+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and books on ethics and moral philosophy.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi
These are books we have acquired recently and are therefore new to the collection. While some may be recent publications, others may be older. These books also reflect orders made by the department.
A Companion to African Philosophy
by
This volume of newly commissioned essays provides comprehensive coverage of African philosophy, ranging across disciplines and throughout the ages. Offers a distinctive historical treatment of African philosophy. Covers all the main branches of philosophy as addressed in the African tradition. Includes accounts of pre-colonial African philosophy and contemporary political thought.
Deliberative Agency
by
Public deliberation, highly valued by many African societies, becomes the cornerstone of a new system of African political philosophy in this brilliant, highly original study. In Deliberative Agency, philosopher Uchenna Okeja offers a way to construct a new political center by building it around the ubiquitous African practice of public deliberation, a widely accepted means to resolve legal matters, reconcile feuding groups, and reestablish harmony. In cities, hometown associations and voluntary organizations carry out the task of fostering deliberation among African groups for different reasons. In some instances, the deliberation aims to settle disputes. In others, the aim is to decide the best action to take to address unfortunate incidents such as death. Through a measured, comparative analysis, Deliberative Agency argues that the best way to reimagine and harness the idea of public deliberation, based on current experiences in Africa, is to see it as performance of agency. Building a new political center around the practice places agency at the core of a new political life in Africa.
Black Existentialism and Decolonizing Knowledge
by
Black Existentialism and Decolonizing Knowledge collects key philosophical writings of Lewis R. Gordon, a globally renowned scholar whose writings cover liberation struggles across the globe and make field-defining contributions to the philosophy of existence, philosophy of race, Africana philosophy, philosophy of human sciences, aesthetics, and decolonization. Gordon's expansive output ranges across phenomenology, anti-Blackness, activist thinkers, sexuality, Fanon, Jimi Hendrix, Black Jewish struggles, critical pedagogy, psychoanalysis, and Ubuntu philosophy. Edited by Rozena Maart and Sayan Dey, two decolonial thinkers from South Africa and India, this reader shifts attention away from colonial centres of power, encouraging global dialogue across students, scholars, and activists. Featuring a foreword by the celebrated novelist and postcolonial thinker, Ngugi wa Thiong'o, this reader includes a mixture of research articles, short critical essays, reflections, interviews, poems, and photographs in the creative pursuit of liberation.
The question of life's meaning : an African perspective
by
"In answering the question of life's meaning, the African perspective is only just beginning to emerge. While this is true, a critical examination of African theories of meaningfulness, the possibility of life's meaninglessness, as well as ideas about the proper mode/mood for living with the meaninglessness of life are largely underexplored within the African philosophical tradition. This book provides several plausible accounts of meaning in/of life from an African perspective, examines the relationship between death and life's meaningfulness, and explores the possibility of life's meaninglessness, proposing the "philosophy of indifference" as the proper mode/mood for living with the meaninglessness of life." -- Provided by publisher.
Killing in War
by
Killing a person is in general among the most seriously wrongful forms of action, yet most of us accept that it can be permissible to kill people on a large scale in war. Does morality become more permissive in a state of war? Jeff McMahan argues that conditions in war make no difference to what morality permits and the justifications for killing people are the same in war as they are in other contexts, such as individual self-defence. This view is radically at odds with the traditional theory of the just war and has implications that challenge common sense views. McMahan argues, for example, that it is wrong to fight in a war that is unjust because it lacks a just cause.
Just and Unjust Wars
by
"A classic in the field" (New York Times), this is a penetrating investigation into moral and ethical questions raised by war, drawing on examples from antiquity to the present. Just and Unjust Wars has forever changed how we think about the ethics of conflict. In this modern classic, political philosopher Michael Walzer examines the moral issues that arise before, during, and after the wars we fight. Reaching from the Athenian attack on Melos, to the Mai Lai massacre, to the war in Afghanistan and beyond, Walzer mines historical and contemporary accounts and the testimony of participants, decision makers, and victims to explain when war is justified and what ethical limitations apply to those who wage it.
The Future Starts Now
by
Featuring contributions from an international array of futurists, The Future Starts Now provides fascinating insights and guidance into how society and business will transform in the years to come. The future is an uncertain, uncomfortable prospect for employees, employers and society at large. A flurry of unprecedented events have proven that, despite what some politicians and economists may tell us, the future is not set in stone. In light of this uncertainty, The Future Starts Now looks toward the various innovations and technologies that may shape our future. Authors Theo Priestley and Bronwyn Williams have brought together the world's leading futurists to articulate and clarify the current trajectories in technology, economics, politics and business. This is a comprehensive history of tomorrow, exploring groundbreaking topics such as AI, privacy, education and the future of work. While the guidance, insight and predictions are fascinating for anyone curious about what the future may hold, the book also functions as an invaluable guide for business professionals looking to steer their career or their organization with foresight and confidence.
Reference books provide reliable and authoritative information on a wide range of topics. These books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and almanacs, offering quick access to factual data, definitions, geographical information, and statistical summaries.
Unlike regular books, reference books are typically not checked out; instead, they are available for in-library use, serving as valuable tools for research, homework, and general knowledge enhancement.
Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers
by
On its first appearance in 1960, J.O. Urmson's Concise encyclopedia of Western philosophy and philosophersestablished itself as a classic. Its contributors included many of the leading philosophers of the English-speaking world: Ryle, Hare, Strawson, Ayer, Dummett, Williams and many others. They wrote with an authority and individuality which made the Encyclopediainto a lively and engaging introduction to philosophy as well as a convenient reference work. For this edition, supervised by Jonathan Rée, the original articles have been revised and updated, and eighty articles by thirty one new authors have been added. The additions take account of recent developments in philosophy, of literary, historical and political issues in philosophy, and of developments in continental thought, including in Marxism, psychoanalysis, phenomenology, existentialism, structuralism, post-structuralism and deconstruction. There is a clear, integral cross-referencing system which allows the reader to identify points of overlap between philosophical traditions and their personalities at a glance.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
by
The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
by
This best-selling dictionary is written by one of the most famous philosophers of our time, and it is widely recognized as the best dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day. The first edition of this dictionary became a market-leader and a standard work of reference, selling over 100,000 copies. Now the author, Professor Simon Blackburn, has revised it to include web links which provide up-to-date and valuable extra information via the Dictionary of Philosophy companion website. Fully cross-referenced and containing over 3,000 alphabetical entries, it is the ideal introduction to philosophy for anyone with an interest in the subject, and it is an indispensable work of reference for students and teachers.
The Routledge Dictionary of Philosophy
by
First published in 1976, the Dictionary of Philosophy has established itself as the best available text of its kind, explaining often unfamiliar, complicated and diverse terminology. Thoroughly revised and expanded, this fourth edition provides authoritative and rigorous definitions of a broad range of philosophical concepts. Concentrating on the Western philosophical tradition, The Routledge Dictionary of Philosophy offers an illuminating and informed introduction to the central issues, ideas and perspectives in core fields such as metaphysics, epistemology, and logic. It includes concise biographical entries for more than one hundred major philosophers, from Plato and Aristotle through to contemporary figures such as Dummett, McDowell, Parfit and Singer. All major entries are followed by helpful suggestions for further reading, including web links, and contain extensive cross-referencing to aid access and comprehension. This edition also features a brand new guide to the most useful philosophy sites on the internet. The Routledge Dictionary of Philosophy is an invaluable and up-to-date resource for all students of philosophy.
E-book platforms offer a digital gateway to a vast array of literature, providing easy access to a multitude of texts and resources. These platforms host collections that range from scholarly publications to public domain classics, making them invaluable tools for students, researchers, and readers worldwide.
By offering both open access and subscription-based models, they cater to diverse reading and research needs, allowing users to explore a rich tapestry of subjects from the convenience of their devices.
The Ethics and Moral Philosophy section focuses on exploring ethical theories and moral reasoning across historical and modern perspectives
Basic Moral Philosophy
by
Holmess text presents a clear, systematic approach to ethical theories, shedding light on their historical roots as well as important contemporary concerns. Throughout, the author presents reasoned assessments of various theories, helping students develop a viewpoint that engages them in doing ethics rather than passively reading about the theories of others. In addition, by placing individual theories in the broader context of moral philosophys basic problems, the book gives students a clear sense of the issues stemming from concern with ethics of virtue vs. ethics of conduct, ethics of rules and principles vs. moral particularism, and relativism vs. universalism
Ethics
by
This book is not a conventional reader in moral philosophy. To capture the essentials of what we know about the origins and nature of ethics, Peter Singer has drawn on anthropology, history, observation of non-human animals, the theory of evolution, game theory, and works of fiction, in addition to moral philosophy. By choosing some of the finest pieces of writing, old and new, in and about ethics, he conveys the intellectual excitement of the search for basic questions about how we ought to live.
Ethics
by
Ethics introduces the issues and controversies of contemporary moral philosophy to undergraduate students who have already done an introductory course in philosophy. It will help students to think more clearly about how to form their moral beliefs in the wisest and most rational way. The basic approaches to metaethics and normative ethics are related to specific issues, particularly those of racism, education, and abortion. Written in a clear and concise way by an experienced textbook author, Ethicswill also be of interest to the general reader. Unique features of the textbook: * boxed key ideas * Glossary of philosophical terms * Chapter summaries and study questions * Annotated further reading and Internet Web resources There is an associated website for teachers and students at www.routledge.com/routledge/philosophy/cip/ethics.htm
Ethics : theory and contemporary issues
by
Explore the major perspectives in ethical theory and contemporary moral debates using ETHICS: THEORY AND CONTEMPORARY ISSUES, 9th Edition. Overviews and a selection of readings from traditional and contemporary sources make complex philosophical concepts reader-friendly. Comprehensive introductions to general and specific areas of ethical debate cover such influential ethical theories as religion and global ethics, utilitarianism and deontology, natural law ethics, and feminist and care ethics. Contemporary moral issues include euthanasia, sexual morality, economic justice, war, violence, globalization, structural racism, and same-sex marriage. MindTap offers assessments along with animated ethics simulations that allow you to engage with the philosophical issues and concepts discussed in the text.
Introducing Ethics
by
Introducing Ethics traces the arguments of the great moral thinkers, Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Hobbes, Kant and others, and brings us up to date with postmodern critics.
Introduction to Ethics
by
A concise, provocative introduction to the study of ethics that examines the major figures, theories, and issues as they pertain to personal life. Introduction to Ethics explores the development of ethical theories in light of the development of major religious traditions.
Moral Development and Behavior
by
Morality, Moral Behavior and Moral Development
by
This is an OCR edition without illustrations or index. It may have numerous typos or missing text. However, purchasers can download a free scanned copy of the original rare book from GeneralBooksClub.com. You can also preview excerpts from the book there. Purchasers are also entitled to a free trial membership in the General Books Club where they can select from more than a million books without charge. Subjects: Biography & AutobiographyAnonyms and pseudonyms, English; English literature; Biography & Autobiography / Reference; Literary Collections / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh; Literary Criticism / General; Literary Criticism / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh; Literary Criticism / Shakespeare; Reference / Bibliographies & Indexes;
Morality as a Way of Life: A First Introduction to Ethical Theory
by
Since the advent of democracy in 1994 there has been a widespread concern over the disintegration of the moral fabric of the South African society – amongst politicians, business leaders, community leaders and religious leaders alike.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
