Research articles are published in Research Journals, which are available via the Library in print or online. You can find, and access, suggested online Anthropology journals on the Key Journals tab, above.
If you are looking for an article (or Articles) on a particular topic it is better to search across many journals using Journal Databases. Databases the Library subscribes to are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above. You can also find and access online Anthropology research articles using the Databases by Discipline option on the library's homepage.
Anthropology Today is a bimonthly publication which aims to provide a forum for the application of anthropological analysis to public and topical issues, while reflecting the breadth of interests within the discipline of anthropology. It is also committed to promoting debate at the interface between anthropology and areas of applied knowledge such as education, medicine, development etc. as well as that between anthropology and other academic disciplines. Anthropology Today encourages submissions on a wide range of topics, consistent with these aims. Anthropology Today is an international journal both in the scope of issues it covers and in the sources it draws from.
Anthropology Southern Africa is firmly based within the region while also reaching out and attracting work by a range of regional and international scholars, who are committed to Southern African scholarship. The journal publishes peer-reviewed research articles, book reviews, commentary, and other material relevant to engaged scholarly discourse within and outside Anthropology. The journal is listed in the Thomson Reuters Social Science Citation Index.
Anthropology and Humanism concerns that central question of the discipline: what it is to be human. AH welcomes contributions from all major fields of anthropology and from scholars in other social science disciplines, as well as the humanities. It seeks to bring out the intricate and contradictory processes of life in other cultures--including those of anthropologists. Whether working with life histories or demographics, poetics or nutrition, artistic expression or scientific writing, this journal strives to maintain a focus on the human actors themselves.
Anthropology & Education Quarterly
Anthropology & Education Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal that draws on anthropological theories and methods to examine educational processes in and out of schools, in US and international contexts. AEQ encourages submissions of three types of research articles—research-based, reflections from or on the field, and creative. Research-based articles rely primarily on ethnographic research to address immediate problems of practice as well as broad theoretical questions. AEQ features articles based on views from/on the field and reflections on doing ethnography. AEQ provides an outlet for ethnographic short fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction to be featured in the creative section of the journal. In addition, the journal welcomes submissions of reviews of published books that come from a wide range of relevant topics in anthropology and education.
Databases often contain multiple records and for the best results, you need to know how best to search the different databases. The library offers training sessions on database use and provides guides to some of the databases, links are below:
You are also welcome to ask me, the Faculty Librarian, to assist you
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is:
24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology
ScienceDirect Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR Journals, full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. eBooks 70,000. DRM-free ebooks from scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. Primary Sources, More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item.
Google scholar can help you find many sources; however, may not be accessible to you as UWC library may not have a subscription with the publishers of the books or articles you find.
Sabinet South African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service Sabinet African Journals offers a user-friendly platform and encourages research efficacy. All international journal standards and statistics are adhered. The collection is the most comprehensive collection of its kind in the world.
Cambridge Core. Cambridge University Press is one of the leading publishers in anthropology. Our publishing programme showcases the best in scholarship, with particular strengths in social, cultural, and linguistic anthropology.
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article so there is no need to search multiple places. When the full text is not available you will be provided with options to request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Click on the logo above to visit the tutorial page.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Tel: 021 959 2946