+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The most up to date research and insights, in a particular field, tend to found in journals as these published more frequently than books. A further advantage of journals is that they are reviewed by experts in the subject, so you can trust the content.
It is better to search across many journals using Journal Databases, some are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above on the extreme right. You can also find and access online History research articles using the Databases by Discipline option on the library's website.
You can take a look at the video below to find out how to search for research articles and books using uKwazi.
Kronos: Southern African Histories
Kro
nos: Southern African Histories is an open access journal published annually by the Department of History and the Centre for Humanities Research at the University of the Western Cape. It is an accredited South African journal that aims to promote and publicise high quality historical research. The journal encourages comparative research and the work of scholars in allied disciplines, and seeks to break new ground in its integration of visuals and text.
South African Historical Journal
Over the past 40 years, the South African Historical Journal has become renowned and internationally regarded as a premier history journal published in South Africa, promoting significant historical scholarship on the country as well as the southern African region. The journal, which is linked to the Southern African Historical Society, has provided a high-quality medium for original thinking about South African history and has thus shaped – and continues to contribute towards defining – the historiography of the region.
Databases often contain multiple records and for the best results you need to know how best to search them. The library offers training sessions on database use, and provides guides. You are also welcome to ask the Faculty Librarian to assist you
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
African Newspapers Database: 1800 – 1922 (part of World Newspaper Archive) This is a scanned and searchable collection of newspapers published in various African countries between 1800 and 1922.
JSTOR Journals, full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. eBooks 70,000. DRM-free ebooks from scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. Primary Sources, More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Google scholar can help you find many sources; however, many may not be accessible to you as UWC library may not have subscription with the publishers of the books or article you find.
Sabinet South African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service Sabinet African Journals offers a user-friendly platform and encourages research efficacy. All international journal standards and statistics are adhered. The collection is the most comprehensive collection of its kind in the world.
In Cambridge Core (Books and Journals), History is the largest single subject area for the Press. It is a programme with both depth and breadth, ranging in subject matter from late antiquity to the present day, international in scope and embracing new approaches. Our publishing includes major reference series, textbooks and monographs, as well as a collection of distinguished journals affiliated to the world’s leading scholarly societies. Together, they reflect the diversity of the discipline and offer an unmatched resource for today’s historians.
Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives. While many of the databases contain open access material there are specific open access data bases and repositories that you can access directly.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey N
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
