Subject Guides: Language and Literacies Education: Internet Resources

Useful External Websites

Here is a compilation of valuable open access websites that you can freely utilise for your research and information needs. These external resources provide access to a wide range of content without any subscription or paywall restrictions.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open-access books and helps users to find trusted open-access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Open Access Publishing in European Netwroks (OAPEN)

OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open-access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.

eBook Open Access (OA) Collection (EBSCOhost) is a multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions. Search via EBSCO host's databases.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes approximately 6,357,752 theses and dissertations, completely free to use.

Directory of Open Access Repository

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

OER Commons

OER commons are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission.

OpenStax

Review the OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course.
Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, 100% free, and backed by additional learning resources.

Here is a list of professional association websites that are highly valuable for this field of study. These websites serve as excellent resources for you to consult whenever necessary, offering industry insights, networking opportunities, and access to relevant publications and resources.

South African Council for Educators (SACE)
SACE is the professional council for educators, that aims to enhance the status of the teaching profession through appropriate Registration, management of Professional Development and inculcation of a Code of Ethics for all educators.

Here is a compilation of government and non-government websites that are highly relevant to your field of study. These websites provide valuable information, resources, and updates on policies, regulations, research findings, and initiatives related to the field.

National Department of Basic Education
Here you will find information on, amongst others, the Curriculum Whether you are a learner looking for study guides, a parent/guardian wanting a school for your child, a new teacher seeking employment or a researcher looking for education policies, we’ve taken great care to ensure that you can easily access the information on the website. Should you, however, not find what you’re looking for please send an email to info@dbe.gov.za and we will gladly assist.
South African Government

Mail & Guardian Online

In-depth Education News from a South African perspective. Report on policies, schools and universities

Department of Basic Education

South African National Department of Basic Education

Education Week

A weekly newspaper devoted to education. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools.

Huffington Post: Literacy

Includes blogs, news, and community conversations about Literacy.

Literacy Today

Highlights International Literacy Association members' accomplishments, shares instructional ideas, and reports on hot topics in the field.

Reading Rockets Newsletters

Sign up to receive news and information about reading, writing, learning disabilities, children's books and authors, and national education issues.

Scholastic Teacher

A scholastic magazine of instructor's professional outlook, reporting and ideas.

Science Daily: Literacy News

Popular science news web site is updated several times a day with breaking news and feature articles, seven days a week.

Education | Statistics South Africa
South African Education Reports
Reports - Department of Basic Education
Reports compiled by the S.A. Department of Basic Education
Landscape Report on Early Grade Literacy
Millions of children across the world are unable to read a single word even after up to four years of schooling. The goal of this landscape report is to review and summarize available empirical evidence on early grade literacy acquisition and instruction in developing countries.
Language and Literacy Preschool Curriculum Consumer Report
This report provides information and guidance for Head Start programs as they select curricula based on the strengths and needs of their participating children and teachers. The curricula reviewed in this report were rated for their implementation in center-based programs, and each includes elements designed to strengthen the teaching and learning of children’s language and literacy skills.
Retooling Literacy Education for the 21st Century
In this policy report, the authors begin by framing the need for a focused, national effort to achieve universal, advanced reading literacy, arguing that it is an issue of equity as well as individual and national prosperity.
Special Report on Early Literacy
Takes a wide-ranging look at new efforts to address the challenges of early-grades reading instruction.
Standards for Middle and High School Literacy Coaches
Blueprint for literacy coaches, policymakers, school and district administrators, and teacher educators, in the hope that it will help support and develop coaching in ways that will most benefit adolescent learners.
LANGUAGE AND LITERACY PRESCHOOL CURRICULUM CONSUMER REPORT
This report provides information and guidance for Head Start programs as they select curricula based on the strengths and needs of their participating children and teachers.
Frameworks for Literacy Education Reform
ILA offers four frameworks for developing and evaluating literacy education reforms, each focused on a specific component of the education sector: literacy teaching and teachers, schools and schooling, student support, families and community.

Digital Citizen Plus - ICDL South Africa
Digital Citizen Plus is specially developed as an introduction to the ICDL Basic Modules, to cater for candidates who have very little experience of computers and the Internet.
African Digital Rights Network
The African Digital Rights Network brings together more than fifty activists, researchers, journalists, and policymakers from 20 African countries who are working on digital rights in Africa.
Digital Citizenship
Digital Citizenship is a concept which helps teachers, technology leaders and parents to understand what students/children/technology users should know to use technology appropriately.
Digital Citizenship (NSW Education & Training)
Essential information for students, teachers and parents about digital citizenship and being safe, positive and responsible online. Source: Digital Citizenship website.
Digital Practice Guide
Designed for Education support staff to reflect on the ways in which they engage with students working digitally.
Educational Origami
Andrew Church's 'Educational Origami' is a blog , and a wiki, about 21st Century Learning and 21st Century Teaching.

Language and Literacies Education

Ask your Librarian!

Useful External Websites

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES