Skip to Main Content
+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za

ukwazi 2   

Covidence

 

The bulk PDF Import tool is a premium feature available on all paid and Cochrane reviews that enables you to upload all of your full text review PDFs at once.

To use the tool, follow the three steps below.

Step 1: Export full text review reference list from Covidence.

A. From your review's summary page in Covidence, go to the Export studies tool to the right-hand side of 'Review Summary.’

B. Select ‘Full text review’ under ‘Stage’ and then pick EndNote.

C. Click ‘Export' and download the file from the 'Recent exports' list below.

Please note: If you don't want to export the full list of references in Full Text Review but only those which do not already have full texts attached, you can do this by selecting 'Studies missing full text' from the dropdown menu under 'Stage':

 

Step 2: Import the references into EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley and link associated PDFs to the references.

A. Import the references to your selected reference manager.

  • Tip: For Endnote users, choose the Import Option for Reference Manager (RIS).

B. Find the PDFs and attach them to the corresponding reference.

  • This can be done manually, or by using automated find full text feature available in many reference managers.
  • Now is a good time to make sure that all of your associated PDFs are stored in one location, or consider using an automated find-PDF feature where PDFs are automatically filed by your reference manager in a programme-specific directory. Doing so will make Step 3E much easier!

C. Use your reference manager to rename the PDFs attached to the references.

  • Tip: Use Title-Year formatting for best performance

Step 3: Export references from your reference manager and import into Covidence

 

A. Export the list of references from the reference manager in EndNote XML format.

  • Tip: It’s helpful to have the XML file only contain the references that will have PDFs uploaded in Covidence, as the system may become ‘clogged’ if an entire reference library is imported and then very few PDF imports follow.
  • Tip: if you're using EndNote, select "all fields" when exporting.

B. Navigate to your review summary page on Covidence and click on the ‘Full text screening’ section.

C. Click ‘continue,’ and then the ‘Bulk upload PDFs’ button.

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

University of the Western Cape,

Robert Sobukwe Road,

Bellville,

7535

Tel: 021 959 2946