Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LibKey & BrowZine at UWC

Information about using BrowZine and LibKey, tools available from Third Iron for reading and keeping up-to-date with scholarly literature.

What is LibKey?

LibKey is an API, or application programming interface, from Third Iron that integrate with the UWC's Library Management System to provide quick, one-click access to the full text of journal articles available to UWC users. Currently LibKey has four products available: LibKey Discovery, LibKey Nomad, LibKey Link, and LibKey.io.

While some of the features of LibKey utilize the BrowZine platform, it is not necessary to have a BrowZine account to take advantage of their functionality. Users may need to log in with their UWC Novel Credentials when connecting to the full text of articles.

LibKey Discovery & LibKey Link

With LibKey Discovery, users benefit from one-click access to content, being able to view the complete journal issue from where the discovered article is from, and seeing cover images from over 22,000 journals. 

LibKey Link delivers one-click access to millions of PDF and HTML articles from any database where your link resolver is used. Researchers searching database like Google Scholar or Web of Science will be clicking the usual link resolver button and getting immediately to content.

 

LibKey Discovery also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article so there is no need to search multiple places. When the full text is not available you will be provided with options to request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.

Getting Started

  1. Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser of choice. (Note: A user account is not required to use the extension.)
  2. Search for and select "University of the Western Cape" from the list of institutions.
  3. Look for the LibKey Nomad button to download PDFs on publisher websites, Wikipedia, PubMed, and more.

Publisher Websites

When browsing publisher and other web pages, LibKey Nomad provides a link to download the PDF of an article available through the UWC Library Services. 

PubMed

When searching PubMed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading a PDF, linking to an article, or additional access options, and you can view the cover images of the journals that articles appear in. LibKey Nomad also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication.

LibKey.io is a landing page where your researchers can connect to millions of library-subscribed and open access articles articles using a DOI or PMID.