+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: Print Books / Prescribed Textbooks, eBooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by searching the library resource discovery tool, uKwazi search box.
The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
The list contains some print, prescribed titles available in your subject area.
Find print textbooks in the Short Loans Collection on Level 5. To search for more titles in your topic area, search uKwazi.
Labour Law in Context by
Labour law in context 2nd edition offers comprehensive coverage of the key aspects of South African labour law. It is the ideal companion to support both students of law and non-law students throughout their studies. It is also suitable for anyone doing a short course in aspects of labour law, or for those who want to keep -up-to-date with key labour law issues and rulings.
Labour law in South Africa : context and principles by
Labour Law in South Africa provides a comprehensive, rigorous and accessible introduction to the framework of labour law in South Africa.
The new essential labour law handbook by
This edition includes an analysis of the National Minimum Wage Act which came into operation on 1 January 2019. It also deals with the new types of leave envisaged in the 2018 amendments to the Basic Conditions of Employment Act, namely parental leave, adoption leave and commissioning parental leave. Also included, are in-depth discussions of the nature of collective bargaining and picketing against the background of the Code of Good Practice: Collective bargaining, industrial action and picketing which was gazetted in December 2018. The handbook furthermore contains a section on strike violence and the Labour Relations Act amendments which came into force on 1 January 2019, aimed at reducing strike violence through mechanisms such as strike ballots and advisory arbitration.
Labour Relations Law: A Comprehensive Guide by
Labour Relations Law: A Comprehensive Guide is an authoritative commentary that covers the main South African labour statutes, namely the Labour Relations Act, Basic Conditions of Employment Act and the Employment Equity Act. It provides a comprehensive overview of statutory labour law case law with detailed coverage of critical issues, providing you with greater understanding of the database within, as well as the socio historical context of South African Labour.
Law@work by
Introduction -- International labour standards -- The constitutional framework -- The elusive employee and non-standard employment -- The right to equality in employment : non-discrimination (chapter II of the EEA) -- The right to equality in employment : employment equity and affirmative action (chapter III of the EEA) -- Unfair labour practices -- Unfair dismissal - preliminary topics -- Automatically unfair reasons for dismissal -- Conduct and capacity -- Dismissal for reasons based on the employer's operational requirements -- The transfer of undertakings -- Freedom of association and the right to organise -- Collective bargaining and worker participation -- Strikes and lock-outs -- Dispute resolution -- Employment and social protection -- Bibliography -- Table of cases -- Table of statutes -- Index.
eBooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on the uKwazi library search engine. Use uKwazi to check the availability of these books.
Workplace Law by
Workplace Law has become one of the most widely used and frequently quoted text books on South African labour law. This 13th edition has been revised and supplemented to incorporate the latest case law, as well as the latest amendments to labour legislation. Workplace Law provides a complete overview of issues that have arisen and are likely to arise on the shop floor, in court and in arbitration proceedings - from unfair labour practices, through employment equity, dismissal and collective bargaining, to strikes. Students, HR and IR practitioners, lawyers, employers, employees and trade union officials will find this updated, comprehensive and reliable work a convenient and indispensable guide to a complex and fascinating area of law.
Labour Relations Law: A Comprehensive Guide by
Eight years, in which labour law has faced mounting challenges, have passed since the fifth edition of Labour Relations Law. In fact, the sixth edition has been planned for 2010 but was put on hold because of the labour law amendment bills and the new Employment Service Bill which were published in that year.
Law@work by
This fourth edition of Law@work was largely prompted by developments since the enactment of the raft of legislative changes that came into force on 1 January 2015. The book continues to be intended primarily as a teaching tool and a first point of reference for practitioners.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
