+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Ebooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Accounting books are mainly located on Level 7 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
SUBJECT |
DDC NO. |
|---|---|
| Ethics for accountants and auditors |
Level 5 Short Loan 174.4 ETH |
| Performance auditing | Level 7 352.4390968 PRI |
| Graded tutorials on auditing | Level 7 657.45 GRA |
| Management and cost accounting | Level 7 658.1511 MAN |
Core Principles of Accounting by
Core Principles of Accounting contains a strong African perspective and begins with a chapter on the development of accounting, which describes how accounting developed in Africa, looks into the different accounting bodies in South Africa and their operations, the advent of technology and the future of accounting. The textbook includes the latest definitions in accounting as per the Revised Conceptual Framework of the IASB (2018b), as well as the newly promulgated standard on revenue recognition (IFRS 15).
Introduction to Financial Accounting by
This textbook is an adaptation by Athabasca University of the original text written by D. Annand and H. Dauderis. It is intended for use in entry-level college and university courses in financial accounting. A corporate approach is utilized consistently throughout the book. The adapted textbook includes multiple ancillary student and instructor resources. Student aids include solutions to all end-of-chapter questions and problems, and randomly-generated spreadsheet problems that cover key concepts of each chapter. These provide unlimited practice and feedback for students. Instructor aids include an exam bank, lecture slides, and a comprehensive end-of-term case assignment. This requires students to prepare 18 different year-end adjusting entries and all four types of financial statements, and to calculate and analyze 16 different financial statement ratios. Unique versions can be created for any number of individual students or groups. Tailored solutions are provided for instructors. Th
Accounting information systems by
"For one-semester undergraduate or graduate courses in accounting information systems. Accounting Information Systems delivers the most unprecedented coverage of each major approach to teaching AIS, giving instructors the opportunity to reorder chapters and focus the material to suit their individual course needs. The 15th edition, global edition covers all of the most recent updates in AIS, including how developments in IT affect business processes and controls, the effect of recent regulatory developments on the design and operation of accounting systems, and how accountants can use AIS to add value to an organisation. Not only will students see how AIS has changed the role of an accountant, but they'll also be prepared for a successful accounting career in public practice, industry, or government." -- provided by publisher.
Understaning IFRS for Small SMEs (reprint Version) by
Understanding IFRS for SMEs introduces the fundamental accounting principles required to understand and apply the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) for Small and Medium-sized Entities (SMEs). This book uses an easy-to-understand conceptual approach to explain the requirements for preparing financial statements in accordance with IFRS for SMEs. The explanations are supported with source references that direct readers to the text as written in the standard. In addition, illustrative examples show how the underlying concepts are operationalised in the practice of accounting. Although the text is designed to provide guidance to those wishing to understand IFRS for SMEs, it refers to the full IFRS standards where appropriate, so that those readers who want to compare the requirements in the two IFRS standards may be able to do so.
Taxation : a transaction-based approach by
"Taxation: A Transaction-Based Approach presents a new and unique integrated approach to the law of taxation in South Africa. Thorough in depth and scope, the text offers a clear and concise discussion of the concepts, principles, application and ethics of the discipline. Presenting a coherent, systematic framework that encourages applied competence, this book supports readers to master the subject matter and to confidently develop integrated knowledge. Designed to support advanced problem-solving competence, this text offers a transaction-based approach. The text presents a clear conceptual framework that guides readers to establish the facts surrounding any domestic or cross-border transaction, and, with an enquiring approach, focusses on discovering all of the tax issues that might arise when any single transaction, or series of transactions, occurs. Taxation: A Transaction-Based Approach is suited as core course material for students of all disciplines, who are studying taxation at undergraduate or postgraduate level. In equal measure, this work is a valuable reference for legal, financial and accounting professionals whose discipline is applied to taxation."
A Dictionary of Accounting by
This best-selling dictionary includes more than 3,800 entries covering all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. Its international coverage includesimportant terms from UK, US, Australia, India, and Asia-Pacific.Over 150 new entries have been added to this edition to reflect the very latest developments in the accounting profession, e.g. Accounting Coucil, European Financial Stability Mechanism, and General Anti-Abuse Rule. In addition, existing entries have been updated to cover the latest developments,most notably the Financial Reporting Standard Applicable in the UK and the Republic of Ireland, which sets out new rules in areas such as goodwill, hedge accounting, and fair value accounting. There is increased coverage of topics such as corporate governance, accounting ethics, accounting scandals,and major firms and professional bodies.With its authoritative and accessible definitions and its wide-ranging coverage, this dictionary is essential for students and professionals in accounting and finance. It is also an ideal source of reference for anyone seeking a clear guide to the often-confusing world of accountancy terms.
Dictionary of Accounting by
This comprehensive dictionary covers a wide range of topics related to accountancy, including personal finance, investments and company accounts. Ideal for students of accountancy, users without a background in accounting and those working in company accounts departments. 'Clear as day... This dictionary provides an extremely thorough guide to the terms we use in accounting... For students beginning the AAT qualification and people from a non-accounting background, this book will be extremely useful.' - Accounting Technician
Juta's Concise Dictionary of Accounting Terms by
This dictionary aims to aid anyone who communicates in business. Emphasis is on general-purpose definitions which should be useful to a wide range of readers. This edition also includes the terms in Afrikaans.
Dictionary of Accounting and Finance by
From Angel to zero-coupon, this cross-referenced dictionary aims to provide a reference source for the arcane, erudite and everyday language of the financial world. Apart from mainstream accounting and finance, the author has included the more frequently encountered terms for pensions, company law, taxation, insurance, investment and foreign exchange, where there is an increasing overlap between traditional boundaries. Recently coined buzz words and jargon from the City are covered and over 2500 terms are defined. This dictionary is suitable for first-year students of accounting following a professional, degree, HND or A-Level course as well as practising accountants and business people seeking to broaden their knowledge of accounting terminology.
A concept-based introduction to financial accounting by
Accounting literature refers to the procedural and conceptual approaches in the teaching of an introductory accounting course. This book integrates these two approaches by teaching students to understand the why, before considering the how of accounting. The pedagogical philosophy used here is referred to as the 'concepts model', hence the title. This impacts on both the order of teaching the topics as well as how various topics are taught. The effect of the concepts-based approach is particularly evident in the chapters that relate to the accounting process which give students a complete, conceptual understanding of the underlying transactions before applying the accounting equation and then only processing the transactions through bookkeeping entries. By this means, students are able to acquire a conceptual understanding of each topic before considering the procedural aspects. The seventh edition of A Concepts Based Introduction to Financial Accounting is up to date with the requirements of the 2018 as well as the current requirements of International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS). This book is accompanied by Questions, Exercises and Problems in Financial Accounting: A Concepts-based Introduction by the same author
Questions, exercises and problems in financial accounting : a concepts-based introduction by 
Financial Accounting by
The fifth edition of Financial Accounting: IFRSRG Principles is a concepts-based South African text that assumes a basic knowledge of financial accounting, and then helps readers understand and apply the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSRG Standards). It also references the IFRSfor SMEsRG Standard, which is applicable to small and medium-sized enterprises. The book has been updated to bring it in line with the 2018 Conceptual Framework. It has been revised to be more accessible, and now includes simpler, more concise explanations, conceptual diagrams and additional workedexamples.The pedagogy of the book supports the development of crucial strategies and sound financial reporting knowledge, providing an excellent balance between theory, practice and strategy. It is suitable for second and third-year courses in financial accounting on the Chartered Accountant orGeneral Accountant stream at universities as well as universities of technology
Fundamental Accounting by
Fundamental Accounting presents basic, yet essential knowledge required for first-year Financial Accounting courses at universities and universities of technology. This ninth edition builds on the excellent foundations of previous editions, to include: updated legislative compliance chapters aligned to the Companies Act 71 of 2008 and IFRS updates to chapters and the questions that are affected by the discontinuation of cheques. These changes especially impact Chapter 11, but will also see smaller amendments in the other foundational chapter leading to the main chapter on cash transactions; an updated chapter on the framework of accounting with exam-standard questions added, along with illustrative examples to guide your approach in answering questions. This books easy-to-understand presentation of complex accounting concepts and principles, its logical, conceptual approach and numerous working examples make the content accessible and the study of Accounting less intimidating. Excel with Fundamental Accounting - your first step to success and a solid foundation for further studies in Accounting.
Fundamentals of Cost and Management Accounting by
As we emerge from the covid-19 pandemic, we still endure economic after-effects, such as major supply-chain issues and high inflation. Thus we are reminded of how vital cost and management accounting principles are in navigating through such volatile and complex periods. This textbook provides a solid foundation for cost and management accounting in a dynamic world. Since the previous edition several developments have been made in the related fields of accounting and finance. The first significant development is the revised conceptual Framework for Financial Reporting (March 2018) by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), which is now in effect. As prescribed by the revised Conceptual Framework, the updated definitions of an asset and a liability were integrated into the textbook. The second development was the new 2019 Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) syllabus. Consideration was given to these changes, specifically to the P1 and P2 learning outcomes, and the new insights were incorporated into the textbook. The textbook includes additions such as theory of constraints and throughput accounting, target costing, life-cycle costing, and performance evaluation in the not-for-profit and public sectors. Historically, these more advanced concepts in management accounting were excluded but have since become standard concepts in any cost and management accounting course. The needs of the South African universities and emerging South African professionals have been considered as part of this edition. We hope that every cost and management accounting student finds the delivery of the principles and concepts in this textbook easy to grasp and useful in real-world scenarios.
Taxation : a transaction-based approach by
"Taxation: A Transaction-Based Approach presents a new and unique integrated approach to the law of taxation in South Africa. Thorough in depth and scope, the text offers a clear and concise discussion of the concepts, principles, application and ethics of the discipline. Presenting a coherent, systematic framework that encourages applied competence, this book supports readers to master the subject matter and to confidently develop integrated knowledge. Designed to support advanced problem-solving competence, this text offers a transaction-based approach. The text presents a clear conceptual framework that guides readers to establish the facts surrounding any domestic or cross-border transaction, and, with an enquiring approach, focusses on discovering all of the tax issues that might arise when any single transaction, or series of transactions, occurs. Taxation: A Transaction-Based Approach is suited as core course material for students of all disciplines, who are studying taxation at undergraduate or postgraduate level. In equal measure, this work is a valuable reference for legal, financial and accounting professionals whose discipline is applied to taxation."
Taxation of individuals simplified 2022 by
“This book was written with the first year/first time income tax student in mind. It uses simple language and the unique aspects of the book are the flow charts used to visually explain some of the more complicated aspects of taxation, the inclusion of a glossary, and the reproductions of the actual forms that SARS requires. This makes for a very practical application of the theory being taught. It covers all the topics needed by a taxpayer who is required to fill in an IT12 tax return, which means that it will not only be valuable to the students, but also to the 'man on the street' who wishes to understand and learn more about his taxable income calculation. The benefit of working through the book is that taxpayers will know what is expected of them during the income tax assessment process and will be able to verify their income tax calculations. All examples and practical application questions in the book relate to the year of assessment from 1 March to 28 February (the year of assessment). Unless indicated otherwise, all dates fall into the aforementioned tax year.”--
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
