+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Key Textbooks (Short Loan Books) and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi.
| 611 | Human anatomy |
| 612 | Human physiology |
| 612.044 | Exercise physiology |
| 612.39 | Human metabolism |
| 612.76 | Biomechanics and kinesiology |
| 613.2 | Dietetics and composition of foods |
| 613.2024 | Sports nutrition |
| 613.7 | Physical fitness |
| 613.711 | Sports training and conditioning |
| 617.1027 | Sports injury and sports medicine |
| 796.01 | Sport psychology |
| 796.072 | Research methods in sport |
| 796.077 | Sports coaching |
Berne and Levy Physiology by
Berne & Levy Physiology has long been respected for its scientifically rigorous approach - one that leads to an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. The long-awaited 7th Edition by Drs. Bruce M. Koeppen and Bruce A. Stanton, continues this tradition of excellence. With integrated coverage of biophysics and neurophysiology, key experimental observations and examples, and full-color design and artwork, this mid-size text is "just right" for a strong understanding of this complex field. An organ system-based approach clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function. Key experimental observations and examples provide a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Student Consult access allows you to view the complete contents of the book online, anywhere you go, perform quick searches, tap into relevant bonus content from other Student Consult titles, test your understanding with USMLE-style review questions, add your own notes and bookmarks, and much more. More "In the Clinic" and "At the Molecular Level" boxes help readers better understand and apply what they've learned. New coverage includes expanded discussions of gut and lung microbiota,; the limbic system; the hypthalamus and control of food intake; cardiac and vascular function curves during exercise; new aspects of lipid absorption; GI and metabolic consequences of bariatric surgery, the role of innate lymphoid cells in defense of the respiratory system, molecular mechanisms in normal and pathological muscle contraction; arterial pulse changes with age and the ankle-brachial index; regulation of the blood-brain barrier and cerebral blood flow; the regulation of phosphate; and thyroid hormone mechanism of action. Each chapter begins with an all-new bulleted list of questions and ends with key concepts covered in that chapter.
Routledge Handbook of Talent Identification and Development in Sport by
Identifying athletic talent and developing that talent to its full potential is a central concern in sport. Understanding talent identification and its implications for both positive and negative developmental outcomes is crucial to sporting success. This is the first comprehensive resource for scientists, researchers, students, coaches, analysts and policymakers looking to improve their knowledge of the talent identification and development process. With contributions from leading researchers and practitioners, this book offers a complete overview of contemporary talent identification and development from in-depth discussion of methodological and philosophical issues through to practical applications. Adopting an international and multi-disciplinary approach, it addresses all key aspects of the talent identification and development process, including skill acquisition and motor learning, psychological factors and family influences, creating optimal environments for performance, and dealing with injury and rehabilitation. Presenting an unrivalled wealth of research, the Routledge Handbook of Talent Identification and Development in Sport is an essential resource for any undergraduate or postgraduate degree course in sport studies, sport science, sport coaching or sport management, as well as for sport policymakers, analysts and coaches.
Nutrition for Sport, Exercise and Performance by
Nutrition before, during and after training or a sporting event can improve the comfort, energy and performance of athletes of all levels, from elite to recreational, as well as providing long-term health benefits. Nutrition for Sport, Exercise and Performance offers a clear, practical and accessible guide to the fundamentals of sport and exercise nutrition. The expert authors begin by explaining key principles, including understanding energy systems, exercise physiology and metabolism. They cover the basics of digestion, absorption and nutrition; examine the key macronutrients and micronutrients essential for performance; and discuss the process of dietary assessment. Part 2 goes on to explore in detail nutrition for pre- and post-training, hydration, the use of supplements and body composition, and provides guidance on developing plans for both individual athletes and teams. The final component examines specific nutrition issues and special needs, including working with elite athletes, strength-and-power athletes, young, older and disabled athletes, endurance sports, GI disturbances and rehabilitation issues. Cultural issues are also explored, including diets for vegan and vegetarian athletes, and religious perspectives and requirements. Featuring contributions from a range of sport and exercise nutrition professionals and including practical diet plans, diagrams and the latest research and evidence throughout, this is a core reference for undergraduates, nutritionists and trainers.
Sports Biomechanics by
Human beings are the 'all-rounders' of the natural world - while they aren't naturally the quickest, biggest or strongest creatures, they can achieve more amazing physical feats than any other animal. Nowhere is this ability more pronounced than in sporting performance, the ideal area for studying the mechanics of a human - our biomechanics. But all too often the study of sports biomechanics can become bogged down in pure mathematics, tables and graphs that bear little resemblance to what you see on the field of play. In this comprehensively revised third edition of bestselling Sports Biomechanics, Professor Anthony Blazevich answers real-world questions using easily accessible language and fully updated, clear and concise diagrams. Each chapter is devoted to a single area of the subject and details scientific underpinnings of sports performance; this edition features a new chapter on human gait (walking and running) as well as new information on the latest topics in sport biomechanics. An absolutely essential resource for any student, athlete or fitness professional involved in the field of sports biomechanics.
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
The latest edition of the best-selling sport and exercise psychology book on the market, Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Fifth Edition, provides a thorough introduction to the key concepts in the field. Written by internationally respected authors, it provides students and new practitioners with a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, bridges the gap between research and practice, conveys principles of professional practice, and captures the excitement of the world of sport and exercise. A supreme effort has been made to meet the increasing needs of professors, practitioners, and students. To further improve the total learning experience, the fifth edition features the following: - A streamlined online study guide that provides an interactive learning experience for students - A new full-color format that visually engages students in the information - An emphasis on the educational journey that students take through the field of sport and exercise psychology, helping them envision where they can be most successful in the field - Thoroughly updated material that reflects the latest research and practice to keep readers aware of recent findings and hot topics in the field - New sidebars with contemporary practical examples, case studies, and anecdotes to help students understand various theories and concepts Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Fifth Edition, provides students with a unique learning experience, taking them on a journey through the origins and goals, key concepts, research development, and career options available in the field. The book contains seven parts that may be studied in any sequence. Part I introduces students to the field, detailing its history, current status, and the various roles of sport and exercise psychologists. Part II focuses on personal factors that affect performance and psychological development in sport, physical education, and exercise settings. In part III, the authors focus on two major classes of situational factors that influence behavior: competition and cooperation, and feedback and reinforcement. Part IV focuses on group interaction and processes, while part V discusses how psychological techniques may be used to help people perform more effectively. Part VI addresses the various roles psychological factors play in health and exercise. The final section, part VII, deals with topics of psychological development and well-being that are important to both society and sport and exercise psychology, including children's psychological development through sport participation, aggression in sport, and moral development and good sporting behavior in sport and physical activity contexts. The online study guide allows the subject of sport psychology to come alive to its users. The study guide works directly with the text; mentions of the study guide appear throughout each chapter to encourage students to apply knowledge gained from the text. This online study guide features several individual and small-group learning activities that may be completed electronically and saved as an .rtf file. This new format allows instructors to choose whether they would like students to complete the activities for personal use, print and hand them in as assignments, or submit them for assessment as an e-mail attachment or through a learning management system. The study guide activities require students to do the following: - Use actual sport and exercise psychology instruments to assess their skills - Determine how to respond to real-life scenarios (with short answers or essays) - Review and design research studies and experiments - Search the Internet for relevant information - Apply and test their understanding of principles and concepts of sport and exercise psychology Audio and video c
Fundamentals of anatomy & physiology by
This title helps students succeed in the challenging A&P course with an easy-to-understand narrative, precise visuals, and steadfast accuracy. With the eleventh edition, the author team draws from recent research exploring how students use and digest visual information to help students use art more effectively to learn anatomy and physiology.
South African Encyclopedia of Sport by
This title is a collection of information on probably every sport that has been played in South Africa. It brings us the rules, the method of play, the specifications and layout of playing area of a multitude of sport.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
