Skip to Main Content
+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za

ukwazi 2   

#SearchSmart! Information Literacy Tutorial

This is a self-learning tutorial that addresses each stage of the research process, including: identifying information needs; selecting sources; finding high-quality, scholarly information; evaluating information; and using information responsibly.

Choosing the Right Research Tools

Finding high-quality, relevant information for your academic work is essential for success. Different search tools serve different purposes. Here are some key tools to help you efficiently find the information you need:

Library Discovery Tool, uKwazi:

The UWC library's information resource discovery tool, uKwazi, is an excellent starting point for finding printed books, e-books, scholarly articles, government documents, and other learning, teaching, and research materials. It is a comprehensive search platform that allows users to search across the entire library collection, including catalogued items and digital resources, as well as external databases and online repositories.

uKwazi offers a single search interface that consolidates various types of resources, making it easier for users to find information without needing to search multiple platforms separately. It features advanced search functionality with full-text search, filters, and facets.

 Databases:

Research databases are invaluable tools for accessing scholarly articles, papers, and other academic materials. These databases provide access to high-quality, peer-reviewed sources that are essential for academic research. They often include advanced search features that allow you to filter results by various criteria such as date, author, publication type, and more.

Here are key features and benefits of using research databases:

  • Subject-Based or Multi-Disciplinary: Databases may focus on specific subjects (e.g., education, law, medicine, psychology, etc.) or cover a wide range of disciplines.
  • Full-Text or Abstracts: Some databases provide the full text of articles, while others offer only abstracts (short summaries), allowing you to decide whether to seek out the full text.
  • South African or International: Databases may include materials from local (South African) or international sources, broadening the scope of your research.

To access the list of research databases available through the UWC Library, go to the library's homepage (lib.uwc.ac.za) and select either "A-Z Databases" or "Databases by Discipline." This will provide you with comprehensive access to a variety of research tools and resources tailored to your academic needs.

Internet Search Engines:

Internet search engines, like Google, allow you to search the Internet for your topic. While you can quickly find items of true value, they are often mixed with items of little or no value, making it time-consuming to sift, sort, and select before finding something truly useful. For more scholarly-focused searches, you can try Google Scholar, which limits results to items from scholarly journals.

 Artificial Intelligence (AI) Research Tools:

In addition to traditional search engines, AI tools have become invaluable for research. These tools can help streamline the search process, improve the relevance of results, and provide insights that are not easily accessible through conventional methods. However, it's important to use AI tools with caution, especially generative AI like ChatGPT, due to potential issues such as hallucinations (producing incorrect or fabricated information) and lack of reliability.

 

Source: Aaron Tay's Musings about librarianship

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

University of the Western Cape,

Robert Sobukwe Road,

Bellville,

7535

Tel: 021 959 2946