+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and Textbooks.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and and Biodiversity and Conservation Biology books are mainly located on Level 14 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
|
SUBJECT |
SHELF NUMBER |
|---|---|
| Biology | 570 |
| Physiology & related subjects | 571 |
| Biochemistry | 572 |
| Specific physiological systems | 573 |
| Specific parts of & physiological systems in plants | 575 |
| Genetics and evolution | 576 |
| Ecology | 577 |
| Natural history of organisms & related subjects | 578 |
| Natural history of microorganisms, fungi, algae | 579 |
The Behavior of Animals by
The Behavior of Animals An updated view of animal behavior studies, featuring global experts The Behavior of Animals, Second Edition provides a broad overview of the current state of animal behavior studies with contributions from international experts. This edition includes new chapters on hormones and behavior, individuality, and human evolution. All chapters have been thoroughly revised and updated, and are supported by color illustrations, informative callouts, and accessible presentation of technical information. Provides an introduction to the study of animal behavior Looks at an extensive scope of topics- from perception, motivation and emotion, biological rhythms, and animal learning to animal cognition, communication, mate choice, and individuality. Explores the evolution of animal behavior including a critical evaluation of the assumption that human beings can be studied as if they were any other animal species. Students will benefit from an updated textbook in which a variety of contributors provide their expertise and global perspective in specialized areas
Biology: Concepts and Investigations by
Mariëlle Hoefnagels' passion as a classroom instructor is evident in Biology: Concepts and Investigations, an introductory biology textbook written to explain the general concepts of biology at a level of detail that allows students to understand concepts ratherthan memorize details. New digital resources, upgraded PowerPoint presentations, tutorial animations based on textbook art, upgraded Connect question banks, and adaptive technologies like SmartBook with Learning Resources capitalize on the power of technology to enhance student understanding. Key goals of the book are to: -help the student connect the concepts in thebook to their everyday lives -show connections between ideas within thechapter and to material they have already studied -teach introductory students how to be moreactive learners
The Biology of Mangroves and Seagrasses by
Mangroves and seagrasses form extensive and highly productive ecosystems that are both biologically diverse and economically valuable. This book, now in its third edition and fully updated throughout, continues to provide a current and comprehensive introduction to all aspects of the biologyand ecology of mangroves and seagrasses. Using a global range of examples and case studies, it describes the unique adaptations of these plants to their exacting environments; the rich and diverse communities of organisms that depend on mangrove forests and seagrass meadows (including tree-climbingshrimps, synchronously flashing fireflies, and "gardening" seacows); the links between mangrove, seagrass, and other habitats; and the evolution, biodiversity, and biogeography of mangroves and seagrasses. The economic value of mangroves and seagrasses is also discussed, including approaches torational management of these vital resources and techniques for the restoration of degraded habitats. A final chapter, new to this edition, examines the potential effects of global climate change including sea level rise.As with other titles in the Biology of Habitats Series, particular emphasis is placed on the organisms that dominate these fascinating aquatic ecosystems although pollution, conservation, and experimental aspects are also considered. This accessible textbook assumes no previous knowledge of mangroveor seagrass ecology and is intended for senior undergraduate and graduate students, as well as professional ecologists, conservation practitioners, and resource managers.
Community Ecology by
n accessible introduction to community ecology which looks at the linkages between communities separated in space (metacommunity dynamics), niche and neutral theory, the interplay between ecology and evolution (eco-evolutionary dynamics), and the influence of historical and regional processes in shaping patterns of biodiversity "Community ecology has undergone a transformation in recent years, from a discipline largely focused on processes occurring within a local area to a discipline encompassing a much richer domain of study, including the linkages between communities separated in space (metacommunity dynamics), niche and neutral theory, the interplay between ecology and evolution (eco-evolutionary dynamics), and the influence of historical and regional processes in shaping patterns of biodiversity. To fully understand these new developments, however, students continue to need a strong foundation in the study of species interactions and how these interactions are assembled into food webs and other ecological networks. This new edition fulfils the book's original aims, both as a much-needed up-to-date and accessible introduction to modern community ecology, and in identifying the important questions that are yet to be answered. This research-driven textbook introduces state-of-the-art community ecology to a new generation of students, adopting reasoned and balanced perspectives on as-yet-unresolved issues. Community Ecology is suitable for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and researchers seeking a broad, up-to-date coverage of ecological concepts at the community level.
Insect Biodiversity by
Volume One of the thoroughly revised and updated guide to the study of biodiversity in insects The second edition of Insect Biodiversity: Science and Society brings together in one comprehensive text contributions from leading scientific experts to assess the influence insects have on humankind and the earth's fragile ecosystems. Revised and updated, this new edition includes information on the number of substantial changes to entomology and the study of biodiversity. It includes current research on insect groups, classification, regional diversity, and a wide range of concepts and developing methodologies. The authors examine why insect biodiversity matters and how the rapid evolution of insects is affecting us all. This book explores the wide variety of insect species and their evolutionary relationships. Case studies offer assessments on how insect biodiversity can help meet the needs of a rapidly expanding human population, and also examine the consequences that an increased loss of insect species will have on the world. This important text: Explores the rapidly increasing influence on systematics of genomics and next-generation sequencing Includes developments in the use of DNA barcoding in insect systematics and in the broader study of insect biodiversity, including the detection of cryptic species Discusses the advances in information science that influence the increased capability to gather, manipulate, and analyze biodiversity information Comprises scholarly contributions from leading scientists in the field Insect Biodiversity: Science and Society highlights the rapid growth of insect biodiversity research and includes an expanded treatment of the topic that addresses the major insect groups, the zoogeographic regions of biodiversity, and the scope of systematics approaches for handling biodiversity data.
Life in the Open Ocean by
Life in the Open Ocean Life in the Open Ocean: The Biology of Pelagic Species provides in-depth coverage of the different marine animal groups that form the communities inhabiting the ocean's pelagic realm. This comprehensive resource explores the physical environment, foraging strategies, energetics, locomotion, sensory mechanisms, global and vertical distributions, special adaptations, and other characteristics of a wide array of marine taxa. Bringing together the most recent information available in a single volume, authors Joseph J. Torres and Thomas G. Bailey cover the Cnidaria (stinging jellies), the ctenophores (comb jellies), pelagic nemerteans, pelagic annelids, crustaceans, cephalopods and pelagic gastropods, invertebrate chordates, as well as micronektonic and larger fishes such as sharks, tunas, mackerels, and mahi-mahi. Detailed chapters on each pelagic group describe internal and external anatomy, classification and history, feeding and digestion, bioluminescent systems and their function, reproduction and development, respiration, excretion, nervous systems, and more. The first book of its kind to address all of the major animal groups comprising both the swimmers and drifters of the open sea, this important resource: Explains how different animals have adapted to live in the open-ocean environment Covers all sensory mechanisms of animals living in the pelagic habitat, including photoreception, mechanoreception, and chemoreception Treats the diverse micronekton assemblage as a community Includes a thorough introduction to the physical oceanography and properties of water in the pelagic realm Life in the Open Ocean: The Biology of Pelagic Species is an excellent senior-level undergraduate and graduate textbook for courses in biology and biological oceanography, and a valuable reference for all those with interest in open-ocean biology.
The Theory of Ecological Communities (MPB-57) by
A plethora of different theories, models, and concepts make up the field of community ecology. Amid this vast body of work, is it possible to build one general theory of ecological communities? What other scientific areas might serve as a guiding framework? As it turns out, the core focus of community ecology--understanding patterns of diversity and composition of biological variants across space and time--is shared by evolutionary biology and its very coherent conceptual framework, population genetics theory. The Theory of Ecological Communities takes this as a starting point to pull together community ecology's various perspectives into a more unified whole. Mark Vellend builds a theory of ecological communities based on four overarching processes: selection among species, drift, dispersal, and speciation. These are analogues of the four central processes in population genetics theory--selection within species, drift, gene flow, and mutation--and together they subsume almost all of the many dozens of more specific models built to describe the dynamics of communities of interacting species. The result is a theory that allows the effects of many low-level processes, such as competition, facilitation, predation, disturbance, stress, succession, colonization, and local extinction to be understood as the underpinnings of high-level processes with widely applicable consequences for ecological communities. Reframing the numerous existing ideas in community ecology, The Theory of Ecological Communities provides a new way for thinking about biological composition and diversity.
Henderson's dictionary of biological terms by
Reference Redefined. You have our word on it. Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this 7th Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest-growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition to ensure Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing is your go-to source for health reference. Key Features: A-to-Z organization, coupled with precision-cut thumb tabs, quickly leads you to a definition 1,000 color images and photographs enhance definitions and aid in comprehension Detailed Anatomical Atlas, included in a special glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, provides a visual representation of anatomical terms Nearly 65 valuable appendices cover critical areas such as dangerous abbreviations, units of measure, references values, and much more Written pronunciations assist you in spoken communication Eye-catching icons identify terms that have printed images or are combining forms British alternative spellings are provided Also included with purchase is a free 3-month subscription to Stedman's Online, which includes all the content from the print dictionary and more- Superior keyword search functionality making accuracy instantaneous Access to more than 5,600 images illustrating key medical terms and concepts Customize the product using My Stedman's: add terms, add notes to terms, save searches and illustrations - all features to provide you with a personal experience that meets your needs Audio icons displayed alongside approximately 42,000 terms let you hear correct pronunciations 42 illuminating live-action videos from Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy present anatomy in motion
A Dictionary of Biology by
Fully revised and updated, this new fifth edition is the perfect guide for those studying biology, either at school or university. Containing many new entries, and with biographical entries on key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.- Over 4,700 clear and concise entries- Over 50 pages of new material for this fifth edition, with all existing entries fully revised and updated- Feature articles on important topics such as genetically modified organisms- Chronologies chart the discoveries in the main fields of the subject
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences will provide a unique and dynamic resource in life science research -- both as an online web database and as a 20-volume printed reference set.Integrating current theory, practice, and understanding of all basic and many applied aspects of the life sciences, Encyclopedia of Life Sciences places particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine.Some 3,500 of the world's leading scientists are contributing 4,000 signed articles -- 12 million words -- plus extensive tables, figures, and illustrations. ELS will be extensively cross-referenced and indexed, with an estimated 26,000 internal links and up to 180,000 index entries. A distinguished, international group of Scientific Advisors will ensure that ELS remains authoritative, timely, and comprehensive.The electronic version of ELS will offer both the student and specialist appropriate search and retrieval facilities and multimedia features, including direct links from references to primary literature and other useful information resources. An important feature of the electronic version will be regular updates to the information provided.The print version of ELS will be a 20-volume, large format set, presented on acid-free paper in a durable clothbound library binding. Every volume will be extensively illustrated in color and black and white.
The Coastal Guide of South Africa by
On an extraordinary journey along South Africa’s coastline, this definitive guidebook explores the beauties and hidden secrets of the country’s natural heritage. Stretching for almost 2,000 miles, the country’s southern shoreline contains distinct climates that accommodate an enormously rich and diverse array of birds, mammals, reptiles, marine life, and plants. The west coast plays host to cold, nutrient-rich waters, kelp forests, and low-growing, succulent scrub along the dunes, while on the east and north coasts conditions are more tropical with higher rainfall, warmer waters, greater marine diversity, and tall, dense forests. This handbook outlines the coastline’s biodiversity from dune to ocean, developed in order to offer beach enthusiasts, vacationers, and recreational anglers a simplenbsp;way to identifynbsp;the plants and animals most commonly seen or caught along the coast. In addition to background information on tides and habitats, guidelines are also included for The Southern African Sustainable Seafood Initiative, a consumernbsp;guide to making sustainable choices. Detailed and thorough, this overview will create a deeper appreciation ofnbsp;what can benbsp;found on this rich and beautiful landscape.
Molecular Life Sciences: An Encyclopedic Reference by
Handbook of Molecular Life Sciences will focus on understanding biological phenomena at the level of molecules and their interactions that govern life processes. Volumes 1 to 3 will focus on genes and genomes, volumes 4 to 6 on protein structure and function, volumes 7 & 8 will explore systems biology, using genomics and proteomics as the focus and volumes 9 and 10 on molecular aspects of cell structure and function. Volume 11 will explore unifying concepts and theory from biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics that are essential for understanding the molecular life sciences and will also include sections on teaching perspectives and assessment tools. Volume 12 will cover basic aspects of the various experimental approaches that are used in the Molecular Life Sciences.
The Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms by
This beautifully illustrated glossary comprises over 2400 terms commonly used to describe vascular plants. The majority are structural terms referring to parts of plants visible with the naked eye or with a x10 hand lens, but some elementary microscopical and physiological terms are also included, as appropriate. Each term is defined accurately and concisely, and whenever possible, cross referenced to clearly labelled line drawings made mainly from living material. The illustrations are presented together in a section comprising 127 large format pages, within which they are grouped according to specific features, such as leaf shape or flower structure, so allowing comparison of different forms at a glance. The illustrations therefore provide a unique compilation of information that can be referred to independently of the definitions. This makes the glossary a particularly versatile reference work for all those needing a guide to botanical terminology and plant structure.
Biology by
"Biology, Fourteenth edition is an understanding of biological concepts and a working knowledge of the scientific process"--
Biology by
Offers a comprehensive introductory biology textbook for non-majors or mixed-majors courses that covers biology in a traditional order from the structure and function of the cell to the organization of the biosphere. This book centers on the evolution and diversity of organisms and is suitable for a one- or two-semester course.
Biology: concepts and investigations by
Mariëlle Hoefnagels' passion as a classroom instructor is evident in Biology: Concepts and Investigations, an introductory biology textbook written to explain the general concepts of biology at a level of detail that allows students to understand concepts rather than memorize details. New media integration icons, upgraded PowerPoint presentations, new tutorial animations based on textbook art, upgraded Connect question banks, and adaptive technologies like LearnSmart and SmartBook capitalize on the power of technology to enhance student understanding. Key goals of the book are to: help the student connect the concepts in the book to their everyday lives; show connections between ideas within the chapter and to material they have already studied; teach introductory students how to be more active learners.
Questioning Collapse by
Questioning Collapse challenges those scholars and popular writers who advance the thesis that societies - past and present - collapse because of behavior that destroyed their environments or because of overpopulation. In a series of highly accessible and closely argued essays, a team of internationally recognized scholars bring history and context to bear in their radically different analyses of iconic events, such as the deforestation of Easter Island, the cessation of the Norse colony in Greenland, the faltering of nineteenth-century China, the migration of ancestral peoples away from Chaco Canyon in the American southwest, the crisis and resilience of Lowland Maya kingship, and other societies that purportedly 'collapsed'. Collectively, these essays demonstrate that resilience in the face of societal crises, rather than collapse, is the leitmotif of the human story from the earliest civilizations to the present. Scrutinizing the notion that Euro-American colonial triumphs were an accident of geography, Questioning Collapse also critically examines the complex historical relationship between race and political labels of societal 'success' and 'failure'.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
