Historical Studies

Iziko Museums of South Africa operates 11 national museums in Cape Town. It is one of the premier cultural institutions in South Africa. The museums house natural history, social history and art collections in magnificent, historic buildings, which in themselves are national treasures.

Slave Lodge

The Slave Lodge is one of the oldest buildings in Cape Town. It has answered to many names over the last three centuries, namely the Slave Lodge, Government Offices Building, Old Supreme Court, and South African Cultural History Museum. All these names reflect the long and rich history of the building.

In 1998 this museum was renamed the Slave Lodge, and seeks to work under the umbrella theme, ‘From human wrongs to human rights’. Exhibitions on the lower-level of this museum explore the long history of slavery in South Africa; and through our changing, temporary exhibitions we address issues focused on human rights awareness. 

South African Museum

The South African Museum, founded in 1825 and situated in the historic Company’s Gardens, has seen millions of visitors, attracted by the vast historical collection the museum has to offer, ranging from fossils to ancient insects and historical tools. A visit to this museum is not only culturally enriching, but the impressive natural collection will also ignite a spark of interest in learning more about the creatures with which we share our planet.

The Western Cape Archives and Records Service collects, manages and preserves records that form part of our archival heritage. These records are preserved for use by the government and people of South Africa.

The Western Cape Archives and Records Service is in the custody of archival records dating from 1651 when the first colonial settlement by the Dutch was established.

The Western Cape Archives and Records Service provides public access to government records and private collections, older than 20 years. Researchers are welcome to access the archival records in our Reading Room situated at 72 Roeland Street, Cape Town

UWC Library Special Collections

Visit Level 12 and use the primary sources available in the special collection.