+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and Textbooks.
You can find books in the library by suing uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and and Medical Bioscience books are mainly located on Level 14 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
| TOPIC | SHELF NUMBER |
|---|---|
| Anatomy | 611 |
| Anatomy & Physiology | 612 |
| Bacteriology | 616.014 |
| Biochemistry | 572 |
| Biomedicine (in Medicine & Health) | 610.28 |
| Chemistry | 540 |
| Epidemiology | 614.4 |
| Genetics (molecular/human) | 611.01816 |
| Histology | 611.018 |
| Immunology | 616.079 |
| Microbiology | 616.9041/579 |
| Molecular virology | 579.2 |
| Neuroscience | 612.8 |
| Organic chemistry | 547 |
| Parasitology | 616.96 |
| Pathology/Pathophysiology | 616.07 |
| Pharmacology | 615.1 |
| Physics | 530 |
| Virology | 579/616.9101 |
Genetics of Male Infertility A Case-Based Guide for Clinicians by
This unique, case-based guide provides a thoughtful and comprehensive overview of the genetic basis of male infertility for the practicing clinician. In addition to discussing the molecular foundations of sperm production and the consequences of genetic abnormalities on various stages of sperm development, it examines the clinical aspects of acknowledged genetic disorders and their implications on male fertility. In so doing, it offers the necessary tools required by the clinician for the diagnosis and treatment of infertile men with genetic abnormalities.
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology by
Learn all the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and exams. Now fully revised and updated, Mims' clinically relevant, systems-based approach and abundant colour illustrations make this complex subject easy to understand and remember. Learn about infections in the context of major body systems and understand why these are environments in which microbes can establish themselves, flourish, and give rise to pathologic changes. This systems-based approach to microbiology employs integrated and case-based teaching that places the 'bug parade' into a clinical context. Effectively review for problem-based courses with the help of chapter introductions and 'Lessons in Microbiology' text boxes that highlight the clinical relevance of the material, offer easy access to key concepts, and provide valuable review tools. Approach microbiology by body system or by pathogen through the accompanying electronic 'Pathogen Parade' - a quickly searchable, cross-referenced glossary of viruses, bacteria and fungi A new electronic 'Vaccine Parade' offers quick-reference coverage of the most commonly used vaccines in current clinical practice Deepen your understanding of epidemiology and the important role it plays in providing evidence-based identification of key risk factors for disease and targets for preventative medicine.' Grasp and retain vital concepts easily, with a user-friendly colour coded format, succinct text, key concept boxes, and dynamic illustrations. New and enhanced information reflects the growing importance of the human microbiota and latest molecular approaches Access the complete contents on the go via the accompanying interactive eBook, with a range of bonus materials to enhance learning and retention - includes self-assessment materials and clinical cases to check your understanding and aid exam preparation.
Oxidative Stress and Dietary Antioxidants in Neurological Diseases by
Oxidative Stress and Dietary Antioxidants in Neurological Diseases provides an overview of oxidative stress in neurological diseases and associated conditions, including behavioral aspects and the potentially therapeutic usage of natural antioxidants in the diet. The processes within the science of oxidative stress are described in concert with other processes, such as apoptosis, cell signaling, and receptor mediated responses. This approach recognizes that diseases are often multifactorial and oxidative stress is a single component of this. The book examines basic processes of oxidative stress--from molecular biology to whole organs--relative to cellular defense systems, and across a range of neurological diseases. Sections discuss antioxidants in foods, including plants and components of the diet, examining the underlying mechanisms associated with therapeutic potential and clinical applications. Although some of this material is exploratory or preclinical, it can provide the framework for further in-depth analysis or studies via well-designed clinical trials or the analysis of pathways, mechanisms, and components in order to devise new therapeutic strategies. Very often oxidative stress is a feature of neurological disease and associated conditions which either centers on or around molecular and cellular processes. Oxidative stress can also arise due to nutritional imbalance during a spectrum of timeframes before the onset of disease or during its development. Offers an overview of oxidative stress from molecular biology to whole organs Discusses the potentially therapeutic usage of natural antioxidants in the patient diet Provides the framework for further in-depth analysis or studies of potential treatments
Biochemistry by
Succeed in the course with BIOCHEMISTRY. The authors' innovative conceptual and organizing "Essential Questions" framework guides you through course concepts in a way that reveals the beauty and usefulness of biochemistry in the everyday world. Offering a balanced and streamlined presentation, this edition has been updated throughout with new material and revised presentations. This book is integrated with OWLv2, a powerful online learning system for chemistry with book-specific end-of-chapter material that will help you improve your grades and master course concepts.
Physical Reference Books
Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by 
Illustrated Dictionary of Biotechnology by 
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Electronic Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology by 
Molecular Life Sciences: An Encyclopedic Reference by Physical Books
Anatomy and Physiology (includes a&P Online Course) by
Just because A&P is complicated, doesn't mean learning it has to be. Anatomy & Physiology, 10th Edition uses reader-friendly writing, visually engaging content, and a wide range of teaching and learning support to ensure classroom success. Focusing on the unifying themes of structure and function and homeostasis, author Kevin Patton uses a very conversational and easy-to-follow narrative to guide you through difficult A&P material. The new edition of this two-semester text has been updated to ensure you have a better understanding of how the entire body works together. In addition, you can connect with the textbook through a number of free electronic resources, including?Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy, A&P Online, an electronic coloring book, 3D animations, and more! Conversational writing style at a 11.7 reading level (the lowest available for 2-semester A&P books) makes text engaging and easy to understand. Updated Genetics chapter includes important advancements in that field. Updated content on osmosis revised to make it more simple and accurate. More than 1,400 full-color photographs and drawings illustrate the most current scientific knowledge and bring difficult concepts to life. Includes a unique color key to show color scheme that is used consistently throughout the book (for example, bones are off white, enzymes are lime green, nucleus is purple). Free 1-year access to Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy, powered by Cyber Anatomy, a state-of-the-art software program that uses advanced gaming technology and interactive 3D anatomy models to learn and review anatomy. UNIQUE! Consistent unifying themes, such as the Big Picture and Cycle of Life sections in each chapter, help you comprehend the interrelation of body systems and how the structure and function of these change in relation to age and development. Numerous feature boxes including: Language of Science and Language of Medicine, Mechanisms of Disease, Health Matters, Diagnostic Study, FYI, Sport and Fitness, and Career Choices provide interesting and important sidebars to the main content. Quick Check Questions reinforce learning by prompting you to review what you've just read. Chapter outlines, chapter objectives and study tips begin each chapter. NEW! Integrative Unit Closers ties together content with integrative critical thinking questions. NEW! Additional and updated Connect It! boxes (renamed from A&P Connect) provide relevant "bonus" information for you to explore. NEW! All-new animations in the text and on Evolve companion site help you understand the reasoning and knowledge behind each answer and assist with recalling correct answers.
Anatomy and Physiology Coloring Workbook by
Designed to engage the introductory allied health student, this workbook is an excellent tool for use by itself or with any human A&P text. The author's unique approach promotes and reinforces learning on many levels through a wide variety of visual and written exercises. In its review of the human body from microscopic to macroscopic levels, the workbook covers the most important and useful aspects of human A&P, and offers clinically-oriented activities.
Essential Human Virology by
Essential Human Virology is written for the undergraduate level with case studies integrated into each chapter. The structure and classification of viruses will be covered, as well as virus transmission and virus replication strategies based upon type of viral nucleic acid. Several chapters will focus on notable and recognizable viruses and the diseases caused by them, including influenza, HIV, hepatitis viruses, poliovirus, herpesviruses, and emerging and dangerous viruses. Additionally, how viruses cause disease, or pathogenesis, will be highlighted during the discussion of each virus family, and a chapter on the immune response to viruses will be included. Further, research laboratory assays and viral diagnosis assays will be discussed, as will vaccines, anti-viral drugs, gene therapy, and the beneficial uses of viruses. By focusing on general virology principles, current and future technologies, familiar human viruses, and the effects of these viruses on humans, this textbook will provide a solid foundation in virology while keeping the interest of undergraduate students. Focuses on the human diseases and cellular pathology that viruses cause Highlights current and cutting-edge technology and associated issues Presents real case studies and current news highlights in each chapter Features dynamic illustrations, chapter assessment questions, key terms, and summary of concepts, as well as an instructor website with lecture slides, test bank, and recommended activities
Electronic Books
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by
KEY BENEFIT: Guiding readers through challenging A&P concepts. Celebrated for its precise illustrations, time-saving navigation and study tools, and engaging clinical content, Essentials of Anatomy & Physiology is crafted especially for readers with no prior knowledge of anatomy & physiology and little science background. The Seventh Edition eases readers through tough A&P topics, answering the need to help A&P readers learn and retain challenging content. New book features, all supported by interactive MasteringA&P media, include new Build Your Knowledge activities, new Spotlight Figures Coaching activities, new Bone and Organ Dissection Videos, and new Dynamic Study Modules that help readers study on the go. KEY TOPICS: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology, The Chemical Level of Organization, Cell Structure and Function, The Tissue Level of Organization, The Integumentary System, The Skeletal System, The Muscular System, The Nervous System, The General and Special Senses, The Endocrine System, The Cardiovascular System: Blood, The Cardiovascular System: The Heart, The Cardiovascular System: Blood Vessels and Circulation, The Lymphoid System and Immunity, The Respiratory System, The Digestive System, Nutrition and Metabolism, The Urinary System, The Reproductive System, Development and Inheritance MARKET: This book is a useful reference for anyone studying anatomy & physiology.
Fundamentals of anatomy & physiology by Genetics of Male Infertility A Case-Based Guide for Clinicians by 
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
