+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. Level 8 of the library is where you will find Geography, Environmental Studies and Tourism books and print journals on the shelves. Currently we purchase mainly eBooks, which you can access via uKwazi.
The tabs on this page highlight three categories of books available: New Geography, Environmental Studies and Tourism Books, Reference Books and Textbooks.
You can search for books in the library using the uKwazi search box on the library home page, or the one above. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Diversity and Inclusion in Environmentalism by
This book discusses how to develop green transitions which benefit, include and respect marginalised social groups. Diversity and Inclusion in Environmentalism explores the challenge of taking into account issues of equity and justice in the green transformation and shows that ignoring these issues risks exacerbating the gap between the rich and the poor, the marginalised and included, and undermining widespread support for climate change mitigation. Expert contributors provide evidence and analysis in relation to the thinking and practice that has prevented us from building a broad base of people who are willing and able to take the action necessary to successfully overcome the current ecological crises. Providing examples from a wide range of marginalised and/or oppressed groups including women, disabled people, Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) people and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning and others (LGBTQ+) community, the authors demonstrate how the issues and concerns of these groups are often undervalued in environmental policy-making and environmental social movements. Overall, this book supports environmental academics and practitioners to choose and campaign for effective, equitable and widely supported environmental policy, thereby enabling a smoother transition to sustainability. This volume will be of great interest to students, scholars and practitioners of environmental justice, social and environmental policy, planning and environmental sociology.
Landscape Citizenships by
Landscape Citizenships, featuring work by academics from North America, Europe, and the Middle East, extends the growing body of thought and research in landscape democracy and landscape justice. Landscape, as a milieu of situated everyday practice in which people make places and places make people in an inextricable relation, is proving a powerful concept for conceiving of politics and citizenships as lived, dialogic, and emplaced. Grounded in discourses of ecological, environmental, watershed, and bioregional citizenships, this edited collection evaluates belonging through the idea of landscape as landship which describes substantive, mutually constitutive relations between people and place. With a strong international focus across 14 chapters, it delves into key topics such as marginalization, indigeneity, globalization, politics, and the environment, before finishing with an epilogue written by Kenneth R. Olwig. This volume will appeal to scholars and activists working in citizenship studies, migration, landscape studies, landscape architecture, ecocriticism, and the many disciplines which converge around these topics, from design to geography, anthropology, politics, and much more.
Remote Sensing of Protected Lands by
National parks, wildlife refuges and sanctuaries, natural reserves, conservation areas, frontier lands, and marine-protected areas are increasingly recognized as essential providers of ecosystem services and biological resources. As debates about climate change and sustainability intensify, protected areas become more important as indicators of eco
The Routledge Handbook of Mapping and Cartography by
This new Handbook unites cartographic theory and praxis with the principles of cartographic design and their application. It offers a critical appraisal of the current state of the art, science, and technology of map-making in a convenient and well-illustrated guide that will appeal to an international and multi-disciplinary audience. No single-volume work in the field is comparable in terms of its accessibility, currency, and scope. The Routledge Handbook of Mapping and Cartography draws on the wealth of new scholarship and practice in this emerging field, from the latest conceptual developments in mapping and advances in map-making technology to reflections on the role of maps in society. It brings together 43 engaging chapters on a diverse range of topics, including the history of cartography, map use and user issues, cartographic design, remote sensing, volunteered geographic information (VGI), and map art. The title's expert contributions are drawn from an international base of influential academics and leading practitioners, with a view to informing theoretical development and best practice. This new volume will provide the reader with an exceptionally wide-ranging introduction to mapping and cartography and aim to inspire further engagement within this dynamic and exciting field. The Routledge Handbook of Mapping and Cartography offers a unique reference point that will be of great interest and practical use to all map-makers and students of geographic information science, geography, cultural studies, and a range of related disciplines.
Empowering Teachers Through Environmental and Sustainability Education by
Empowering Teachers through Environmental and Sustainability Education draws inspiration from an empirical study exploring early career teachers' attempts at enacting Environmental and Sustainability Education (ESE) in their everyday teaching practices. It showcases how a confluence of personal, professional and environmental identities supports implementation of ESE. Additionally, this book discusses key concepts and issues surrounding ESE and the ways in which teachers may claim agency and power to create change in their classroom practices. Drawing from theoretical perspectives, such as Bourdieu's 'thinking tools' habitus and capital, theories of identity, and Foucault's concept of power and knowledge relations, this book explores how teachers negotiate policies, curriculum and institutional norms to further theoretical and practical understanding of ESE. The use of personal narratives offers new insights into teachers' agency in creating localised yet powerful change through small and meaningful actions. The purpose of this book, therefore, is to explore ways in which meaningful change can be made in educational settings through these small agentive and yet empowering steps. This book reveals that teachers can enact agency and navigate the power structures that exist within educational settings in order to make ESE meaningful within their classrooms.　
Geomythology by
Gold-guarding griffins, Cyclopes, killer lakes, man-eating birds, and "fire devils" from the sky--such wonders have long been dismissed as fictional. Now, thanks to the richly interdisciplinary field of geomythology, researchers are taking a second look. It turns out that these and similar tales, which originated in pre-literate societies, contain surprisingly accurate, pre-scientific intuitions about startling or catastrophic earth-based phenomena such as volcanoes, earthquakes, tsunamis, and the unearthing of bizarre animal bones. Geomythology: How Common Stories Reflect Earth Events provides an accessible, engaging overview of this hybrid discipline. The introductory chapter surveys geomythology's remarkable history and its core concepts, while the second and third chapters analyze the geomythical resonances of universal earth tales about dragons and giants. Chapter 4 narrows the focus to regional stories and discusses the ways these and other myths have influenced legends about griffins, Cyclopes, and other iconic creatures. The final chapter considers future avenues of research in geomythology, including geohazard management, geomythology databases, geomythical "cold cases," and ways the discipline might eventually set, rather than merely support, research agendas in science. Thus, the book constitutes a valuable asset for scientists and lay readers alike, particularly in a time of growing interest in monsters, massive climate change, and natural disasters.
Climate Change, the Fourth Industrial Revolution and Public Pedagogies by
Climate Change, The Fourth Industrial Revolution and Public Pedagogies: The Case for Ecosocialism uses public pedagogy as a theoretical lens to examine climate change emergency and presents a solution to the issue in ecosocialism. The book addresses the climate's relationship with capitalism and the role of activism in highlighting the climate change emergency. With respect to the Fourth Industrial Revolution, Cole assesses the pro-capitalist arguments that this revolution can be considered a progressive force and critiques them from a Marxist perspective. A case is made for ecosocialism, a form of socialism that is informed by feminism, inclusivity and real democracy. Ecosocialism, it is argued, can address climate change destruction and harness the potential fruits of the Fourth Industrial Revolution for the good of all. The book ends by addressing the other great threat to civilisation alongside climate change, with a postscript providing some final words of warning about the dual perils of climate change and nuclear warfare. This highly topical book will be of interest to scholars, postgraduate students and researchers, as well as to advanced undergraduate students in the fields of environmental studies, pedagogy, and sociology. It will also appeal to all readers who are concerned with the onward march of climate change destruction.
International Trade in Wildlife by
Originally published in 1979 International Trade in Wildlife is a product of the 1973 Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora conference, containing the full text of the CITIES convention. The volume outlines the animals and plants controlled by CITIES, and describes the protective policies put in place to protect endangered plants and animals. It gives a detailed background to the international traffic in monkey's, spotted cats, whales, ivory, parrots, tortoises, marine turtles, crocodiles, butterflies, sponges and rare orchids at the time of publication and acts as a comprehensive document on the conservation policies enacted through CITIES, as well as facts surrounding the decline of endangered species. Although published over 40 years ago, the document still offers a comprehensive and useful guide to conservation and will be an important historical document for environmental policy makers and conservationists alike.
Working with Map Projections by
A map projection fundamentally impacts the mapmaking process. Working with Map Projections: A Guide to Their Selection explains why, for any given map, there isn't a single "best" map projection. Selecting a projection is a matter of understanding the compromises and consequences of showing a 3-D space in two dimensions. The book presents a clear understanding of the processes necessary to make logical decisions on selecting an appropriate map projection for a given data set. The authors discuss the logic needed in the selection process, describe why certain decisions should be made, and explain the consequences of any inappropriate decision made during the selection process. This book also explains how the map projection will impact the map's ability to fulfill its purpose, uses real-world data sets as the basis for the selection of an appropriate map projection, and provides illustrations of an appropriately and inappropriately selected map projection for a given data set. The authors take a novel approach to discussing map projections by avoiding an extensive inventory of mathematical formulae and using only the mathematics of map projections that matter for many mapping tasks. They also present information that is directly applicable to the process of selecting map projections and not tied to a specific software package. Written by two leading experts, this book is an invaluable resource for anyone studying or working with geospatial data, from students to experienced professionals, and will help readers successfully weigh the pros and cons of choosing one projection over another to suit a map's intended purpose.
Beyond Recycling by
Beyond Recycling critically explores unasked questions around recycling and its prominent position in contemporary thinking about sustainability. It examines and challenges assumptions about why we appear to have so wholeheartedly committed to recycling as a cultural project. Recycling has become a commonplace notion and widespread practice. Yet its social, cultural and even environmental value has not been considered carefully enough. This book considers recycling as a contemporary cultural idea related to - but not wholly defined by - our response to material waste. It seeks to reclaim recycling from the environmentalists and waste management specialists, to explore the role it plays in wider contemporary discourse. As we become increasingly satiated, and in many cases sickened, by the excesses of modern consumerism, we are rethinking our relationship with the physical stuff that fills our lives. Dissatisfied with empty materialism, we seek new ways to reuse our material culture. Recycling, turning something considered to be waste into something with renewed value, is our primary collective response to the problems arising from consumption; and it is ripe for critical examination. Beyond Recycling is a fascinating read for conscious consumers and students in the creative arts, design, cultural studies, sustainability and environmental studies.
Tourism, Land Grabs and Displacement by
This book examines the global scope of tourism-related grabbing of land and other natural resources. Tourism is often presented as a peaceful and benevolent sector that brings people from different cultural backgrounds together and contributes to employment, poverty alleviation, and global sustainable development. This book sheds light on the lesser known and much darker side of tourism as it unfolds in the Global South. While there is no doubt that tourism has been an engine of economic growth for many so-called developing countries, this has often come at the cost of widespread dispossession and displacement of Indigenous and non-indigenous communities. In many countries of the Global South, tourism development is increasingly prioritised by governments, businesses, international financial institutions and donors over the legitimate land and resource rights of local people. This book examines the actors, drivers, mechanisms, discourses and impacts of tourism-related land grabbing and displacement, drawing on more than thirty case studies from Latin America and the Caribbean, sub-Saharan Africa, South and Southeast Asia, the Middle East and the Southwest Pacific. The book provides solid grounds for an informed debate on how different actors are responsible for the adverse impacts of tourism on land rights infringements, what forms of resistance have been deployed against tourism-related land grabs and displacement, and how those who have violated local land and resource rights can be held accountable. Tourism, Land Grabs and Displacement will be essential reading for students and scholars of land and resource grabbing, tourism studies, development studies and sustainable development more broadly, as well as policymakers and practitioners working in those fields.
Compact Oxford English Dictionary for Students by 
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Geography by
Exploring the dynamic growth, change, and complexity of qualitative research in human geography, The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Geography brings together leading scholars in the field to examine its history, assess the current state of the art, and project future directions. Moving beyond textbook rehearsals of standard issues, the Handbook shows how empirical details of qualitative research can be linked to the broader social, theoretical, political, and policy concerns of qualitative geographers and the communities within which they work. The book is organized into three sections: Part I: Openings engages the history of qualitative geography, and details the ways that research, and the researcher's place within it, are conceptualized within broader academic, political, and social currents. Part II: Encounters and Collaborations describes the different strategies of inquiry that qualitative geographers use, and the tools and techniques that address the challenges and queries that arise in the research process.Part III: Making Sense explores the issues and processes of interpretation, and the ways researchers communicate their results. Retrospective as well as prospective in its approach, this is geography's first peer-to-peer engagement with qualitative research detailing how to conceive, carry out and communicate qualitative research in the twenty-first century. Suitable for postgraduate students, academics, and practitioners alike, this is the methods resource for researchers in human geography.
A Dictionary of Geography by
With more than 6,400 entries on all aspects of human and physical geography, the latest edition of the classic Dictionary of Geography provides up-to-date coverage of a field as wide as the world itself. It ranges across cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development, and comprehensively treats fast-changing topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation. Readers will find entries on economic geography, recent developments in geopolitics, and the geography of finance as well as entries related to globalization and the anti-globalization movement, landscape restoration, the digital divide, and issues of governance. Feature panels offer in-depth information on such key areas as the history of geography, demographic transition, and central place theory. The Factfinder appendix, which provides key economic and population statistics for nearly forty countries, has been brought fully up to date. This edition also recommends web links, accessible on the Dictionary of Geography companion website.
Companion Encyclopedia of Geography by
The Companion Encyclopedia of Geography provides an authoritative and provocative source of reference for all those concerned with the earth and its people. Examining both physical and human geography and charting human activities within their habitat up to the present day, this Companion also asks what lies in the future: * A differentiated world * A world transformed by the growth of a global economy * The global scale of habitat modification * A world of questions * Changing worlds, changing geographies * Geographical futures. The forty-five self contained chapters are bound into a unifying whole by the editors' general and part introductions; each chapter provides details of the most useful sources of further reading and research, and the volume is concluded with a comprehensive index. This is an invaluable resource not only for students, teachers and researchers in the academic domain but also professionals in interested commercial and public-sector organisations.
A Guide to Countries of the World by
This A-Z guide provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry offers a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. For every country there is a map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. An appendix of indicator tables includes statistics on income and poverty, health and population and a second appendix features regional groupings, such as the EU and the African Union, with useful web links. Revised and fully updated, the Third Edition is ideal for students and teachers of geography, politics, economics, and world history, and it is a perfect home reference book. From major powers such as the United States or China, to hot spots such as North Korea or Iran, to little known nations such as Mayotte, Kiribati, or Nauru, this essential guide is the first place to turn for information on the world around us.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open-access books and helps users to find trusted open-access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open-access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.
eBook Open Access (OA) Collection (EBSCOhost) is a multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions. Search via EBSCO host's databases.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
