+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Microbial Biotechnology: Basic Research and Applications by
M​icrobial biotechnology is an important area that promotes advanced research into using microbes for value-added products, human nutrition, and the overall wellbeing of society. This book presents the latest information on the use of microbes for sustainable development, and highlights state-of-the-art biotechnological techniques used to harness microbial biotechnological traits on a commercial scale. Gathering contributions from authoritative researchers in the field, it addresses recent advances in microbial biotechnological approaches that offer sustainable options for future generations. Exploring a broad range of microbial products and their uses, the book specifically places emphasis on the application of microorganisms in healthcare, the environment and industry. It also discusses various compound classes derived from microbial metabolites. Pursuing a holistic approach to recent advances in the utilization of various microbes as biotechnological tools, the book also covers traditional uses, and explores emerging strategies to harness their full potential. Accordingly, it offers a valuable resource for researchers and graduate students alike.
Statistical Modeling in Biomedical Research Contemporary Topics and Voices in the Field by 
Trends in Biomedical Research by
This book addresses hot issues in the research and management of difficult-to-treat medical disorders that are commonly encountered, but for which the underlying mechanisms are often unknown. These include the adverse effects of hemodialysis and its biocompatibility in chronic kidney insufficiency, particularly related to malnutrition and inflammation, or the vulnerability of cancer patients to bacterial meningitis, the infection that remains underdiagnosed due to limited expression of symptoms. The book also covers other key topics, such as the psychological care of lung cancer patients; difficulties in the diagnosis of diffuse axonal injury in traumatic brain injury - a disorder with a poor prognosis and high mortality rate; and the virological aspects of seasonal influenza epidemic outbreaks - a perennial modern scourge. Further, it addresses recent developments in targeted drug delivery from titanium implants and a novel integrated thermal approach to rehabilitation of neurodegeneration-related disabilities. Featuring the latest interdisciplinary trends in biomedicine, this book connects research, theory and practice to help alleviate suffering caused by a variety of diseases. It is a resource for medical professionals, including academics, practitioners and all allied healthcare workers.
Medical Research and Development by
This book shares the experimental findings and views in current multidisciplinary medical science combining both basic and applied research aimed at resolving problematic health issues. The key topics address contagious diseases, in particular the epidemiology, clinical presentation, and management of influenza and influenza-like infections as well as brain tuberculosis. Pulmonary medicine is represented by articles addressing a range of practical issues, including the diagnosis, symptoms, comorbidities, and treatment of obstructive sleep apnea, a syndrome whose incidence shows a persistent upward trend worldwide. Other articles address the pathogenesis of air pollution toxicity and allergy and sensory irritation in toxic exposure studies. An intriguing relation of atopic dermatitis to depression and serotoninergic system is debated. The book attempts to integrate research into clinical work and to implement findings to improve care and to decrease suffering from diseases. It is dedicated to the practicing professionals, researchers, and all engaged in health care.
Getting Started in Health Research by
By the time you've read this book, you'll be ready to design your own research project Not everyone in clinical research is a scientific investigator. In fact, a large proportion of health professionals undertaking a research project are working in clinical care, as junior doctors, nurses or allied health professionals. For them a book that begins with the basics of study design and takes them through all the stages to data collection, analysis, and submission for publication is vital. Getting Started in Health Research is the answer. It provides fundamental information on: Framing the research question Performing the literature search Choosing the study design Collecting data Getting funding Recruiting participants Writing your paper Lively case studies provide a continuous narrative, addressing the pitfalls and problems that can occur. Calling upon their vast experience of teaching health research methodology, these authors have turned a seemingly daunting task into a challenging and enjoyable prospect. The companion of Understanding Clinical Papers www.wiley.com/buy/9780470091302 Reviews of Understanding Clinical Papers "...an excellent basis for all who intend to write scientific texts as well as those reading, evaluating, and trying to understand the results..." Clinical Chemistry, May 2007 "What makes this book unique is that each point presented is illustrated with excerpts from actual papers, often three or four per chapter...this is a very effective teaching device." Journal of the American Medical Association, December 26, 2006 "What strikes the reader ... straight away is clarity ... promises to become a recommended text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses." Journal of Tropical Pediatrics, September 2006 "This book should be an essential addition to the personal libraries of all health care workers . . . " Oncology, 2002
Citation Databases
UWC Library subscribes to Citation Databases, in addition to the Journal Databases. These Citation Databases help you to discover research journal articles and researchers, and show their citation information.
You can search the two Citation Databases below.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary navigational tool that contains records going back to the mid 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across the widest body of scientific abstracts available in one place. More coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary publication and citation database covering almost 1.9 billion cited references from over 171 million records. It provides cover-to-cover indexing back to 1900 across the world’s highest-quality and most impactful publications.
Kikapu is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
