+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Information Systems books are located on levels 7 and 14 of the main library. Here are a few examples of physical book titles with corresponding DDC numbers:
Titles |
Level and DDC NO. |
|---|---|
| Principles of business information systems | Level 7; 658.4038011 STA |
| Fundamentals of information systems security | Level 14; 005.8 KIM |
We have recently added a few new book titles to our collection. Make sure to check this page regularly to discover fresh and exciting titles that have been added. Stay updated with the latest additions to our collection!
Fundamentals of Information Systems Security by
Revised and updated with the latest data in the field, Fundamentals of Information Systems Security, Third Edition provides a comprehensive overview of the essential concepts readers must know as they pursue careers in information systems security. The text opens with a discussion of the new risks, threats, and vulnerabilities associated with the transition to a digital world. Part 2 presents a high level overview of the Security+ Exam and provides students with information as they move toward this certification. The book closes with information on information security standards, education, professional certifications, and compliance laws. With its practical, conversational writing style and step-by-step examples, this text is a must-have resource for those entering the world of information systems security.
Character Insights for a Regenerative Future: 5 Leadership Superpowers to Drive Growth, Innovation and the Future of Work by
This book outlines a philosophy focused on maximising innovation effectiveness by leveraging five leadership character strengths: intellectual humility, grit, other-centredness, growth mindset and empathy. It references a rapidly growing body of scientific research and the author's personal experiences working in the corporate innovation space. It highlights that modern strategy design and innovation practices are necessary but insufficient for Better Future Building. Suppose you are a modern leader creating the regenerative future you want by elevating ingenuity, accelerating performance, and avoiding harmful outcomes. In that case, this book provides insights, inspiration and affirmations for character-powered innovation.
Advances in Information Systems Development Information Systems Beyond 2020 by
This volume features a collection of papers on emerging concepts, significant insights, novel approaches and ideas in information systems development (ISD). It xamines advances in ISD in general and investigates emerging trends that will shape the ISD research agenda beyond 2020. The book gathers selected papers from the 28th International Conference on Information Systems Development held in Toulon, France on August 28-30, 2019. The revised and extended papers explore the mutual influences between information systems and organizational structures, processes and people, and promote research into methodological issues and ways in which the IS designers and developers are transforming organizations and society through information systems. Chapter "Smart Grid Challenges through the lens of the European General Data Protection Regulation" is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
Trends and Applications in Information Systems and Technologies: Volume 2 by
This book is composed of a selection of articles from The 2021 World Conference on Information Systems and Technologies (WorldCIST'21), held online between 30 and 31 of March and 1 and 2 of April 2021 at Hangra de Heroismo, Terceira Island, Azores, Portugal.WorldCIST is a global forum for researchers and practitioners to present and discuss recent results and innovations, current trends, professional experiences and challenges of modern information systems and technologies research, together with their technological development and applications.The main topics covered are: A) Information and Knowledge Management; B) Organizational Models and Information Systems; C) Software and Systems Modeling; D) Software Systems, Architectures, Applications and Tools; E) Multimedia Systems and Applications; F) Computer Networks, Mobility and Pervasive Systems; G) Intelligent and Decision Support Systems; H) Big Data Analytics and Applications; I) Human-Computer Interaction; J) Ethics, Computers & Security; K) Health Informatics; L) Information Technologies in Education; M) Information Technologies in Radiocommunications; N) Technologies for Biomedical Applications.
Innovation Through Information Systems: Volume II: a Collection of Latest Research on Technology Issues by
This book presents the current state of research in information systems and digital transformation. Due to the global trend of digitalization and the impact of the Covid 19 pandemic, the need for innovative, high-quality research on information systems is higher than ever. In this context, the book covers a wide range of topics, such as digital innovation, business analytics, artificial intelligence, and IT strategy, which affect companies, individuals, and societies. This volume gathers the revised and peer-reviewed papers on the topic "Technology" presented at the International Conference on Information Systems, held at the University of Duisburg-Essen in 2021.
The following are prescribed textbooks for your subject. However, please note that it is essential to refer to your course outline or consult with your lecturer to ensure accuracy regarding the exact prescribed texts for your specific course or level of study.
Principles of business information systems by
An introduction to information systems -- Information systems in organizations -- Hardware : input, processing, output and storage devices -- Software : systems and application software -- Organizing and storing data -- Computer networks -- Operational systems -- Management information and decision support systems -- Knowledge management and specialized information systems -- Pervasive computing -- Systems analysis -- Systems design and implementation -- Security, privacy, and ethical issues in information systems.
Modeling Methods for Business Information Systems Analysis and Design by
The field of information systems analysis and design includes numerous evolving modelling methods and notations. Even with some attempts to standardize, new modelling methods are constantly being introduced that significantly impact the way information systems are analyzed and designed in practice. Modeling Methods for Business Information Systems Analysis and Design is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of knowledge systems and their applications within organizational settings. While highlighting topics including finance, operational planning, and enterprise models, this book is ideally designed for academicians, professionals, and organizational researchers seeking current research on organizational design.
Advances in Information Systems Development Information Systems Beyond 2020 by
This volume features a collection of papers on emerging concepts, significant insights, novel approaches and ideas in information systems development (ISD). It xamines advances in ISD in general and investigates emerging trends that will shape the ISD research agenda beyond 2020. The book gathers selected papers from the 28th International Conference on Information Systems Development held in Toulon, France on August 28-30, 2019. The revised and extended papers explore the mutual influences between information systems and organizational structures, processes and people, and promote research into methodological issues and ways in which the IS designers and developers are transforming organizations and society through information systems
Information technology for management : driving digital transformation to increase local and global performance, growth and sustainability. by
This text covers the latest developments in the real world of IT management with the addition of new case studies that are contemporary and more relevant to the global scenario. It offers a flexible, student-friendly presentation of the material through a pedagogy that is designed to help students easily comprehend and retain information. There is new and expanded coverage of artificial intelligence, Robotics, quantum computing, blockchain technology, IP intelligence, Big data analytics, IT Service Management, devops, etc. It helps readers learn how IT is leveraged to reshape enterprises, engage and retain customers, optimize systems and processes, manage business relationships and projects and more.
Management information systems : managing the digital firm by
For undergraduate and graduate Management Information Systems courses. An in-depth exploration of how businesses successfully manage information In its Fourteenth Edition, Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm continues to define courses in Management Information Systems. Designed for business school students, the text provides insight into how today's businesses leverage information technologies and systems to achieve corporate objectives. Providing comprehensive and integrative coverage of essential new technologies and information system applications, as well their impact on business models and managerial decision-making, Management Information Systems increases student engagement and enhances learning through vivid examples. In this new edition, students will find the most up-to-date, relevant information about information systems used by today's businesses-capturing students' attention no matter their industry or vertical of interest. With the help of this text, students will build skills sought after in today's workplace. Later on, they will be able to understand, participate in, and eventually lead management discussions and drive decisions about their firm's information systems.
Information Technology for Management by
Information technology is ever-changing, and that means that those who are working, or planning to work, in the field of IT management must always be learning. In the new edition of the acclaimed Information Technology for Management, the latest developments in the real world of IT management are covered in detail thanks to the input of IT managers and practitioners from top companies and organizations from around the world. Focusing on both the underlying technological developments in the field and the important business drivers performance, growth and sustainability--the text will help students explore and understand the vital importance of IT's role vis-a-vis the three components of business performance improvement: people, processes, and technology. The book also features a blended learning approach that employs content that is presented visually, textually, and interactively to enable students with different learning styles to easily understand and retain information. Coverage of next technologies is up to date, including cutting-edged technologies, and case studies help to reinforce material in a way that few texts can.
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
Computer Technology Encyclopedia by
The Computer Technology Encyclopedia is a handy reference for students and professionals. Going beyond basic definitions, this comprehensive reference provides descriptions of computer technology terms, as well as including numerous tables, photos and illustrations.
A Dictionary of Computing by
This best-selling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. With expanded coverage of networking and databases, feature spreads on key topics, e.g. XML, and the addition of biographicalentries, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject. Containing over 6,500 entries -many new to this edition- it is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensible for students of computing.Recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Computing companion website, provide valuable further information. It also contains coverage of computer terms in industry, school, work, education, and the home, including the Internet, multimedia, networks and databases, andsecurity. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computing and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, andnatural sciences.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
