You can start Full text review as soon as there are studies available in the Full text review tool.
Covidence automatically adds the full text of open access articles when a study moves into Full text review. The rest can be added either individually or in bulk.
Watch the tutorial to see how Full text review works in Covidence.
Customising exclusion reasons
You have complete control over your list of exclusion reasons. Covidence currently has two ways to customize the list of exclusion reasons.
Edit the list from the Settings area
Click the Settings tool from your review dashboard, then click Criteria & exclusion reasons. Click the Manage exclusion reasons button, located second in this list.
Edit the list whilst performing full text review
When you vote to exclude a study you will have to select the reason why you feel this study should be excluded. To do this, first click the Exclude button for the study you want to exclude. This action will reveal a dropdown menu asking you to specify your reason for excluding the study. Select the Edit this list option from the dropdown. You'll then see a pop-up prompting you to add an exclusionreason. Enter your exclusion reason in the text box provided and click the Add button. Your new exclusion reason will appear at the top of the list below. Once you've added all of your exclusion reasons, click Done to save your work, dismiss the pop-up and return to Covidence full text review.
When authors disagree about whether a reference should be moved from screening to full-text, or from full-text to included/excluded, it will appear in the Resolve conflicts page.
Covidence has chosen to blind the votes even during conflict resolution, instead choosing to display only who provided the conflicting votes. This is with the goal of minimising bias in the conflict-resolving vote.
Title and Abstract conflicts:
In this page, you will see who voted, and three options for the final decision: yes, no, and maybe. Note that a 'maybe' vote will move the reference into full-text screening.
Full Text conflicts:
In this page, you will see who voted. If there is one vote for inclusion and one for exclusion, your voting option will be either include or exclude. If both reviewers have voted to exclude but disagree on the reason, you will have to make a final decision on the reason for exclusion.
You can view a short video on the scenarios in which a conflict arises, as well as the consequences of resolving them below:
