Subject Guides: Information Systems: Internet Resources

Useful External Websites

Here is a compilation of valuable open access websites that you can freely utilise for your research and information needs. These external resources provide access to a wide range of content without any subscription or paywall restrictions.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open-access books and helps users to find trusted open-access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Open Access Publishing in European Netwroks (OAPEN)

OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open-access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.

eBook Open Access (OA) Collection (EBSCOhost) is a multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions. Search via EBSCO host's databases.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes approximately 6,357,752 theses and dissertations, completely free to use.

Directory of Open Access Repository

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

OER Commons

OER commons are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission.

OpenStax

Review the OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course.
Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, 100% free, and backed by additional learning resources.

Here is a list of professional association websites that are highly valuable for this field of study. These websites serve as excellent resources for you to consult whenever necessary, offering industry insights, networking opportunities, and access to relevant publications and resources.

Association for Information Systems (AIS)
The Association for Information Systems (AIS) serves society through the advancement of knowledge and the promotion of excellence in the practice and study of information systems. AIS is the premier professional association for individuals and organizations who lead the research, teaching, practice, and study of information systems worldwide.
Decision Sciences Institute (DSI)
The Decision Sciences Institute (DSI) is a professional organization of academicians and practitioners interested in the application of quantitative and behavioral methods to the problems of society.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
The world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.
IEEE Computer Society
The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading membership organization dedicated to computer science and technology. Serving more than 60,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the trusted information, networking, and career-development source for a global community of technology leaders that includes researchers, educators, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students.
Project Management Institute (PMI)
The organization of choice for project management professionalism. PMI establishes Project Management standards, provides seminars, and educational programs.
ISACA
ISACA engages in the development, adoption and use of globally accepted, industry-leading knowledge and practices for information systems. Previously known as the Information Systems Audit and Control Association, ISACA now goes by its acronym only, to reflect the broad range of IT governance professionals it serves.
Data Governance Institute
The Data Governance Institute (DGI) is the industry’s oldest and best known source of in-depth, vendor-neutral Data Governance best practices and guidance.

Here is a compilation of government websites that are highly relevant to your field of study. These websites provide valuable information, resources, and updates on government policies, regulations, research findings, and initiatives related to the field.

Government Communication and Information System
The Government Communication and Information System (GCIS): provides professional services; sets and influences adherence to standards for an effective government communication system;
drives coherent government messaging;
proactively communicates with the public about government policies, plans programmes and achievements.
South Africa - Information Technology
The International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, manages this global trade site to provide access to ITA information on promoting trade and investment, strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. industry, and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein.

Information Systems

Ask your Librarian!

Useful External Websites

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES