+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books and eBooks to support your studies. Level 11 of the library is where you will find books on Anthropology shelved on the left-hand side from Dewey 301. For eBooks, you can search for and access them via uKwazi.
The tabs on this page highlight some of the books available on the subject of Anthropology: New Books and Reference Books.
The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi. For a more detailed guide try our uKwazi interactive tutorial.
While the Library still maintains strong print collections, it is important to note that many of our newest books are available only in electronic format. This is especially so in the Social Sciences but can also be true of some critical or highly-used works on other subjects.
It is therefore essential to use the library catalogue, uKwazi, which has hotlinks to the electronic books, since browsing the physical collection alone will cause you to miss the up-to-date, new material added to the Library holdings over the last few years.
Working with and for ancestors: Collaboration in the care and study of ancestral remains by 
Social Policy in the African Context by 
Nationalism, Politics & Anthropology : a tale of two South Africans : conversations with C.S. Van der Waal & John Sharp by 
The Human Past
Here is a new, fourth edition of this authoritative introductory survey of world prehistory, spanning the past 3,000,000 years and written by a team of twenty-four expert authors. This edition has been radically updated to be more thematic and accessible: chapters are connected by new key themes boxes (climate change, domestication, migration, social inequality and urbanism), which link global regions and encourage big-picture thinking. The text has been streamlined and the book's design completely revamped: it is now in full colour throughout, with more than 50% more colour images than the previous edition. There is increased coverage of the Americas, with a brand-new chapter, The Origins and Dispersal of the First Americans. Revisions take into account the latest sites and discoveries, including Homo naledi and the new LiDAR surveys of Angkor Wat. Each chapter begins with a newly designed, easier-to-use timeline, and features boxes on key sites, key discoveries, key controversies and, as above, key themes. All of the key methods boxes from the previous edition have been consolidated into the Introduction and now offer an up-front primer of archaeological methods and practices. Tables and maps are simplified and easier to use.
A black gaze : artists changing how we see by
In A Black Gaze, Tina Campt examines Black contemporary artists who are shifting the very nature of our interactions with the visual through their creation and curation of a distinctively Black gaze. Their work--from Deana Lawson's disarmingly intimate portraits to Arthur Jafa's videos of the everyday beauty and grit of the Black experience, from Kahlil Joseph's films and Dawoud Bey's photographs to the embodied and multimedia artistic practice of Okwui Okpokwasili, Simone Leigh, and Luke Willis Thompson--requires viewers to do more than simply look; it solicits visceral responses to the visualization of Black precarity. Campt shows that this new way of seeing shifts viewers from the passive optics of looking at to the active struggle of looking with, through, and alongside the suffering--and joy--of Black life in the present. The artists whose work Campt explores challenge the fundamental disparity that defines the dominant viewing practice: the notion that Blackness is the elsewhere (or nowhere) of whiteness. These artists create images that flow, that resuscitate and revalue the historical and contemporary archive of Black life in radical ways. Writing with rigor and passion, Campt describes the creativity, ingenuity, cunning, and courage that is the modus operandi of a Black gaze
Abolition. Feminism. Now.
Feminist organizing by marginalized populations such as queer, anticapitalist, and non-white women, has pushed for abolition as a response to forms of state and interpersonal gender and sexual violence, but have largely been erased from this political moment. Leading scholar-activists trace historical genealogies, internationalist learnings, and everyday practices to grow our collective present and future that don't include police or new jails
How Novels Think by
Nancy Armstrong argues that the history of the novel and the history of the modern individual are, quite literally, one and the same. She suggests that certain works of fiction created a subject, one displaying wit, will, or energy capable of shifting the social order to grant the exceptional person a place commensurate with his or her individual worth. Once the novel had created this figure, readers understood themselves in terms of a narrative that produced a self-governing subject. In the decades following the revolutions in British North America and France, the major novelists distinguished themselves as authors by questioning the fantasy of a self-made individual. To show how novels by Defoe, Austen, Scott, Bront#65533;, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy, Haggard, and Stoker participated in the process of making, updating, and perpetuating the figure of the individual, Armstrong puts them in dialogue with the writings of Locke, Hume, Rousseau, Malthus, Darwin, Kant, and Freud. Such theorists as Althusser, Balibar, Foucault, and Deleuze help her make the point that the individual was not one but several different figures. The delineation and potential of the modern subject depended as much upon what it had to incorporate as what alternatives it had to keep at bay to address the conflicts raging in and around the British novel.
White Reconstruction : Domestic Warfare and the Logics of Genocide by
White Reconstruction re-narrates the long ""post-civil rights"" half century. Working across a variety of archival, testimonial, visual, and activist texts, the book illustrates how anti-Black and racial-colonial domestic war not only survive periods of reform but are the conditions of dominance on which such reforms rely, and through which they often articulate
Chinese medicine in East Africa : an intimacy with strangers by
Based on fieldwork conducted between 2001-2008 in urban East Africa, this book explores who the patients, practitioners and paraprofessionals doing Chinese medicine were in this early period of renewed China-Africa relations. Rather than taking recourse to the 'placebo effect', the author explains through the spatialities and materialities of the medical procedures provided why - apart from purchasing the Chinese antimalarial called Artemisinin - locals would try out their 'alternatively modern' formulas for treating a wide range of post-colonial disorders and seek their sexual enhancement medicines
Compact Oxford English Dictionary for Students by
The Compact Oxford English Dictionary for Students is a brand-new title specifically designed to meet the needs of today's students. With over 144,000 words, phrases, and definitions, it offers comprehensive coverage of current English and is perfect for student reference and everyday studyneeds. A simple defining style, and a clear colour layout, ensure the dictionary text is accessible and easy to use.Throughout the dictionary text there are notes giving advice on the use of good English, and highlighting the differences between commonly confused words such as empathy and sympathy, and affect and effect, as well as thousands of example phrases showing words in context.The dictionary has been market-tested with both teachers and students. Of particular relevance is the centre supplement, which gives lots of practical information - how to research and take notes, how to write essays, dissertations, reports, and summaries, advice on note-taking and referencing, andpreparing CVs and job applications - to help students do better in their studies. It also provides help with English grammar, spelling, and punctuation, to help students get it right every time.As well as the printed book, there is an Online Resource Centre, accessed via weblinks given in the book, which gives additional information and study skills support.This portable and affordable dictionary is an essential reference tool for all college and university students who need practical advice and tips to tackle their studies, and those who want to write effectively and with confidence.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is the most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline. Under the guidance of Editor-in-Chief Hilary Callan - former director of the Royal Anthropological Institute (2000-2010) - and fourteen internationally-respected voices acting as Associate Editors, the Encyclopedia features contributions from a team of over 800 international scholars making this a work of unparalleled depth and breadth of knowledge. Over 1,000 entries, ranging from concise summaries to longer writings, present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world's most influential founding anthropologists. Organized alphabetically and written for both the specialist and the general reader, the Encyclopedia is a landmark reference resource for students and scholars engaged within the broad and dynamic field of anthropology, and those studying and working within the related disciplines of psychology, medicine, religious studies, and sociology. This work is also available as an online resource at www.encyclopediaofanthropology.com.
The International Encyclopedia of Biological Anthropology, 3 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Biological Anthropology features over 450 entries contributed by an international team of scholars, and presents an extensive and invaluable survey of this fascinating field. The Encyclopedia: Represents the first comprehensive encyclopedic reference relating to biological anthropology Features more than 450 entries covering topics ranging from ongoing human evolution, paleoanthropology, and non-human primates to paleopathology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology Includes interdisciplinary coverage of primatology, human biology, paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, anthropological genetics, and the history of biological anthropology An indispensable resource for undergraduate students and scholars engaged in the study and practice of biological anthropology and interrelated fields and disciplines. This work is also available as an online resource at: www.encyclopediaofbiologicalanthropology.com.
Palgrave Dictionary of Anthropology by
An authoritative reference work, the Macmillan Dictionary of Anthropology covers the entire range of scholarship in this field, from the early ethnographers to the most recent research. This concise guide provides succinct definitions of basic concepts, summarizes key issues and the development of the major theoretical schools, and discusses the contribution of some 250 British, American and European anthropologists. Its clear and lively style enables the reader to approach such formidable topics as the works of Levi-Strauss or the influence of semiology, and all 2000 entries are fully cross-referenced and include bibliographical details. The Dictionary is an introduction for the general reader, a handbook for students of anthropology and many related disciplines, and a reference tool for academic anthropologists. It covers both physical and cultural and social anthropology, takes account of literature in all languages, and, with its wide range and high level of scholarship, is a significant contribution to the understanding of its subject.
Peoples, Nations and Cultures by
A unique and comprehensive look at some 1,500 of the world's peoples--from the earliest times to the present--offers a fascinating exploration of our planet's cultural and ethnic diversity. Africa, the Americas, Europe, Central Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Oceania all receive individual sections, with maps and entries arranged in A-to-Z form. In addition to covering today's nation-states, there's information on the minorities who live in these countries (such as the Basques in Spain); the various diasporas created by dispersed peoples (Kurds, Jews); significant cultural, but non-ethnic groups, including Maronite Christians; and even extinct populations like the Goths.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
