+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and prescribed Textbooks.
You can find books in the library by searching library catalogue, uKwazi , use search box below the page. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Print books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and School of Business Finance books are mainly located on Level 7 of the Main Library, on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
| Subject | DDC |
|---|---|
| Management | 658 |
| Financial Management | 658.15 |
| Personnel Management | 658.3 |
| Strategic Management | 658.401 |
| Production and Operations Management | 658.5 |
| Supply Chain Management | 658.7 |
| Marketing Management | 658.8 |
| Advertising | 659.1 |
The list contains some of the latest book titles available in your subject area. To search for more titles in your topic area, search uKwazi
Creating the New African University by
"Creating the New African University grapples with the existence of African universities, particularly in post-independent Africa, where Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) are expected to live up to the expectations of being adaptive in dealing with prevalent complex, dynamic contemporary and future challenges facing African societies. The book tackles the issue of what ought to be done for African universities to maintain a structure and identity that ensures their relevance in Africa's development through generating and transforming knowledge into actions for the common good. It engages issues within the context of how post-colonial transformative obligations have been managed in light of the prevalent epistemological and pedagogical underpinnings that form the foundations of these universities as they seek to break from the clutches of colonial legacies. This book further highlights an urgent need to do away with silos and embrace a multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary, transdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary dialogical approach towards knowledge generation. Such an approach is essential in efforts aimed at enhancing the sustainable reconfiguration of university structures and functions whilst linking knowledge produced to diverse social, economic and political facets of African societies in ways that promote and sustain competitiveness in a rapidly globalising world beset with technological advancements"--
Delivering Entrepreneurship Education in Africa by
Entrepreneurship education is crucial for economic development. However, its current focus on Western pedagogy raises concerns about its relevance in Africa. The lack of African-oriented definitions of entrepreneurship education may be connected to the limited interest in entrepreneurship as a career in the region. Unlike developed countries, where entrepreneurship drives innovative industries, African entrepreneurship is often driven by survivalist intentions. This raises questions about how entrepreneurship in Africa contributes to the economy without promoting creative innovation. Given these factors, evaluating the role of entrepreneurship education in this context is essential. Delivering Entrepreneurship Education in Africabrings together a collection of academic studies that offer an in-depth analysis of the current state of entrepreneurship education in Africa. The chapter authors engage discussions on how to make entrepreneurship education an attractive field of study for African students. The chapters critique the current teaching styles of entrepreneurship and suggests creative ways of improving entrepreneurship pedagogy while offering approaches to make it an attractive field of study. Delivering Entrepreneurship Education in Africaappeals to academics, teachers, researchers, policymakers, planners, curriculum designers and entrepreneurs.
Optimization Modeling for Supply Chain Applications by
How to design an efficient and cost-effective logistics network? How to plan procurement, production, and transportation to meet customer demand with minimum operating costs? How to sequence jobs through machines for on-time order completion? And how to dispatch vehicles and schedule their routes to serve customers efficiently?Answers to these questions are key to effective and efficient supply chain operations. This book provides a systematic and comprehensive coverage of data-driven optimization modeling techniques and their applications in supply chain management. From the methodological perspective, it introduces various model building techniques including mathematical programming (linear and integer programming), network optimization, and constraint programming. From the application perspective, it covers the topics of supply chain network design, production planning, supply chain configuration, machine scheduling, and vehicle routing, among others. It also introduces the state-of-the-art optimization modeling software, the CPLEX OPL Studio, as a powerful and accessible tool for implementing the modeling techniques and solution methods in this book. Sample codes will be available upon purchase of the book.This book is essential reading material for researchers and students in business, data analytics, industrial engineering, computer science and applied math who would like to learn optimization modeling in the context of supply chains. It is also suitable for practitioners and consultants in industry who would like to understand the behind-the-scene techniques in off-the-shelf commercial optimization software. As a textbook, it can be used for an advanced undergraduate or graduate course in supply chain management, operations management, data analytics, economics, and industrial engineering.
Research methods for business students by
Research, reflective diaries and the purpose of this book -- Generating a research idea and developing your -- research proposal -- Critically reviewing the literature -- Understanding research philosophy and approaches to theory -- development -- Formulating the research design -- Negotiating access and research ethics -- Selecting samples -- Obtaining and evaluating secondary data -- Collecting primary data through observation -- Collecting primary data using interviews and diaries -- Collecting primary data using questionnaires -- Analysing data quantitatively -- Analysing data qualitatively -- Writing and presenting your project report.
Entrepreneurship & new venture management by
The new edition has been streamlined and chapters have been consolidated to ensure that the text is user-friendly and accessible to students studying entrepreneurship at universities and universities of technology. The book uses practical examples to demonstrate the real-life application of the theory
Entrepreneurship Marketing by
Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) dominate the market in terms of sheer number of organisations; yet, scholarly resource materials to assist in honing skills and competencies have not kept pace. This well renowned textbook guides students through the complexities of entrepreneurship from the unique perspective of marketing in SME contexts, providing a clear grounding in the principles, practices, strategies, challenges, and opportunities faced by businesses today. SMEs now need to step up to the terrain of mobile marketing and consumer-generated marketing and utilise social media marketing tools. Similarly, the activities of various stakeholders in SME businesses like start-up accelerators, business incubators, and crowdfunding have now gained more prominence in SME activities. This second edition advances grounds covered in the earlier edition and has been fully updated to reflect this new, dynamic business landscape. Updates include: A consideration of social media imperatives on SME marketing; Discussion of forms of capital formation and deployment for marketing effectiveness, including crowdfunding; Updated international case studies drawn from diverse backgrounds; Hands-on practical explorations based on real-life tasks to encourage deeper understanding. This book is perfect for students studying SMEs, Marketing and Enterprise at both advanced undergraduate and postgraduate levels, as well as professionals looking to obtain the required knowledge to operate their businesses in this increasingly complex and turbulent marketing environment.
Essentials of Business Research Methods by
In an era of big data and data analytics, how can managers make decisions based on almost unlimited information, not to mention hiring and retaining individuals with the required data analytics skills? The new fourth edition of Essentials of Business Research Methods explains research methods and analytical techniques for individuals who aren't data scientists. The authors offer a straightforward, hands-on approach to the vital managerial process of gathering and using data to make relevant and timely business decisions. They include critical topics, such as the increasing role of online research, ethical issues, privacy matters, data analytics, customer relationship management, how to conduct information-gathering activities more effectively in a rapidly changing business environment, and more. This is also the only text that includes a chapter on qualitative data analysis, and the coverage of quantitative data analysis is more extensive as well as much easier to understand than in other texts. A realistic continuing case used throughout the book, applied research examples, and ethical dilemma mini cases enable upper-level undergraduate and postgraduate students to see how business research information is used in the real world. This comprehensive textbook is supported by a range of online resources, including instructors' manuals, PowerPoint slides, and test banks.
Human resource management in South Africa by Research methodology : business and management contexts by
Research Methodology: Business and Management Contexts 2e provides students with a clear conceptual framework for conducting research in a step-by-step manner. While the textbook is pragmatic in its approach and acknowledges the South African context, it also equips students with different research traditions and methods. The textbook – based on a widely respected international title – follows a problem-solving approach, which is suitable to current global and local business environments.
Workers' Self-Management in Argentina by
In Workers' Self-Management in Argentina, Marcelo Vieta homes in on the emergence and consolidation of Argentina's empresas recuperadas por sus trabajadores (ERTs, worker-recuperated enterprises), a workers' occupy movement that surged at the turn-of-the-millennium in the thick of the country's neo-liberal crisis. Since then, around 400 companies have been taken over and converted to cooperatives by almost 16,000 workers. Grounded in class-struggle Marxism and a critical sociology of work, the book situates the ERT movement in Argentina's long tradition of working-class activism and the broader history of workers' responses to capitalist crisis. Beginning with the voices of the movement's protagonists, Vieta ultimately develops a compelling social theory of autogesti n - a politically prefigurative and ethically infused notion of workers' self-management that unleashes radical social change for work organisations, surrounding communities, and beyond.
Beyond Language Learning Instruction by
Educators all over the world are being challenged to provide effective instruction for culturally and linguistically diverse learners and immigrant communities while valuing and celebrating students' cultural backgrounds. This task requires training, professional development, cultural sensitivity, and responsibility to promote positive outcomes. Language Learning Instruction for Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Students: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a critical research publication that bridges linguistics theory and practice and comprehensively addresses all fundamentals of linguistics through the English language learning lens. Featuring topics such as curriculum design, immigrant students, and professional development, this book is essential for educators, academicians, administrators, curriculum designers, instructional designers, researchers, policymakers, and students.
Honor Thy Label by
From Dr. Bronner's head of special operations Gero Leson, Honor Thy Label is the inside story of how a family-run soap company created a new fair trade and organic supply chain from the ground up. Through stories of harrowing setbacks and hard-won triumphs in projects that spanned the globe, Leson illuminates the challenges of building and scaling ethical production for increasingly popular products - and ultimately, the immense benefits for communities and the environment.
Political Values and Narratives of Resistance by
This book brings together multidisciplinary perspectives to explore how political values and acts of resistance impact the delivery of social justice in post-colonial states. Everyday life in post-colonial states, such as South Africa and Zimbabwe, is characterized by injustices that have both a historical and contemporary nature. From fishers in Cape Town accused of poaching, to residents of Bulawayo demanding access to water, this book focuses on the relationship between the state and groups that have been historically oppressed due to being on the margins of the political, economic and social system. It draws on empirical research from 12 scholars looking at cases in Brazil, India, South Africa and Zimbabwe. Chapters explore questions such as what citizens, especially those from marginalized groups, want from the state. The book looks at the political values of citizens and how these are formed in the process of engaging with the state and through everyday injustices. It also asks why and how citizens resist the state, with examples of protest, as well as less visible forms of resistance reflecting complex histories and power relations. Finally, the book explores how narratives and counter-narratives reveal the nature of political values and perceptions of what is just. Taken together these elements show the evolution of post-colonial social contracts. Examining important themes in political science, anthropology, sociology and urban geography, this book will appeal to scholars and students interested in political values, justice, social movements and resistance.
Quantitative Investment Analysis, Workbook by
The thoroughly revised and updated fourth edition of the companion workbook to Quantitative Investment Analysis is here. Now in its fourth edition, the Quantitative Investment Analysis Workbook offers a range of practical information and exercises that will facilitate your mastery of quantitative methods and their application in today's investment process. Part of the reputable CFA Institute Investment Series, the workbook is designed to further your hands-on experience with a variety of learning outcomes, summary overview sections, and challenging problems and solutions. The workbook provides all the statistical tools and latest information to help you become a confident and knowledgeable investor, including expanded problems on Machine Learning algorithms and the role of Big Data in investment contexts. Well suited for motivated individuals who learn on their own, as well as a general reference, this companion resource delivers a clear, example-driven method for practicing the tools and techniques covered in the primary Quantitative Investment Analysis, 4th Edition text.?? Inside you'll find information and exercises to help you: Work real-world problems associated with the modern quantitative investment process Master visualizing and summarizing data Review the fundamentals of single linear and multiple linear regression Use multifactor models Measure and manage market risk effectively In both the workbook and the primary Quantitative Investment Analysis, 4th Edition text, the authors go to great lengths to ensure an even treatment of subject matter, consistency of mathematical notation, and continuity of topic coverage that is critical to the learning process. For everyone who requires a streamlined route to mastering quantitative methods in investments, Quantitative Investment Analysis Workbook, 4th Edition offers world-class practice based on actual scenarios faced by professionals every day.
Defence Diplomacy and National Security Strategy by
The post-cold war era presented security challenges that at one level are a continuation of the cold war era; at another level, these phenomena manifested in new forms. Whether the issues of economics and trade, transfer of technologies, challenges of intervention, or humanitarian crisis, the countries of the South (previously pejoratively labelled "Third World" or "developing" countries) have continued to address these challenges within the framework of their capabilities and concerns. The volume explores defence diplomacies, national security challenges and strategies, dynamics of diplomatic manoeuvers and strategic resource management of Latin American, southern African and Asian countries. This path-breaking work is a fresh addition to the comparative literature on defence and security studies that links concepts and cases, giving voice to scholars related to the Global South and not to the Western powers. Emphasising history, political economy, the military, (human) security and politics, contributors to this innovative volume demonstrate 'how the past reappears because it is a hidden present', to paraphrase novelist Octavio Paz. A capita selecta of case studies and dialogue engendered thereby hold much promise for academic researchers, theorists, expert practitioners, security and political practitioners, policymakers and students. Apart from comparative potential, the analyses reflect a purposeful blend of theory, history and substance - indeed a worthy and valuable venture in current times.
Reinvent Your Business Model by
Named a Top 10 Business Strategy Book of 2018 by Inc. magazine In his pioneering book Seizing the White Space, Mark W. Johnson argued that business model innovation is the most proven path to transformational growth. Since then, Uber, Airbnb, and other startups have disrupted whole industries; incumbents such as Blockbuster, Sears, Toys "R" Us, and BlackBerry have fallen by the wayside; and digital transformation has become one of the business world's hottest (and least understood) slogans. Nearly a decade later, the art and science of business model innovation is more relevant than ever. In this revised, updated, and newly titled edition, Johnson provides an eminently practical framework for understanding how a business model actually works. Identifying its four fundamental building blocks, he lays out a structured and repeatable process for reinventing an existing business model or creating a new one and then incubating and scaling it into a profitable and thriving enterprise. In a new chapter on digital transformation, he shows how serial transformers like Amazon leverage business model innovation so successfully. With rich new case studies of companies that have achieved new success and postmortems of those that haven't, Reinvent Your Business Model will show you how to: Determine if and when your organization needs a new business model Identify powerful new opportunities to serve your existing customers in existing markets Reach entirely new customers and create new markets through disruptive business models and products Seize opportunities for growth opened up by tectonic shifts in market demand, government policy, and technologies Make business model innovation a more predictable discipline inside your organization Business model innovation has the power to reshape whole industries--including retail, aviation, media, and technology--redistributing billions of dollars of value. This book gives you the tools to reshape your own company for enduring success. Reinvent Your Business Model is the strategic innovation playbook you need now and in the future.
Find print textbooks in the Short Loans Collection on Level 5. eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on the uKwazi library search engine. Use uKwazi to check the availability of these books.
Entrepreneurial skills by 
Introduction to business management by
"Introduction to Business Management 11e offers an overview of business management within the South African context. The textbook is written for undergraduate students who are doing a course in introductory business management as part of their degree or diploma at a university or university of technology."--Publisher's description.
Principles of business management by
What tasks do business managers have to fulfill? What are the plans which you need to put in place to ensure success? How important is financial management? How can you lead and motivate your staff? Principles of Business Management third edition is a foundational text that provides a solid theoretical grounding in general management principles such as leadership, motivation, and control. It emphasizes management functions such as marketing, finance, operations management, and purchasing and supply chain management, and gives attention to the entrepreneurial process. The textbook also provides guidance on writing a business plan. Features such as Readers, Critical thinking boxes, case studies and revision questions engage the student and facilitate the application of learning. Principles of Business Management third edition provides an excellent introduction for entry-level Business Management students. It is suitable for students at universities and universities of technology who plan to go into management in the private or NGO sectors or intend to become entrepreneurs
Financial management by
Now in its 10th edition, Financial Management is the leading text on the theory and application of corporate finance in southern Africa. Set against the backdrop of recent developments in financial markets, instruments and financial theory, the text refers to real-world applications and financial decisions by South African companies --
Global marketing by
"Globalization is the growing interdependence of national economies - involving primarily customers, producers, suppliers and governments in different markets. Global marketing therefore reflects the trend of firms selling and distributing products and services in many countries around the world"-- Provided by publisher.
Management principles : a contemporary edition for Africa by
Management principles: a contemporary edition Africa, focuses on these core management principles. It provides learners with a sound knwledge of the business environment, how to manage scarce resources, and the functions of planning, organising, leading and controlling. The book also highlights the importance of sound decision-making, information management, optimising a diverse workforce, managing different organisational cultures, managing people (individuals, groups and teams) and business ethics
Contemporary management principles by
Change is the distinguishing characteristic of the business environment across the world and it affects how contemporary organisations operate. While organisations need to do more with less, they also have to satisfy the needs of their customers who, with more exposure to local and global markets, have higher expectations relating to the cost, quality, speed and innovation of the services and products they purchase from these organisations. In response to the changes in their business environment, organisations are becoming flatter, networked, global, more flexible and diverse and managers hav.
Operations management by
Operations Management is a leading introductory text which focuses on the fundamental theory necessary within the production and service industries.
Management by
What managerial competencies are required for the workplace? What does corporate social responsibility involve? What is the importance of ethical decision-making in the business world and how do you contribute towards improving ethical conduct in the work place? The focus of Management 5thedition is to establish the vital competencies of communication; planning and financial management; teamwork; strategic action; global awareness; and emotional intelligence as a necessity to the foundation of management practice. The text prepares students for the workplace within the field ofmanagement using practical examples and experiential exercises so that they can apply this knowledge. Management is an introductory text written for students who are studying general management as part of an undergraduate course, either at a university or a university of technology.The fifth edition of Management includes:- A chapter opening case study to familiarise students with the theoretical concepts covered in the particular chapter as well as indicating how these concepts apply in the business world.- Managerial competency features and competency development exercises to prepare students for advancing in their management studies and to prepare them for the workplace within this field.- Contemporary management in practice and South African insight features that offer practical examples and experiential exercises to give students the opportunity to apply their knowledge.- Discussion questions at the end of each chapter to test students understanding of the content covered.
Business Transformations in the Era of Digitalization by
In order to establish and maintain a successful company in the digital age, managers are digitally transforming their organizations to include such tools as disruptive technologies and digital data to improve performance and efficiencies. As these companies continue to adopt digital technologies to improve their businesses and create new revenues and value-producing opportunities, they must also be aware of the challenges digitalization can present. Business Transformations in the Era of Digitalization is a collection of innovative research on the latest trends, business opportunities, and challenges in the digitalization of businesses. Highlighting a range of topics including business-IT alignment, cloud computing, Internet of Things (IoT), business sustainability, small and medium-sized enterprises, and digital entrepreneurship, this book is ideally designed for managers, professionals, consultants, entrepreneurs, and researchers.
Individual book titles sourced from a variety of subscription database platforms available on the Library web site.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
