+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collection contains both print and ebooks. Print books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC). Paediatric Dentistry books are located in Dentistry Library.
Here are some tips for searching books in uKwazi
Keywords: Use keywords, not sentences like you may do in Google
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, General Books and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi.
Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System.
Here are a few examples of book titles and their corresponding DDC numbers:
| Book Title | DDC Number |
|---|---|
| Paediatric Dentistry at a Glance | UWC Dentistry Library, Tygerberg; 617.645 DUG |
Nitrous Oxide in Pediatric Dentistry : A Clinical Handbook by
his clinical handbook is a complete guide to the use of nitrous oxide when performing dental procedures in children. Nitrous oxide offers the easiest and safest form of pharmacological behavior management in this age group and can help greatly in reducing fear and anxiety toward dentists and dental treatment. Importantly, its use in children differs from that in adults, owing in part to the need for appropriate behavior management skills. In considering a range of clinical scenarios in which nitrous oxide is of value, this book will support clinicians in their daily practice. All aspects are covered, including rationale, basic science, mechanism of action, equipment, scavenging systems, technique, monitoring, safety, toxicity, documentation, and team building. Guidance is also provided on the use of nitrous oxide in special pediatric populations requiring oral health care. The book is supplemented by videos that will help readers to comprehend the text easily and to perform the technique efficiently and effectively
Textbook of Pediatric Dentistry by
This new edition is a complete guide to paediatric dentistry for undergraduate and postgraduate dental students. Divided into nineteen sections, the book begins with an introduction to the specialty, oral examination, teeth identification and numbering, imaging, and growth and development of a child's face, mouth and teeth. The next chapters discuss diet and nutrition, plaque control and fluorides, and dental caries. Dental subspecialties including endodontics, orthodontics, restorative dentistry, periodontics, and surgery, each have their own dedicated sections. The concluding chapters cover oral pathology, forensics, lasers, dental advances, and research. The fourth edition has been fully revised to provide the latest information in the field and features many new topics including zirconia crowns, revascularisation and pulp regeneration, silver diamine fluoride, general anaesthesia, and presurgical nasoalveolar moulding in the management of cleft lip and palate. Key points Complete guide to paediatric dentistry for dental students Fully revised fourth edition with many new topics Highly illustrated with more than 1000 clinical photographs, diagrams and tables Previous edition (9789351522324) published in 2014
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent by
Get the expert knowledge you need to provide quality oral care to pediatric patients! Trusted for more than 50 years, McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 11th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations for infants, children, and adolescents. It covers topics ranging from pediatric examination and radiographic techniques to development and morphology of the primary teeth, dental caries, dental materials, and local anesthesia. Another point of emphasis is the management of patients with special medical issues. On the Expert Consult website, you'll find a fully searchable version of the entire text along with case studies and step-by-step procedure videos. From internationally known educator Jeffrey A. Dean, this resource provides everything you need to prepare for board certification and succeed in clinical practice. Comprehensive coverage of pediatric dentistry includes the treatment of deep caries, prosthodontics, occlusion, trauma, gingivitis and periodontal disease, cleft lip and palate, facial esthetics, and medically compromised patients. More than 1,000 illustrations show oral structures and conditions along with dental procedures. Five major areas of focus help you organize your thinking and practice around key clinical concepts: diagnoses, caries and periodontology, pain control, oral growth and development, and management of special medical issues. Expert Consult website includes fully searchable access to the text, plus videos and case studies. Diverse and respected team of authors contribute chapters on their areas of expertise. Global readership includes translations of the text into seven different languages. NEW! Updated content includes a new section on sleep apnea, plus COVID-19 in children, pain management, dental bleaching, a minimalist approach to restorative dentistry, the latest dental materials, new pulp recommendations, community dentistry, patient-centered care, preventive orthodontic treatment, the use of silver diamine fluoride, and vaping with its oral implications. NEW! Additional patient cases and questions are included in the book and website. NEW! Procedure videos plus updates of existing videos are added to the Expert Consult website. NEW authors contribute updated and unique chapters throughout the book.
Atlas of Pediatric Oral and Dental Developmental Anomalies by
A quick reference diagnostic guide for students and clinicians, covering a wide range of oral and dental developmental anomalies in children and adolescents Written by world-renowned pediatric dentists, this easily accessible, well-illustrated reference covers a wide range of oral and dental developmental anomalies in children and adolescents, and includes rare as well as more common conditions. Divided into two parts, the first part is dedicated to normal tissue initiation, formation, and development in the orodental region. The second part offers comprehensive pictorial descriptions of each condition and discussions of the treatment options available. A useful, quick reference atlas helping students and clinicians diagnose a wide range of oral and dental developmental anomalies in children and adolescents Highly illustrated with clinical photographs Describes both common and rare conditions, and explores treatment options Atlas of Pediatric Oral and Dental Developmental Anomalies is an excellent resource for undergraduate dentistry students, postgraduate pediatric dentistry students, and pediatric dental practitioners.
Pediatric Dentistry by
Provide superior oral and dental care to children of all ages! Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. From a team of accomplished authors and contributors led by Arthur J. Nowak, this edition includes a new Expert Consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text. UNIQUE! Age-specific organization separates sections and chapters by age group to cover specific changes the child experiences physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. Fundamentals of Pediatric Dentistry section covers basic information on children of all ages, including topics such as local and systemic diseases, pediatric physiology, cariology, pain control, and medical emergencies. Coverage of current trends and challenges emphasizes the prevention of dental diseases and reflects pediatric dentistry as it is practiced today. UPDATED coverage of caries risk assessment in children reflects the evolution of evidence-based oral health care. More than 1,000 full-color photos and illustrations show dental conditions and treatments. NEW and UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers additional content and includes case studies along with procedural videos for practical, real-world application. NEW chapters cover cariology, pain control, and cleft lip and palate; other updates include infant oral health, pit and fissure sealants, regenerative endodontics, and the risk factors surrounding the transition from adolescence to adulthood. NEW! Greater diversity of contributors includes expert perspectives from all over the world. NEW! Expert Consult case studies are included in 33 chapters. NEW! Video clips of procedures are included in the Expert Consult case studies. NEW! Review questions and answers are included in the Expert Consult case studies, with three questions per case study.
Textbook of Pediatric Dentistry by
This new edition is a complete guide to paediatric dentistry for undergraduate and postgraduate dental students. Divided into nineteen sections, the book begins with an introduction to the specialty, oral examination, teeth identification and numbering, imaging, and growth and development of a child's face, mouth and teeth. The next chapters discuss diet and nutrition, plaque control and fluorides, and dental caries. Dental subspecialties including endodontics, orthodontics, restorative dentistry, periodontics, and surgery, each have their own dedicated sections. The concluding chapters cover oral pathology, forensics, lasers, dental advances, and research. The fourth edition has been fully revised to provide the latest information in the field and features many new topics including zirconia crowns, revascularisation and pulp regeneration, silver diamine fluoride, general anaesthesia, and presurgical nasoalveolar moulding in the management of cleft lip and palate. Key points Complete guide to paediatric dentistry for dental students Fully revised fourth edition with many new topics Highly illustrated with more than 1000 clinical photographs, diagrams and tables Previous edition (9789351522324) published in 2014
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions by
Be it dentistry, dental assisting, or dental hygiene,Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions, Second Edition is the go-to resource for all students and professionals in the dental field. This dictionary contains definitions for nearly 16,000 terms relevant to all dental professions, including dentistry, and includes more than 500 illustrations--most in full color--and a glossy full-color oral conditions and disorders insert. Appendices include tooth numbering systems; dental imaging errors; guidelines for infection control in dental health care settings; weights and measures; medical prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms; medical and dental Abbreviations; Abbreviations used in medication orders; laboratory reference range values; and professional organizations. Also included with the purchase is a free three-month subscription to Stedman's Online: Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions , which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 8,500 audio pronunciations, 42 live action videos, and a customizable section, My Stedman's, which allows users to add terms, add notes, add definitions, save searches and illustrations, and include outside links.
Harty's Dental Dictionary by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. A new edition of a well-known dental dictionary, suitable for dental students, dental nurses and dental practice secretaries. A comprehensive dictionary of the complete range of dental terminology Line diagrams illustrated selected definitions. Useful appendices cover such things as dental instruments, development and eruption of teeth etc. Totally revised - new definitions added and obsolete ones deleted.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
