Subject Guides: Research Support Guide for Law Postgraduate Students and Academic Staff: Journals

Print Journals and eJournals

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals
SAFLII
Speculum Juris

Links to key journals are provided here, however, if you need journal articles on a particular topic, search via A-Z Databases for efficiency and more in-depth results. Electronic Journals allow you to browse through the contents page and searching within the journal. You can also use uKwazi Fulltext Finder to search for articles within your faculty collection.

UWC Law Faculty publishes its own journal

Law, Democracy & Development

African Human Rights Law Journal
The African Human Rights Law Journal publishes peer-reviewed contributions dealing with human rights-related topics of relevance to Africa, Africans, and scholars of Africa. The Journal appears twice a year and is available both as online open access and in print.
Harvard Law School Human Rights Journal
The Harvard Human Rights Journal was founded in 1988 and has since endeavoured to be a site for a broad spectrum of scholarship on international and domestic human rights issues. Once a year, the Journal publishes a range of original scholarly works on human rights issues of contemporary relevance.
Health and Human Rights Journal
Health and Human Rights is an international journal dedicated to scholarship and praxis that advance health as an issue of fundamental human rights and social justice. It seeks to provide a forum for academics, practitioners, and activists from public health, human rights, and related fields to explore how rights-based approaches to health can be implemented in practice. In so doing, it contributes to fostering a global movement for health and human rights.
Journal of Human Rights and the Environment
The relationship between human rights and the environment is a fascinating, uneasy, and increasingly urgent one. This international journal provides a strategic academic forum in which an extended interdisciplinary and multilayered conversation can take place concerning the challenges located at the interface of these two centrally important fields
Northwestern Journal of International Human Rights
The Journal of International Human Rights (JIHR) is an interdisciplinary journal dedicated to providing a dynamic forum for the discussion of human rights issues and international human rights law.
The Journal of Human Rights in the Commonwealth
The Journal of Human Rights in the Commonwealth is an electronic inter-disciplinary journal that covers a vast range of issues relating to human rights in the Commonwealth of Nations

SA Open Access Journals

Accredited Journals

Directory of Open Access (DOAJ)

International Open Access Journals

WorldLII: Law Journals

The International Legal Scholarship Library aims to provide a comprehensive search facility for all academic law journals available via WorldLII and other Legal Information Institutes (LIIs) and the nearly 20,000 law journal articles and academic papers available through the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Currently, the search facility below allows searches over 45 law journals databases.

SSRN Legal Scholarship Network

Most of these articles are not the official, published version, but this is a good place to stay updated on very recent research.

Digital Commons Network -- Law Commons

This resource allows you to search all articles posted within the subject area of law in a large number of college and university repositories. You can also browse articles by topic.

Reading List PGL711
Links created for Postgraduate Labour Law Students.

Links to Online Resources for Advanced Labour Law 431 Students
Links to Online Resources for Advanced Labour Law 431 Students

Print Journals	eJournals
Acta Criminologica	Acta Criminologica
Acta Juridica	Acta Juridica
African Human Rights Law Journal	African Human Rights Law Journal
De Jure	De Jure
De Rebus	De Rebus
Obiter	Harvard law review
South African journal on human rights	Obiter
South African law journal	SA Crime Quarterly
SA mercantile law journal	SA Journal on Human Rights
SA Public Law	SA Law Journal
Stellenbosch Law Review	SA Mercantile Law Journal
Tydskrif vir die Suid Afrikaanse Reg	SA Public Law Stellenbosch Law Review Tydskrif vir die Suid Afrikaanse Reg

Research Support Guide for Law Postgraduate Students and Academic Staff

Print Journals and eJournals

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES