+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Ebooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and School of Government / Public Adminsitration books are mainly located on level 7 of the main library at the below subject categories and DDC numbers. Prescribed textbooks are kept at the short loans circulation desk on level 5.
| SUBJECT CATEGORY |
DDC NO. |
| Public administration | 350 |
| Public administration of central government | 351 |
| Public administration - Research | 351.072 |
| Public administration - South Africa | 351.0968 |
| Local government | 352 |
| Local government - South Africa | 352.068 |
| Politics and government - South Africa | 354.68 |
We have recently added a few new book titles to our collection. Make sure to check this page regularly to discover fresh and exciting titles that have been added. Stay updated with the latest additions to our collection!
Contemporary customary land issues in Africa : navigating the contours of change by
This book examines current trends in customary land issues in Africa, focusing on the practice of converting customary land into leasehold tenure, particularly in Zambia. Since the enactment of the 1995 Lands Act No. 29 in Zambia, conversion of customary land has become a controversial policy, raising questions about the future of customary land and rural communities, and the role of traditional authorities in a changing environment. Alienating customary land into leasehold tenure has serious implications for local and national politics and gender dynamics. Analysis of these trends suggests that the policy of creating land markets on customary land is subjecting customary systems to the forces of change. However, governments that have adopted this policy have not, by and large, adopted measures to respond to these challenges. Although customary tenure is widely believed to be resilient, it is not clear how the customary system will navigate the current winds of change.Chapters in this book draw from the Land Use and Rural Livelihoods in Africa Project (LURLAP), a collaborative research project undertaken by staff and students at the University of Cape Town and the University of Zambia.
Land, the State and the Unfinished Decolonisation Project in Africa Essays in Honour of Professor Sam Moyo by
This book focuses on the work of one of the leading African scholars on the land question and agrarian transformation in Africa--Sam Moyo. It offers a critical discussion, in conversation with Sam Moyo, of the land question and the response of African states. Since independence, African states have been trying to address the colonial legacy on land policy and governance. After six decades of formulating and implementing land reforms, most countries have not succeeded in decolonising approaches to land policy and the administrative framework. The book brings together the broader debates on the implications of decolonisation of Africa's land policy. Through case studies from several African countries, the book offers an empirical analysis on land reforms and the emerging land relations, and how these affect land allocation and use, including agricultural production. Most of the chapters discuss how the unresolved land question in post-colonial Africa impacts on agricultural production and rural development broadly. The failure to decolonise colonial land policy and the imported tenure systems has left post-colonial African states dancing to two tunes, resulting in schizophrenic land and agrarian policies. The book demonstrates that the failure by African states to reconcile imported and indigenous land tenure systems and practices is evident in the deliberate denigration of customary tenure. It is also evident in the rising land inequality and the neglect of the agricultural sector, the small-scale and subsistence sub-sectors in particular.
From African Peer Review Mechanisms to African Queer Review Mechanisms? by
Tracing recent bouts of globalised Mugabephobia to Robert Mugabe's refusal to be neoimperially penetrated, this book juxtaposes economic liberalisation with the mounting liberalisation of African orifices. Reading land repossession and economic structural adjustment programmes together with what they call neoimperial structural adjustment of African orifices, the authors argue that there has been liberalisation of African orifices in a context where Africans are ironically prevented from repossessing their material resources. Juxtaposing recent bouts of Mugabephobia with discourses on homophobia, the book asks why empire prefers liberalising African orifices rather than attending to African demands for restitution, restoration and reparations. Noting that empire opposes African sovereignty, autonomy, and centralisation of power while paradoxically promoting transnational corporations' centralisation of power over African economies, the book challenges contemporary discourses about shared sovereignty, distributed governance, heterarchy, heteronomy and onticology. Arguing that colonialists similarly denied Africans of their human essence, the tome problematises queer sexualities, homosexuality, ecosexuality, cybersexuality and humanoid robotic sexuality all of which complicate supposedly fundamental distinctions between human beings and animals and machines. Provocatively questioning queer sexuality and liberalised orifices that serve to divert African attention from the more serious unfinished business of repossessing material resources, the book insightfully compares Robert Gabriel Mugabe, Thomas Sankara and Julius Kambarage Nyerere who emphasised the imperatives of African autonomy, ownership, control and sovereignty over natural resources. Observing Africans' interest in repossessing ownership and control over their resources, the book wonders why so much, queer, international attention is focused on foisting queer sexuality while downplaying more burning issues of resource repossession, human dignity, equality and equity craved by Africans for whom life is not confined to sexuality. With insights for scholars in sociology, development studies, law, politics, African studies, anthropology, transformation, decolonisation and decoloniality, the book argues that liberal democracy is a façade in a world that is actually ruled through criminocracy.
A Research Agenda for Public Administration by
Elgar Research Agendasoutline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. In order to be successful, public administration (PA) research has to be methodologically promiscuous. Attempting either quantitative or qualitative purity is no way to reflect the complex realities of public administration in the real world. Looking to the future of the subject, this Research Handbook seeks to suggest the future of PA research, and the directions which it may - or should - take. With chapters from leading researchers, A Research Agenda for Public Administrationoffers observations, analysis, and concerns from researchers. With thematically linked chapters, this book focuses and clarifies the current research agenda for public administration while endorsing the need for relevant research in the field, and advocating for theory which fits the reality and practice of public administration, for example, in the areas of climate change, disease control, and migration and inequality. This Research Agendawill assist students of PA as well as of public sector management, especially postgraduates, but it is also a useful resource for more established researchers seeking to understand the major emerging issues. Contributors include: T. Brandsen, G. Brewer, W. Dreschsler, P. Dunleavy, C.A. Dunlop, M. Evans, M. Halupka, S. Kuhlman, T.R. Liiv, A. Massey, C. McGregor, K. Pan-Suk, C. Pollitt, C.M. Radaelli, T. Randma-Liiv, R. Rhodes, K. Sarapuu, T. Steen, B. Verschuere, D. Walker, L. Zhiyong
Research Handbook on Street-Level Bureaucracy by
Street-level bureaucracy concerns a vital part of the ways in which public policy programmes are implemented, particularly through the relationship between public officials and individual citizens. Addressing the state of the art and providing a systematic exploration of the theoretical and methodological issues at stake, this Research Handbookis a crucial contribution to the analysis of public policy from the perspective of the ground floor of government. The Research Handbookcovers theoretical themes in current research such as institutional theory, social inequality, national culture, discrimination and representation, digitalization, and accountability. Analysing the role of teachers, police officers and other street-level bureaucrats, chapters explore how these individuals implement policies through their daily contact with citizens. Further sections investigate the methodological tools for research, as well as the future challenges facing the area. Peter Hupe concludes with lessons for the study of street-level bureaucracy and a significant research agenda for the topic. Essential reading for researchers and students of politics, government, public administration, public management, public policy and social policy, the Research Handbook on Street-Level Bureaucracy is the defining reference for understanding public policy in action in everyday life.
The following are prescribed textbooks for your subject. However, please note that it is essential to refer to your course outline or consult with your lecturer to ensure accuracy regarding the exact prescribed texts for your specific course or level of study.
To be added in due course!
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by
This text provides A-Z entries on critical concepts, personalities, events and topics in public administration. It is aimed at students of political science, government and civics as well as a general audience desiring basic knowledge of public administration.
Public Administration Dictionary by
Most first-year courses in public administration include debate on terminological issues. This dictionary aims to provide students, lecturers and practitioners with a resource manual for their dealings with the broad field of Public Administration. It also includes terminology for sub-disciplinary areas such as human resource management, information management and politics.
Public administration glossary by
This glossary contains English and Afrikaans words and terms commonly used by politicians, officials in the civil service, and members of the public administration. Terms and words are explained briefly in English to make them understandable in official as well as everyday usage.
Public Administration Research Guide by 
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
