+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
As a UWC registered member, you have access to thousands of online books, journals and other online resources, available at your fingertips 24 hours a day. To go to the library website, simply type the URL into your browser’s search field: lib.uwc.ac.za.
The uKwazi searchbox is the library discovery tool for all your information resource needs. It provides simple, one-stop searching across all the library’s collections, whether in print, digital or media formats. Click on the image to search uKwazi or on this link: lib.uwc.ac.za
The Ask a Librarian is a live chat service that pops up at the bottom right-hand side of the library homepage. Ask for assistance on anything library-related.
A database is an organised collection of books, journals, reviews, abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then licensed for distribution in an online or electronic format.
These are the Specific Databases as well as the Additional Databases for Law, which the library subscribes to for your research needs:
| Law Specific Databases | Additional Databases for Law |
| HeinOnline | Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) |
| JUTA e-Publications (also called JutaStat) | Credo Reference (Advanced search) |
| Juta's Review of South African Law | EBSCOHOST WEB |
| My LexisNexis | Google Book Search |
| Netlaw: South African Legislation (via Sabinet) | Google Scholar (Advanced search) |
| Provincial Gazettes (via Sabinet) | JSTOR |
| Provincial Legislation (via Sabinet) | NEXUS (National Research Foundation) |
| The South African Criminal Law Reports | Oxford Journals Online |
| SA ePublications (now called Sabinet African Journals) | Sabinet Reference |
| SA Government Gazettes via My LexisNexis | SACat Plus |
| SA Law Reports (1947 to date) | SAGE Journals Online |
| Westlaw | Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) |
| SA Media | |
| ScienceDirect | |
| SCOPUS | |
| SpringerLink | |
| SpringerLink (Advance Search) | |
| Taylor & Francis eJournals | |
| UCTD (Sabinet) | |
| Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) | |
| WorldCat | |
| Academic Search Complete |
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
