+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Genomics and World Health by
This report is intended to highlight the relevance of genomics (the study of genomes) for health care worldwide, with a particular focus on its potential for improving health in developing countries. The application of knowledge gained from the characterization of the genomes of several organisms, including the human genome, holds considerable potential for the development of new health care innovations over the coming decades. This new field, however, presents a series of highly complex scientific, economic, social and ethical issues, which must be taken into account if the genomic revolution is to benefit disadvantaged populations in the developing countries. In this regard, WHO has a special role to play in assisting its Member States to reap the full benefits from advances in genomics.
Getting Started in Health Research by
By the time you've read this book, you'll be ready to design your own research project Not everyone in clinical research is a scientific investigator. In fact, a large proportion of health professionals undertaking a research project are working in clinical care, as junior doctors, nurses or allied health professionals. For them a book that begins with the basics of study design and takes them through all the stages to data collection, analysis, and submission for publication is vital. Getting Started in Health Research is the answer. It provides fundamental information on: Framing the research question Performing the literature search Choosing the study design Collecting data Getting funding Recruiting participants Writing your paper Lively case studies provide a continuous narrative, addressing the pitfalls and problems that can occur. Calling upon their vast experience of teaching health research methodology, these authors have turned a seemingly daunting task into a challenging and enjoyable prospect. The companion of Understanding Clinical Papers www.wiley.com/buy/9780470091302 Reviews of Understanding Clinical Papers "...an excellent basis for all who intend to write scientific texts as well as those reading, evaluating, and trying to understand the results..." Clinical Chemistry, May 2007 "What makes this book unique is that each point presented is illustrated with excerpts from actual papers, often three or four per chapter...this is a very effective teaching device." Journal of the American Medical Association, December 26, 2006 "What strikes the reader ... straight away is clarity ... promises to become a recommended text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses." Journal of Tropical Pediatrics, September 2006 "This book should be an essential addition to the personal libraries of all health care workers . . . " Oncology, 2002
In Loeffler's Footsteps - Viral Genomics in the Era of High-Throughput Sequencing by
In Loeffler's Footsteps - Viral Genomics in the Era of High-Throughput Sequencing, Volume 99, the latest in the Advances in Virus Research series, contains new information on the topic, with chapters covering Loeffler 4.0 - diagnostic metagenomics, Detection of a novel orthobunyavirus by metagenomic analysis - the situation after five years, New Squirrel and Rodent Viruses Detected by NGS, Astroviridae - A Growing Family, New Leaves in the Growing Pestivirus Tree, New BTV Serotypes and no End?, and The recently discovered Bokeloh Bat Lyssavirus - Evidence for its continued transmission in Europe. First published in 1953, this series covers a diverse range of in-depth reviews, providing a valuable overview of the current field of virology. The series is a valuable resource for information on all topics of virus research, from bacteriophages to human viruses, with this volume focusing on genomics.
Medical Research and Development by
This book shares the experimental findings and views in current multidisciplinary medical science combining both basic and applied research aimed at resolving problematic health issues. The key topics address contagious diseases, in particular the epidemiology, clinical presentation, and management of influenza and influenza-like infections as well as brain tuberculosis. Pulmonary medicine is represented by articles addressing a range of practical issues, including the diagnosis, symptoms, comorbidities, and treatment of obstructive sleep apnea, a syndrome whose incidence shows a persistent upward trend worldwide. Other articles address the pathogenesis of air pollution toxicity and allergy and sensory irritation in toxic exposure studies. An intriguing relation of atopic dermatitis to depression and serotoninergic system is debated. The book attempts to integrate research into clinical work and to implement findings to improve care and to decrease suffering from diseases. It is dedicated to the practicing professionals, researchers, and all engaged in health care.
Medicinal Plant Biotechnology, 2 Volume Set by
This unique overview of plants and transgenic techniques of great scientific, medicinal and economic value for both industry and academia covers the whole spectrum from cell culture techniques, via genetic engineering and secondary product metabolism right up to the use of transgenic plants for the production of bioactive compounds. Practical examples are given throughout, including the production of cancer therapeutics, functional food, and flavor compounds in plants. Of particular interest to the pharmaceutical and biotechnological industries, as well as medicinal chemists, biochemists, and molecular biologists.
Microbial Biotechnology: Basic Research and Applications by
M​icrobial biotechnology is an important area that promotes advanced research into using microbes for value-added products, human nutrition, and the overall wellbeing of society. This book presents the latest information on the use of microbes for sustainable development, and highlights state-of-the-art biotechnological techniques used to harness microbial biotechnological traits on a commercial scale. Gathering contributions from authoritative researchers in the field, it addresses recent advances in microbial biotechnological approaches that offer sustainable options for future generations. Exploring a broad range of microbial products and their uses, the book specifically places emphasis on the application of microorganisms in healthcare, the environment and industry. It also discusses various compound classes derived from microbial metabolites. Pursuing a holistic approach to recent advances in the utilization of various microbes as biotechnological tools, the book also covers traditional uses, and explores emerging strategies to harness their full potential. Accordingly, it offers a valuable resource for researchers and graduate students alike.
Post-Genomic Approaches in Drug and Vaccine Development by
Over the past decade, genome sequencing projects and the associated efforts have facilitated the discovery of several novel disease targets and the approval of several innovative drugs. To further exploit this data for human health and disease, there is a need to understand the genome data itself in detail, discover novel targets, understand their role in physiological pathways and associated diseases, with the aim to translate these discoveries to clinical and preventive medicine. It is equally important to understand the labors and limitations in integrating clinical phenotypes with genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic and metabolomic approaches. T
Rice Research for Quality Improvement: Genomics and Genetic Engineering by
This book focuses on the conventional breeding approach, and on the latest high-throughput genomics tools and genetic engineering / biotechnological interventions used to improve rice quality. It is the first book to exclusively focus on rice as a major food crop and the application of genomics and genetic engineering approaches to achieve enhanced rice quality in terms of tolerance to various abiotic stresses, resistance to biotic stresses, herbicide resistance, nutritional value, photosynthetic performance, nitrogen use efficiency, and grain yield. The range of topics is quite broad and exhaustive, making the book an essential reference guide for researchers and scientists around the globe who are working in the field of rice genomics and biotechnology. In addition, it provides a road map for rice quality improvement that plant breeders and agriculturists can actively consult to achieve better crop production.
Citation Databases
UWC Library subscribes to Citation Databases, in addition to the Journal Databases. These Citation Databases help you to discover research journal articles and researchers, and show their citation information.
You can search the two Citation Databases below.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
- Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
- Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
- See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
- Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Kikapu is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
