+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
A database is an organised collection of books, journals, reviews, abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then licensed for distribution in an online or electronic format.
These are the core databases, which the library subscribes to for your research needs:
Cambridge Journals Online provides full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Subject areas include African Studies, Agriculture, Anthropology, Biomedical Sciences, Business and Economics, History, Language and Linguistics, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Earth Sciences, Molecular Biology, Law, Politics and many others.
"My LexisNexis" offers full text, South African, legal and commercial information for students and lecturers. Users can access major law reference works, indexes, law reports, individual acts, statutes, practitioners manuals and textbooks. Subjects include labour law, financial planning and markets, income tax (includes Silke on South African Income Tax), intellectual property, payroll, pension funds, taxation of employees and VAT.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,516,341 theses and dissertations.
EbscoHost Web allows you to access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Some of the databases available via the EBSCOhost platform are multi-disciplinary, like "Academic Search Premier", for example.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Tax Alert Access to a wealth of pertinent and comprehensive tax and financial information on the Internet. Content includes legislation, summaries/notes on relevant legislative amendments, practice notes, instant access to the latest practice developments and concise summaries of the latest reported tax cases. Obtain the access codes from your Faculty Librarian. Upon entering the site click on My LexisNexis Login in the top menu. Click on Tax in the left navigation bar.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
