of Theories for Purchasing, Supply Chain and Management Research
by
Answering the strong call for theory application and development in purchasing and supply management (PSM) and supply chain literature, this Handbook is an essential reference that provides extensive guidance on which theories to apply, how to apply them, and when to build theory. Introductory chapters present the background of theory in PSM, providing a mapping of major types of theory to deliver guidance on appropriate theory application and when a new theory or mid-range theory development is required. Featuring more than 25 theories with relevance across management research, each chapter presents an excellent overview for beginning the exploration of a certain theory. The authors discuss assumptions about different theories such as agency theory, transaction cost, and game theory, and explore levels of analysis, unit of analysis, variables and relationships, as well as key research findings. In addition, chapters include lists of selected seminal literature for further reading. The Handbook will be a key reference for scholars in management and marketing fields, particularly empirical researchers in operations and management sciences.
.jpg)
Marketing
by
This introductory level textbook is for undergraduate students studying towards a BCom or BA qualification in departments of management, marketing or business management at universities. It is also suitable for students who are studying towards a national diploma in marketing at universities of technology. New to this edition: New chapter on digital marketing; Greater focus on product differentiation; A streamlined chapter on marketing communications; Updated content on the implementation of the marketing mix given contemporary developments such as the use of social media, growing digitisation of services such as financial services, mounting international competition and technological developments such as Blockchain and artificial intelligence; Updated contents which culminate in a chapter focused on the strategic marketing plan.
Marketing analytics : statistical tools for marketing and consumer behaviour using SPSS
by
Marketing Analytics provides guidelines in the application of statistics using SPSS for students and professionals studying quantitative methods in Marketing and Consumer Behaviour. With simple language and a practical, screenshot-led approach, the book presents eleven multivariate techniques and the steps required to perform analysis. Each chapter contains a brief description of the technique, followed by the possible marketing research applications. One of these applications is then used in detail to illustrate its applicability in a research context, including the needed SPSS commands and illustrations. Each chapter also includes practical exercises, which require the readers to perform the technique and interpret the results, equipping students with the necessary skills to apply statistics, by means of SPSS, in marketing and consumer research. Finally, there is a list of articles employing the technique, which can be used for further reading. This textbook provides introductory material for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students studying marketing and consumer analytics, teaching methods along with practical software-applied training using SPSS. Support material includes two real datasets to illustrate the techniques' applications and PowerPoint slides providing a step-by-step guide to the analysis and commented outcomes.
Project Management for Dummies - UK
by
Stay on track and within budget with this accessible guide to project planning Project Management For Dummies guides you to a thorough understanding of how to successfully manage projects--and the people who work on them--even if you're brand new to the project management field. You'll learn the basic concepts, key tips and tricks for making things go smoothly, and updated information relevant to today's UK business practices. Even if you aren't entering a project management role, you'll need to learn project planning skills to stay competitive in today's employment market. Now revised with fresh content on everything from a project's start to its finish, this friendly Dummies title will teach you to manage projects large and small. Learn the must-know concepts in project management Discover planning techniques that will enhance your effectiveness Manage projects with in-person or virtual teams Avoid common mistakes and know what to do when the unexpected happens This guide is excellent for anyone in a project management role, students with an eye toward a career in project management, and anyone who needs to organize and complete large tasks.
Services marketing : a contemporary approach
by
Services, whether online or offline, are important in modern economics in which the understanding is that we 'are all in services'. Service Marketing, a subset of the field of marketing, has evolved and developed a range of theories and models all focused on providing superior services offerings to today's market and the growing expectations of service delivery. New research provides additional contemporary insights into this dynamic and developing area. This text seeks to address the current research and its managerial implications in both online and offline services. It includes new case studies, integrating new research and new perspectives on the various aspects of services.
Strategic management of technological innovation
by
Melissa Schilling’s Strategic Management of Technological Innovation is the #1 innovation strategy text in the world. It approaches the subject of innovation management as a strategic process, and is organized to mirror the strategic management process used in most strategy textbooks, progressing from assessing the competitive dynamics of a situation to strategy formulation, to strategy implementation. While the book emphasizes practical applications and examples, it also provides systemic coverage of the existing research and footnotes to guide further reading. It is designed to be a primary text for courses in strategic management and innovation and new product development. It is written with the needs of both business students and engineering students.
Strategic marketing : theory and application for competitive advantage
by
Strategic Marketing third edition deals with the concept and formulation of strategic marketing through discussions on environmental analysis and the marketing processes that support the different levels of strategic decision-making in an organisation. The new edition focuses on the rational analytical processes that support marketing strategy, and applies and evaluates marketing concepts through both southern African and African case studies. The textbook deals with the creation of strategic marketing objectives, as well as the necessary theoretical approaches. The textbook is aimed at senior undergraduate degree or diploma students at universities and universities of technology.
Management theory and practice
by
With updated references, exam questions, annotated model answers and glossary, this text provides a comprehensive one-stop guide for all students of business and management studies at undergraduate and HND level.
Strategic management : towards sustainable strategies in Southern Africa
by
Strategic Management covers the key concepts of strategic management and shows how these concepts are integrated within the management environment, answering questions such as: How does one strategise in a management context? What competencies and capabilities do organisations need? How does one adopt a strategic approach towards making organisations sustainable? The book has been written in clear, accessible language and is suitable for senior undergraduate students, postgraduate students and those who are already employed. It provides theory and knowledge that can be applied to the work context to enable career growth and development.
Entrepreneurship Education: A South African perspective on supporting small-business development. Volumes 1 & 2
by
This 2-volume interdisciplinary set on entrepreneurship education aims to combine robust theoretical insights with real-world application. It highlights pragmatic solutions to challenges faced by small and micro enterprises such as access to finance, market-entry hurdles, and regulatory obstacles through contributions from scholars across Economics, Finance, Humanities, and Management disciplines.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
