Subject Guides: English: Databases

Databases

A database is an organised collection of books, journals, reviews, abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then licensed for distribution in an online or electronic format.

Video Source: RMIT University

These are the core databases, which the library subscribes to for your research needs:

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Emerald eJournals Premier
Emerald eJournals Premier (on the Emerald Insight platform) is the most comprehensive, cross-disciplinary journal database, featuring the latest peer-reviewed, international research in both established and emerging areas of interest. Designed as the most unified content offering, eJournals Premier combines Management Database and Specialist Collections, providing the full breadth of Emerald’s high quality publishing from leading researchers around the world.

Google Scholar (Advanced Search screen)

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

JSTOR
Sabinet African Journals (previously SA ePublications)
Available via Sabinet, this database provides full-text access to journals published in South Africa.

Sabinet Reference

This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products, including OAIster, OCLC's FirstSearch Service, SA Media, SA ePublications, foreign and local dissertations- and theses databases, to name but a handful.
Sage Journals Online

SAGE Journals Online prestigious and highly cited journals are available electronically on the award-winning SAGE Journals Online platform. Search across 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Science Direct
Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley InterScience is a leading international provider of scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals. In 2008, Wiley InterScience incorporated the online content formerly hosted on Blackwell Synergy to provide access to over 3 million articles.

EBSCOhost
EbscoHost Web allows you to access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Some of the databases available via the EBSCOhost platform are multi-disciplinary, like "Academic Search Premier", for example.

SpringerLink

SpringerLink provides full-text online access to Springer Nature's journals, E-books, reference works, and protocols included in our subscriptions and "preview-only" access to materials outside of our subscriptions. Subjects include: Biomedical Sciences, Business & Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences and Geography, Economics, Education & Language, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Food Sciences & Nutrition, History, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Literature, Materials, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science & International Relations, Psychology, Public Health, Social Sciences, and Statistics.
Taylor and Francis eJournals

Taylor & Francis Online is a platform providing access to over 2,700 scholarly journals across various disciplines, including Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. It is the online platform for Taylor & Francis Group, a global academic publisher. The platform hosts content from traditional subscription-based journals as well as open-access journals.

English

Faculty Librarian: Arts & Humanities

Databases

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES