Subject Guides: Xhosa: Databases

Databases?

What is a database?

A database is an organised collection of books, journals, reviews,

abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has

been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then

licensed for distribution in an online or electronic format.

Video Source: RMIT University

What is a Database?

Library & Information Science Databases

Journal article search box from the library homepage can be used for a quick search for journal articles on education. For more systematic searching and more comprehensive results it is recommended to use the library databases. Databases for Education are listed below.

Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Ebscohost Web This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost Web allows you to access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Some of the databases available via the EBSCOhost platform are multi-disciplinary, like "Academic Search Premier", for example.
OCLC First Search (with World Cat) This link opens in a new window
A valuable collection of resources for libraries of all types. UWC's access is inclusive of, but not limited to, the following databases within the platform:

ArticleFirst
Current and Completed Research
OAIster
OCLC ArticleFirst database
OCLC PapersFirst database
OCLC ProceedingsFirst database
PapersFirst
SA Theses (including Navtech and UCTD)
SACat
WorldCatWorldCat Dissertations and Theses
Sabinet African Journals (previously SA ePublications) This link opens in a new window
Available via Sabinet, this database provides full-text access to journals published in South Africa.

Sage Research Methods

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.

South African Portals

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is one of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) journals. Includes science, economics, computer science, law, mathematics and medicine.

Xhosa: Databases

Databases?

What is a Database?

Library & Information Science Databases

Open Access Database

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES