Subject Guides: Occupational Therapy: Internet Resources

Useful External Websites

Here is a compilation of valuable open access websites that you can freely utilise for your research and information needs. These external resources provide access to a wide range of content without any subscription or paywall restrictions.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open-access books and helps users to find trusted open-access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Open Access Publishing in European Netwroks (OAPEN)

OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open-access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.

eBook Open Access (OA) Collection (EBSCOhost) is a multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions. Search via EBSCO host's databases.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes approximately 6,357,752 theses and dissertations, completely free to use.

Directory of Open Access Repository

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

OER Commons

OER commons are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission.

OpenStax

Review the OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course.
Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, 100% free, and backed by additional learning resources.

Here is a list of professional association websites that are highly valuable for this field of study. These websites serve as excellent resources for you to consult whenever necessary, offering industry insights, networking opportunities, and access to relevant publications and resourcees.

Otasa
The South African Institute for Sensory Integration (SAISI) is a non-profitable organization which provides sensory integration training of internationally accepted standards to enable occupational therapists to provide a service of excellence for the ultimate benefit of the client and their families. SAISI is a founder member of the International Council for Education in Ayres Sensory Integration (ICEASI) and is also committed to support research within the field of Ayres Sensory Integration ®. Courses are presented on the standards set by ICEASI. SAISI often invites international experts to present the courses to maintain international standards of training.
South African Institute fo Sensory Integration
The South African Institute for Sensory Integration (SAISI) is a non-profitable organization which provides sensory integration training of internationally accepted standards to enable occupational therapists to provide a service of excellence for the ultimate benefit of the client and their families.

SAISI is a founder member of the International Council for Education in Ayres Sensory Integration (ICEASI) and is also committed to support research within the field of Ayres Sensory Integration ®. Courses are presented on the standards set by ICEASI. SAISI often invites international experts to present the courses to maintain international standards of training.

Here is a compilation of government websites that are highly relevant to your field of study. These websites provide valuable information, resources, and updates on government policies, regulations, research findings, and initiatives related to the field.

Health Professionals Counsil of South Africa
The HPCSA, together with the 12 Professional Boards under its ambit, is established to provide for control over the education, training and registration for practicing of health professions registered under the Health Professions Act. In order to protect the public and guide the professions, council ensures that practitioners uphold and maintain professional and ethical standards within the health professions and ensure the investigation of complaints concerning practitioners and to ensure that disciplinary action is taken against persons who fail to act accordingly.

Occupational Therapy

Ask your Librarian!

Useful External Websites

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES