+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Short Loan Books and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi.
Social Work Books
Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Dietetic books are mainly located on Level 11 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
361 General social problems & welfare
361.1 Social problems
361.2 Social action
361.3 Social work
361.4 Group work
361.6 Governmental action
361.8 Community action
362 Social welfare problems & services
362.19 Aids, Social Issues
362.2 Mental and emotional illnesses and disturbances
362.28 Suicide
362.29 Drug abuse
362.3 Mental retardation
362.4 Problems of and services to people with physical disabilities
362.5 Problems of and services to the poor; poverty
362.6 Problems of and services to persons in late adulthood
362.7 Problems of and services to young people Adoption, Bullying, Divorce
362.76 Child abuse
362.8 Problems of and services to other groups; wife, spousal, aged abuse
362.883 Rape victims
363.46 Abortion, Social Issues
364 Criminology
364.1 Criminal offenses
364.2 Causes of crime and delinquency
364.3 Offenders
364.4 Prevention of crime and delinquency
364.6 Penology
364.8 Discharged offenders
Mental Health and Social Work by
This book showcases current thinking on social work in the field of mental health and illness from a bio-ecological and spiritual framework reflecting the transition in mental health care from institution to community. The book presents a valuable tool for understanding theories on aetiology and social work interventions in mental health from varying socio-cultural, economic and political contexts. Topics covered include: the values and ethics of social work practice in mental health; psycho-social theories on mental health and illness, including psychological perspective and the structural/ social development perspective; social work approaches in working with individuals, families and communities; contextualized social work practice in mental health with a specific population group or community; structural factors such as legal provision and financial challenges in mental health and illness; and new directions in social work and mental health.
Contents
Part One: Introduction -- Part Two: General Theories on Mental Health and of Aetiology of Mental Illness -- Part Three: Overview of social work approaches in working with individuals, families and community -- Part Four:Contextualized practice with individuals and families -- Part Five: Structural factors in social work and mental health -- Part Six: Concluding chapter.
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Pedagogies for Social Work by
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Pedagogies for Social Work traverses new territory by providing a cutting-edge overview of the work of classic and contemporary theorists, in a way that expands their application and utility in social work education and practice; thus, providing a bridge between critical theory, philosophy, and social work. Each chapter showcases the work of a specific critical educational, philosophical, and/or social theorist including: Henry Giroux, Michel Foucault, Cornelius Castoriadis, Herbert Marcuse, Paulo Freire, bell hooks, Joan Tronto, Iris Marion Young, Karl Marx, Antonio Gramsci, and many others, to elucidate the ways in which their key pedagogic concepts can be applied to specific aspects of social work education and practice. The text exhibits a range of research-based approaches to educating social work practitioners as agents of social change. It provides a robust, and much needed, alternative paradigm to the technique-driven 'conservative revolution' currently being fostered by neoliberalism in both social work education and practice. The volume will be instructive for social work educators who aim to teach for social change, by assisting students to develop counter-hegemonic practices of resistance and agency, and reflecting on the pedagogic role of social work practice more widely. The volume holds relevance for both postgraduate and undergraduate/qualifying social work and human services courses around the world.
Social Work by
Social workers draw on a variety of theoretical perspectives to inform their practice and understand the diverse settings in which they work. Social Work: From Theory to Practice explores practice theories through the discipline's unique interpretive lens and demonstrates how these can be understood and enacted by practitioners in human services settings. This third edition includes new material on trauma-informed practice and Indigenous practice, as well as enhanced content relating to child protection and family violence, and narrative approaches. New practitioner reflections and case studies illustrate how theory influences practice and facilitates change. Thought-provoking case study discussion questions prompt students to reflect on key concepts and develop strategies for practice. Highly readable and engaging, Social Work: From Theory to Practice builds a strong foundation for theoretically informed practice. This text enables practitioners to develop the skills required to confidently and critically evaluate their work as they respond in complex practice contexts.
Social Work Values and Ethics by
For decades, teachers and practitioners have turned to Frederic G. Reamer's Social Work Values and Ethics as the leading introduction to ethical decision making, dilemmas, and professional conduct in practice. A case-driven, concise, and comprehensive textbook for undergraduate and graduate social work programs, this book surveys the most critical issues for social work practitioners.The fifth edition incorporates significant updates to the National Association of Social Workers Code of Ethics and new practice and model regulatory standards used by social service and licensing agencies around the world. Reamer also focuses on how social workers should navigate the digital world through discussion of the ethical issues that arise from practitioner use of online services and social networking sites to deliver services, communicate with clients, and provide information to the public, and what standards will protect confidential information transmitted electronically. He highlights potential conflicts between professional ethics and legal guidelines and expands discussions of informed consent, confidentiality and privileged communication, boundaries and dual relationships, documentation, conflicts of interest, and risk management. Conceptually rich and attuned to the complexities of ethical decision making, Social Work Values and Ethics is unique in striking the right balance among history, theory, and practical application.
Encyclopedia of Social Work by
THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIAL WORK, 19TH EDITION is the updated & expanded edition of the social work profession's finest reference work. It is the most comprehensive work of its kind, & possibly the largest database of bibliographic citations in the field of social work. The 19th Edition of the ENCYCLOPEDIA is a third larger than its predecessor, released in 1987, with nearly 300 all-new entries. Content has been greatly expanded for many topics, including AIDS, corrections, justice, direct practice, diversity, management, & research, & the entire work reflects an increased sensitivity to issues of gender & diversity in the current social landscape. Each entry is structured to help the reader find information easily, beginning with a brief summary & ending with biographical information on the contributing editor. The 19th Edition of the ENCYCLOPEDIA comprises three volumes, with a table of contents & index in each, & a separate biography section that includes 142 people who made major contributions to social work. Features include 80 Readers' Guides on major topics, extensive freestanding cross-references, key words for each entry, & easy-to-read tables & graphs. Available in casebound, softcover, & CD-ROM versions. Nearly 3,000 pages. Richard L. Edwards, Editor-in-Chief.
Modern social work theory by
Now in its fifth edition, this widely translated best-selling textbook is a classic in its field. Written by one of the leading names in social work, it provides a comprehensive critical overview of the main practice theories, acting as a companion for students through their studies and their careers as practitioners. Malcom Payne presents clear and concise evaluations of the benefits and limitations of major theories of practice, while thoroughly covering their origins and contexts. This substantially reworked and updated edition: Includes new content on social justice, indigenous peoples, social development and privilege's, building to its culminating analysis of critical, anti-oppressive and multicultural theories. Explores attachment and relational practice in greater depth. Develops key new material on motivational interviewing, strengths, solution and narrative practice. Gives extended coverage of eco and green social work movements for environmental sustainability. This is the ideal text for theory, methods and practice modules on qualifying social work courses at undergraduate and postgraduate level, as well social work practitioners taking post-qualifying and CPD courses. It is the perfect companion for anyone aiming to provide and outstanding service and achieve the best possible outcomes in social work practice.
Values and Ethics in Social Work by
An awareness of one's own ethical assumptions and how these inform everyday practice is crucial for all student social workers. Social workers who genuinely wish to do the right thing by their services users have no alternative but to constantly think and rethink the principles and assumptions that inform their actions, and this book supports them on their journey.This Third Editionis set out in two parts: Part I deals with broad ideas about values and ethics in general, looking at philosophy, religion and politics, as well as the duty of realism. Part II takes the discussion further, looking at how these general principles are relevant to everyday practice, with chapters on the use and misuse of power, the idea of self-determination, and the challenges of working with people whose experience and outlook are different to one's own.
Empowerment Series: Introduction to Social Work and Social Welfare by
Designed to give you a solid introduction to the profession of social work, INTRODUCTION TO SOCIAL WORK AND SOCIAL WELFARE, 5th Edition helps you understand the issues that social workers address every day. Using a clear and engaging writing style, author Karen K. Kirst-Ashman presents a balanced overview within a unifying theme of critical thinking that will train you to use evaluative skills in your coursework and beyond. In addition, you'll study more efficiently and effectively with accompanying digital resources that provide you with opportunities to complete self-assessments as well as pre- and post-tests for each chapter. Thoughtful case studies throughout the text help to prepare you for your career by showing you what social work practice looks like in different contexts and with different populations.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
