Skip to Main Content
+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za

ukwazi 2   

#SearchSmart! Information Literacy Tutorial

This is a self-learning tutorial that addresses each stage of the research process, including: identifying information needs; selecting sources; finding high-quality, scholarly information; evaluating information; and using information responsibly.

Research Databases

What is a database?

A research database is an organised collection of information used to identify credible sources. Depending on the specific database, the references supplied may come from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, book chapters and much more. 

Each record in a library database contains information describing a particular item (a book, an article).
Each record is composed of a set of fields, such as title, author, source, and subject headings.  

Why use library databases?

Libraries pay money to subscribe to databases so that students can access full-text access to scholarly materials. Databases are organised, searchable collections of scholarly materials. Library databases provide you with multiple advantages over Google and other internet search tools:

  • Provide credible content through peer-reviewed publications.
  • Allow less time for searching by having multiple ways to narrow down results.
  • Provide better information than a general Google search.

Choosing the right database

Selecting the best research database for your topic is an important step. You need to choose a database that covers your topic, as well as the dates you need.

To choose a research database on the UWC Library's homepage (lib.uwc.ac.za):

  • Click the Databases dropdown list to search the most appropriate database that covers your subject area or type of information needed.
  • Select either "A-Z Databases" or "Databases by Discipline."
  • Browse the list of databases by reading each database's content.

Click on a database to know more about its: 

  • Subject coverage
  • Publication types covered: journal articles, books, etc. 
  • Dates range
  • Offering of full text information 

How to access library databases & conducting a basic search

In this brief video tutorial, you'll learn how to access library databases and conduct a basic search for eBooks on the EBSCOhost platform via the UWC Library’s website.

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

University of the Western Cape,

Robert Sobukwe Road,

Bellville,

7535

Tel: 021 959 2946