Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za

ukwazi 2   

School of Natural Medicine

Search for Journal Articles

       

 

The Library subscribes to various databases that assist our users in finding relevant and current information for their research or assignments. Begin your search for articles by exploring the databases below.

The list below are the core databases which cover Natural Medicine disciplines.

Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
CINAHL (EbscoHost)
Credo Reference
EbscoHost
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EbscoHost)
Medline
PEDro
PubMed
SA ePublications (SABINET)
SAGE Journals Online
ScienceDirect
Wiley Online Library
Some additional databases for Natural Medicine:
BioMed Central
Cambridge Journals Online
Cochrane Library
ERIC (EbscoHost)
JSTOR
Oxford Journals Online
Poverty Monitoring Database
PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
Pubmed Central
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
SCOPUS
SocIndex (EbscoHost)
SpringerLink

Search the Library's A-Z Databases finding journal articles on a particular topic,  by selecting one of the core databases listed on your left hand side. The Full Text Finder allows you to browse through the journal contents page, searching within the journal and finding full text of a journal article. You can also search uKwazi (Library Search Engine) for articles on your assignment.

How to find information on your research topic searching CINAHL Plus (Ebscohost)

What are Open Access Resources (OAR)

 

Open-access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Peter Suber (2015)

Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives (SPARC).

Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)

 

How do I find the Full Text of an Article?

 

Search the Library's Full Text Finder to find full text of journal articles. Make sure that you have the full journal article citation when searching for the article.  Enter  the title of the journal in the search box. You can also search within Public Health journals finding full text articles. Please click on the document to guide you.

Inter Library Loans Service (ILL)

 

The Interlibrary Loans (ILL) service allows for material (ie, books and journal articles) not held in our library, to be borrowed from other libraries within the system, or from libraries abroad if not available locally. Users can request books or journal articles by clicking here to authenticate yourself and  complete a form. Alternatively email  interlending@uwc.ac.za (ILL).

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

University of the Western Cape,

Robert Sobukwe Road,

Bellville,

7535

Tel: 021 959 2946