+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System, and African Language related books are mainly located on level 8 of the main library on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
SUBJECT CATEGORY |
DDC NO. |
|---|---|
| African Languages | 496 |
| Khoisan languages | 496.3 |
| Bantu Languages | 496.5 |
| Nguni Languages | 496.51 |
| isiXhosa | 496.510968 |
| isiZulu | 496.5109687 |
| Sotho Languages | 496.56 |
| Afro-Asiatic languages | 496.6 |
| Other African languages | 496.9 |
|
African literatures |
896 |
Buzani kubawo Tamsanqa
by
A drama about love and conflicts that arise when traditional expectations clash with changing values.
Inene nasi isibhozo
by
Inene nasi isibhozo is a play in isiXhosa by Amos Mtingane.
Ingqumbo yeminyanya
by
The story takes place in the outskirts of the Eastern Cape Province, South Africa and centres around Zwelinzima, a young Mpondomise prince who reluctantly leaves the University College of Fort Hare before completing even one semester and goes back to the land of his ancestors to take his place as king of the Mpondomise. Conflict arises as his ideas prove to be too advanced for the traditionalists he has to lead.
An introduction to Xhosa phonetics
by
William Wellington Gqoba
by
William Wellington Gqoba (1840-1888) was a multifaceted African intellectual from Eastern Cape, South Africa, notable for his roles as a wagon maker, preacher, teacher, historian, poet, folklorist, and editor. He served at mission stations and ended his career editing the newspaper Isigidimi sama-Xosa, where he published critical poetry against Western education and European administration. Gqoba was a key figure in Xhosa literature, authoring diverse works including the longest poems in the Xhosa language. This book collects and translates his writings, offering insights into an African nation adapting to Western influences while affirming its identity and resisting colonial control.
Xhosa Literature
by
Xhosa Literature is a collection of fourteen essays exploring Xhosa literature across spoken word, newspapers, and books. It addresses overlooked contributions of newspapers to Xhosa literature, discussing historical narratives, praise poetry, and key works such as Mqhayi's "U-Samson" and Jordan's "Ingqumbo yeminyanya." Essays also cover the first poem praising Nelson Mandela, the role of the press in the 19th century, and the poetry of Nontsizi Mgqwetho and S.E.K. Mqhayi. The volume concludes with an analysis of David Yali-Manisi's poetic contributions.
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
ImiGaqo-ntetho yesiXhosa
by
Nakuba ndingumdali wolwazi, ndivunyelwe kuphela ukubonelela ukutolika okulula kwixesha elifutshane kwaye ndicela uxolelo kuba andikwazi ukubonelela ngotoliko olupheleleyo lolu lwesicatshulwa senziwe phezu. Apha ngezantsi kukho uhlanganiso mfutshane wesiXhosa:
Le ncwadi inikeza isikhokelo esibanzi kulwimi lwesiXhosa, iqala ngezandi kunye nendlela ezifunda ngayo kwiCandelo loku-1. ICandelo loku-2 lichaza ukwenziwa kwentetho kunye nentsingiselo yamabinzana. Ihlulwe yaba ngamasebe ahlukeneyo, iqala namabinzana (Icandelo loku-1), kubandakanya iintlobo zamabinzana kunye namabinzana adibanayo. Ingxoxo iya kumaqhalo (Icandelo loku-2) kwaye ibandakanya zombini ukusetyenziswa kwawo kunye nezichazi ezinxulumeneyo. Amasebe alandelayo ahlola ulwimi olusenzisiweyo kunye nokuthethwayo (Icandelo loku-3) kwaye agqibe ngenkcazelo yeentetho ezifanayo (Icandelo loku-4). Ngala masebe, le ncwadi ifundisisa isakhiwo kunye neempawu zolwimi lwesiXhosa.
Ndiyavuyisana nawe, kwaye ndincoma umnqweno wakho wokufunda isiXhosa! Ukuba ufuna utoliko olupheleleyo, ndicela uqwalasele ukufumana umtoliki ophilayo okanye isixhobo sokutolika esiqeqeshiweyo. Enkosi!
The concise trilingual pocket dictionary : English, Xhosa, Afrikaans
by
Trilingual Pocket Dictionary English/Xhosa/Afrikaans
Xhosa Poets and Poetry
by
The Xhosa-speaking peoples who settled along the south-eastern seaboard of South Africa promoted traditions of praise poetry (izibongo), poetry produced orally about people, clans, ancestors, and animals. Throughout the nineteenth century, authors who used the Xhosa language gradually developed the craft of composing poetry for publication in newspapers, and expanded this process in the twentieth century. The dominant poet in the community is the imbongi, who continues to produce poetry praising or criticising figures of authority on occasions of local and national significance. "Xhosa Poets and Poetry" contains fourteen essays originally published between 1974 and 1996. Based on fieldwork conducted between 1969 and 1985, and on extensive archival research, the first six essays examine the social function of poetry in the community, the element of improvisation in the production of poetry-especially in the poetry of the imbongi-and the structural principles of his poetry. Individual poets are then presented, among them D.L.P. Yali-Manisi, Melikaya Mbutuma, Peter Mtuze, and Nontsizi Mgqwetho, the first woman to produce a substantial body of poetry. The concluding four essays are thematic, treating issues introduced by the medium of print: the role of newspapers in fostering literature; censorship and control of the press; the damaging effects of changes in Xhosa spelling; and, finally, the suspicion in which Xhosa poets held books and writing. This second edition updates the bibliographical references and offers a keen engagement with its subject, with copious examples of their poetry in Xhosa and in the English translation. It offers a cultural context for the volumes in this series. (Series: Publications of the Opland Collection of Xhosa Literature, Vol. 5) [Subject: African Studies, Poetry]
Oxford English-Xhosa Dictionary
by
Answering a long-felt need for a comprehensive English-Xhosa dictionary, this work has been compiled to meet the needs of both Xhosa-speakers learning English, and English-speakers learning Xhosa. Plus: a guide to Xhosa noun classes in the front of the dictionary helps you understand a vital part of Xhosa grammar and how to use your dictionary effectively. Around 15,000 entries comprehensively cover everyday, technical and subject-specific English. The class system of Xhosa nouns is clearly shown to help you avoid making grammar mistakes
We Write What We Like
by
A celebration of Steve Biko's legacy of freedom Steve Biko, the founder of the Black Consciousness philosophy, was killed in prison on 12 September 1977. Biko was only thirty years old, but his ideas and political activities changed the course of South African history and helped hasten the end of apartheid. The year 2007 saw the thirtieth anniversary of Biko's death. To mark the occasion, the then Minister of Science and Technology, Dr Mosibudi Mangena, commissioned Chris van Wyk to compile an anthology of essays as a tribute to the great South African son. Among the contributors are Minister Mangena himself, ex-President Thabo Mbeki, writer Darryl Accone, journalists Lizeka Mda and Bokwe Mafuna, academics Jonathan Jansen, Mandla Seleoane and Saths Cooper, a friend of Biko's and former president of Azapo. We Write What We Like proudly echoes the title of Biko's seminal work, I Write What I Like. It is a gift to a new generation which enjoys freedom, from one that was there when this freedom was being fought for. And it celebrates the man whose legacy is the freedom to think and say and write what we like.
Handbook of Language Policy and Education in Countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)
by
This volume focuses on the different challenges of language policy in the Southern African Development Community (SADC). Each of the seventeen chapters follows the same structure, ensuring readability and accessibility, and describes the unique aspects of each country. The work as a whole reveals the complex and reciprocal relations between multiple indigenous African languages, Creole languages and former colonial languages and it constitutes an opportunity to notice recurring patterns as well as distinctive characteristics. Therefore, everyone involved in language policy, education, economics and development, geography, development or area studies and African studies will benefit from such a holistic and innovative overview.
The grammar of isiXhosa
by
This book provides a comprehensive guide to the isiXhosa language, starting with sounds and their orthography in Part 1. Part 2 delves into the formation of speech and the meaning of sentences. It is divided into several sections, beginning with nouns (Section 1), including types of nouns and adjectival nouns. The discussion then moves to verbs (Section 2) and covers both their usage and associated pronouns. Further sections examine figurative language and exclamations (Section 3) and conclude with a look at synonyms (Section 4). Through these sections, the book systematically explores the structure and nuances of isiXhosa.
We have recently added a few new book titles to our collection. Make sure to check this page regularly to discover fresh and exciting titles that have been added. Stay updated with the latest additions to our collection!
Ulwimi isiXhosa nenkcubeko yimpakatha nodiza
by
The book titled "Ulwimi isiXhosa nenkcubeko yimpakatha nodiza," which translates to "The Xhosa Language and Culture is a Package and a Healer," delves into the richness of the Xhosa language and its intricate connection with the culture of its speakers. Covering essential areas such as grammar, vocabulary, and syntax, it highlights the regional variations and dialects within the Xhosa-speaking communities.
Ubulumko bezinja
by
Ibali elingumzekeliso ozoba intlalo yengcinezelo, neyokufuna impindezelo noxolelaniso. An allegorical novel that explores oppression, revenge, and reconciliation.
Ubuhlobo bukaZazi noLili
by
UZazi yintombazana ebuthandayo ubomi. Uthanda abantu yaye uhlala onwabile ngalo lonke ixesha. Kodwa kukhona le nto imhluphayo ?? umzimba wakhe. Into emvisa ubuhlungu kakhulu kukuhlala esisigculelo sentsini esikolweni. Akakho umfundi ofuna ukuba ngumhlobo wakhe, kangangokuba ugqibela engenaye umhlobo angammema ethekweni lakhe lokuzalwa. Kodwa ayinguye yedwa osisigculelo sentsini esikolweni. ULili yintombazana eyahlukileyo kwabanye abantwana. Ubizwa ngenkawu esikolweni ngenxa yolusu lwakhe olwahlukileyo. Uhlala nonina kumatyotyombe angekho mgangathweni uphezulu. Uhlala ethwele umnqwazi yaye efake izibuko zamehlo. Le nto imenza ahlekwe nangakumbi esikolweni. Ingaba uZazi noLili baza kugqibela benze njani ukuze bathandwe yaye bamkelwe ngabanye abantwana? Ingaba uZazi uza kugqibela enabo abahlobo aza kubamema kwitheko lakhe lokuzalwa? Khawuzivele ngokwakho mlesi! Zazi is a bubbly, happy girl who loves life and people. There is only one thing that worries her and makes her sad – her chubby, plump body. No one wants to be her friend at school because of this. Another girl at the same school, Lili, is continuously teased and does not have friends because she is an albino. What will Zazi and Lili do in order to make friends and be accepted by all the children at school?
Akulahlwa mbeleko ngakufelwa Pakama
by
Eli bali livulwa nje kubonakala ubuhlungu nonxunguphalo kuThandaza ogulelwa ngumyeni wakhe uNtando. Banonyana uMava osentolongweni, nentombi uSinomtha ohamba isikolo. USinomtha lo ukrelekrele kakhulu kwaye unesiphiwo sokucula nokudlala ikatala. Unomhlobokazi wakhe uGqiyazana ophuma kwikhaya elifumileyo njengokuba yena ehlala ematyotyombeni. UGqiyazana unekatala angakwaziyo ukuyisebenzisa. USinomtha uhlala eboleka le katala kaGqiyazana ze yena amenzele umsebenzi wesikolo njengokuba uGqiyazana ebengemhlanga kakhulu apha esikolweni
Akwaba
by
Lo ngumdlalo osekelwe kwelentlazi, phantsi kweNtab'etafile. Ibali eli liqulethe umbandela obalulekileyo nobilis'ibunzi kuluntu luphela-isifo esigqugqisayo uGawulayo, kwanentsholongwane engunozala weli gongqongqo lesifo. Libali elingoPhumela intwanazana esakhulayo. Njengoko igama layo lisitsho, iphumela kumanzithinzithi neenzima ebomini.
Buyintoni na ubomi? .
by
Kulo mdlalo sifumana uCirha ebanjiwe ngelo xesha uNomonde inkosikazi yakhe ikhulelwe. Ngemini yetyala uCirha wathi eqhutywa esisiwa esitokisini wabe uNomonde elunywa. Wabeleka walushiya olo sana wabhubha ngenxa kagawulayo. Kwaba kukuqala kweenkathazo kusithiwa usana olungiPhila lunogawulayo malungadityaniswa nabanye abantu.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
