+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Research articles are mainly published in Research Journals, which are available in online. You can find, and access, suggested online Geography, Environmental Studies & Tourism journals on the Key Journals tab, above.
When conducting research, on a topic, It is better to search across many journals using a Journal Databases, some are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above.
You can take a look at the video below to find out how to search for research articles and books using uKwazi.
South African Geographical Journal
The South African Geographical Journal was founded in 1917 and is the flagship journal of the Society of South African Geographers. The journal aims at using southern Africa as a region from, and through, which to communicate geographic knowledge and to engage with issues and themes relevant to the discipline. The journal is a forum for papers of high academic quality and welcomes papers dealing with philosophical and methodological issues and topics of international scope that are significant for the region and the African continent.
South African Journal of Geomatics
The South African Journal of Geomatics (SAJG) publishes peer-reviewed original papers within the broad discipline of Geomatics (including surveying techniques, technology and applications, mine surveying, hydrographic surveying, cadastral systems, land tenure, development planning, GIS, photogrammetry and remote sensing). The journal is designed to serve as a source reference and archive of advancements in these disciplines. The focus is on papers relevant to the South African and African context but not restricted to these areas. This includes both technological developments as well as social adaptations appropriate to the needs of Geomatics in Africa.
The Electronic Green Journal (EGJ) is a peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to international environmental information.
Since its inception in July of 1994, the EGJ is one of the first peer-reviewed environmental on-line journals promoting an open access publishing model. Today the EGJ is following diamond open access model - authors are not paying any fees.
EGJ is sponsored by the UCLA Charles E. Young Research Library and hosted on the eScholarship. eScholarship is powered by the Publishing Group of the California Digital Library and provides open access scholarly publishing services to the University of California.
The Solutions Journal, the world’s only media platform dedicated to empowering the people doing the work of environmental sustainability by connecting them with the solutions they need to succeed. We are committed to providing proven solutions and actionable next steps to our readers through a wide variety of mediums, from viral videos and podcasts, to printed copies of our quarterly journal. Whether you are a doctor of environmental biology, a student of environmental science, a civil servant, an institutional leader, or a civilian simply curious about doing your part for a sustainable future, Solutions is your best source for engaging and accessible content with cross-sector insights.
The Journal of Environmental Statistics
The Journal of Environmental Statistics' purpose is to contribute to the development of statistical techniques aimed at addressing questions related to environmental data. In particular, we encourage papers devoted to the development of computational methods and models for spatial and spatial-temporal data, especially point process and geostatistical data. Of special interest also is the incorporation of geographic information systems software. Important areas of application include environmental disturbances such as earthquakes, wildfires, hurricanes, and volcanic eruptions, as well as problems relating to air pollution, climate change, water quality, mining, oceanography, geology, and meteorology. Emphasis is on applied statistics and it is expected that published papers will be of practical use for researchers working in the environmental sciences.
Area publishes concise high quality papers and commentaries that shape key debates within and beyond the discipline of geography
Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.
SAGE Journals Online prestigious and highly cited journals are available electronically on the award-winning SAGE Journals Online platform. Search across 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
EbscoHost Greenfile is a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns provided by EBSCO Publishing.
JSTOR is an online journal archive providing access to back issues of core scholarly journals in arts, humanities, business, social sciences, ecology, botany, language and literature. More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey N
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
