Guest Speakers: Mr. Mogamat Alexander (Author) “Uncover the Richness of Muslim Vernacular” Ms. Carla Lindt (Masters Student) “Discover Afrikaaps - A 21st Century Language Treasure”
Mon. - Fri
8H20 - 16h30
After hours assistance at circulation desk on level 5
Heritage Day - September 24, 2023
Heritage Day on 24 September recognizes and celebrates the cultural wealth of our nation. South Africans celebrate the day by remembering the cultural heritage of the many cultures that make up the population of South Africa. Various events are staged throughout the country to commemorate this day.
The mission of Special Collections is to support UWC in fulfilling its research, teaching and learning goals by collecting, preserving and making accessible primary resource material of unique and enduring research value to graduates, faculty and other researchers.
UWC Special Collections focus on the history of or activities within the Western Cape including works dealing with Cape Flats, San and District Six as well as Sub-Saharan Africa. Items outside of the focus area maybe included on condition that the item complements or adds value to books already in the collection.
The collection holds a valuable assortment of books and pamphlets, which are a mine of information for researchers in particular South African socio-political history areas. Regular evaluation ensures the collections remain aligned with changes in focus or priorities of the University and its research community.
Reference Services: Special Collections staff provide reference services at the reference desk on Level 12, assisting users by answering questions on the holdings and identifying and locating material of interest. Orientation includes general information about the collection and how to use it effectively.
Photocopying: All photocopying of material is subject to copyright regulations. A photocopy machine is available on level 12.